Sort:  

I have a decent Sony Vaio I'd sell for Steem. 8 GG RAM, 500GB HD, intel core i5, CD/DVD-RW drive. It currently has ubuntu on it. The GPU is onboard though, so it isn't going to be video editing beast, but can handle medium level rendering alright.

Also, if you want something newer, you can convert your Steem into Bitcoin very easily with www.changelly.com and then shop on www.newegg.com since they accept bitcoin. Of if you convert into bitcoin, you can use www.purse.io to get DEEP discounts off of nearly anything on Amazon.

Good Ideas! I will look into it, I was considering converting to bitcoin anyway.

Just checking it out, I didn't see that www.changelly.com has a market for STEEM. Am I missing something?

Wow, you aren't mistaken. I just checked and I don't see it anymore. I've converted a LOT of Bitcoin to Steem and Steem to Bitcoin with Changelly. This is very strange . . . I'll see if I can't find something out about it, hopefully it is just temporary. In the meant time, you can also use www.shapeshift.io they're alright, but Changelly always has better rates and fees in my opinion. If you don't have any luck there, you can use www.blocktrades.us they're good people but their fees can get rather outrageous sometimes and I only use them as a last resort. Keep me posted on your conversion journey!

I would offer to convert Steem to BTC for you with my poloniex account, but I know that you don't know me and that would be a very risky move on your part haha. Let me know if I can help!

I did a two step thing with poloniex and coinbase (since coinbase already has my bank information). Just waiting for things to quit "pending"...

Awesome! Even better that the other exchanges (smaller fees). I'm not a big fan of either of those centralized exchanges, however. Too scared of a Mt. Gox 2.0.

Yeah, I heard here were problems with Coinbase. But they only had my coins for a minute. As for my info, nobody wants to waste their time with my tiny accounts.

I'm not talking about just YOUR account, I'm talking about EVERYONE'S account. When I say Mt. Gox 2.0, I mean the entire exchange shuts down and walks away with every penny anyone had in a wallet held by their servers. And since it's cryptocurrency, there's nothing anyone can really do about it except cry.

Laptop or strictly PC? Also, what kind of videos do you envision making/editing? Knowing that would help evaluate the hardware required.

PC, I want to do multi camera music instruction videos. I'm mostly familiar with Windows tools.

You could find local sellers who sell their goods for crypto-currencies and convince them to take their payment in STEEM (highly unlikely imo).. if not you'd have to convert your steem to bitcoin first

where do you live

Central Kentucky USA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85