Will Steemit become the number one social network site in the UK?

in #steem6 years ago

While promoting steemit to, well nearly everyone I have met since joining. I have tried to convince people to come to this platform to blog share vote and earn but have found problems with the sales pitch I use.

While I was out doing promo work with the guys over at @promo-steem we were in Sheffield and one thing I noticed was that we were telling people that steemit is like facebook but you get paid to do instead of facebook making millions of the people.

The more I think about this the more I think that we were telling people wrong about how steemit and facebook are the same.

Let me run you through some ideas that crossed my mind.

Facebook is about connecting people, you share your pictures and up-date your status and you have a wall where all your items are shown, but then you also have another feature to facebook which is your own page where everything is stored.

With steemit I see it as different, all the stuff you put on here is saved in every single different post you put on here, your pictures are down in the meny posts.
Also on steemit if you don't want to you don't have to show any personal information, you don't have to show your face and you don't have to tell anyone anything that you don't want.

Steemit to me is so much different to facebook, you follow people you up-vote their work and you get paid, this to me is more like a blogging site community.

Have you ever posted on steemit Just took kids to school and got up voted? chances are NO, on facebook it's more about friend you have met in your life, and steemit is more like making a following.

I see so much potential in steemit but there has to be another way of introducing someone to steemit other than its like facebook but you get paid.

If I was to say anything about steemit, It reminds me more of Reddit.com, it has the same feel I think, it's more community minded.

Now the Question I asked in my title -Will steemit be the number one social networking site in the UK?

Yes I believe so, why?

Well, there is so much to do here. I spend hours and hours on here and I can't keep up with how many quality posts are put into the blockchain.
I love to write posts and even with been dyslexic I still manage to have 800+ followers, I have managed to reach a massive point to me on the steemit platform of level 58.

I have learned so much from the community, I now know what a Blockchain is, I know what cryptocurrency is and if it wasn't for steemit I would still have had no idea.

So my thoughts are, let's stop comparing this site to the shit Facebook site, they are nothing of the same.
Let's tell the world about this community of amazing people who everyday share something of the same, we Love this place otherwise we would not come back on here everyday.

We have hit the 1,000,000 users here on steemit and that is a massive milestone If everybody was to invite 5 friends to come to steemit and they were to invite another 6 friends this place would get the tracktion it needs to be the biggest social networking site.

If you feel that I have made a point or there is something you want to add to this please feel free to add it to the comments.

Love to you all and steemon my fellow steemians.

Sort:  

I wish so, but I do not think so. Not so many guys can generate good content. People like twitter and facebook, as these platforms do not need long and good quality articles.

That's another good point @tumutanzi, people are been told its like facebook so they think they can post any kind of crap they want, when reality has it that it needs to be top quality.
Been the number one social media platform means that it needs to be A1

Man! That post gave me tingles! Very inspiring and you honestly have written down what I have been thinking. I try my best to promote steemit, but I too use the FB parallel and it doesn't work. I got the odd interested "Oh really", but not much ever comes of it. Your post has made me 100% that I need to find another way to describe steemit and why it is so cool. I too love to write and maybe that means steemit(The blogging side at least) is just one of those Marmite things? I feel there is lots of barriers when telling them you get paid in crypto too, but they forget how easy it is to cash out and pay some bills with your earnings.
I will have to have a good think about this and get back to you. I am meeting a lady next week about volunteering at a youthclub and I will be teaching them how to create music(I have production software on my laptop to make beats and record vocals). This will be promoting discord, rather than steemit, but it has to leak in so it is a start at least. Good to hear that I am not the only one banging on about steemit.

I left FB last year because it was rubbish and boring and now it's had a lot of bad press. I tend to tell people about the exciting things that are going, how much I enjoy it and the value I get from it and then say, oh yes there's this whole blockchain thing and you can earn money ... but that's later, after all the other good things! Good luck with your promotion, I thought the event you wrote about was really good.

I think that to compaire the 2 is wrong, they have two different social media sides.
People post on facebook, just popped to shops ok they get a few likes for it.
If you were to post the same thing on steemit you wouldn't get anywhere.

i think thats why there is so much crap on here at the minute because people compaire the two together and think that is what it is for. crap.
It needs to be told as it is, you blog about what ever tickles your fancy and you can/could get paid from it.

I think your idea of inviting five people is a really good one. You can be very selective about who you choose and you can tailor what you are telling them about steemit to their interests and needs. I have only spoken to one person about it - a friend that I think would really enjoy it and contribute lots to it. We've just been chatting about making vlogs (she is really good at that - very natural and good at the technology). I'm also going to speak to another friend who blogs on his own website.

The first person I told steemit about @wrongjohn joined the same day, as it is something that he is interested in.
I have told other people and they said that if its like face book then they don't want to join. steemit is totally different to facebook.
OK we can get paid to blog but this is more than posting crap like some people do on facebook. we have to find a way to tell people about it with out ever mentioning facebook. there is no point to people coming here thinking they can post crap and get paid for it as it does not work like that.

Its getting people to stick about I find is the problem. In my short 2-3 months on Steemit I have managed to get 3 people to join, but none are regulars. They expect it to be Facebook, but as you say.. it isn't.

After 2-3 posts and not a lot of interest, they give up. I try to support them, but they expect too much in my opinion.

@slobberchop 1. I love your name haha. brilliant.

  1. steemit should be known as an independent social media site and should not be tainted with a name like facebook.
    I have had problems introducing people in to steemit and when they come and see that it is nothing like steemit it makes it worse as they think I have lied about the whole site.

I was never introduced to steemit.com I found it my self, I was out of work and looking for an online job, one place I stopped by and did some work for was freelancer.com. but the competition on there was crazy and people from other countries would under cut my work by half just to get paid peanuts. I couldn't live like that.
I simple put into google, work and blog from home and after a few clicks I was on steemit and I wanted to know more.

If I was told it was like facebook i would have never joined. I hate facebook, yes I have an account with them, but I must pop on there once per month. just to see how my auzzie friends are doing and thats it.
I got sick of seeing people posting about going to the toilet and what they are feeding there dog. too much crap for me.
I love steemit, it think half the crap what is on here is because it has been sold to many as a facebook alternative and in my eyes it is not.

cheers for stopping by :)

You need to have a catchy name like mine, and a drooling lunatic avatar too helps.. hehe...

Good to see another UK person, I'm quite new to Steemit but am loving it so far. Its either gets into you or it doesn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09