Steem Gaming. A challenge

in #steem5 years ago

Hey there!

I have been on steem for well over a year. Likely 18 months. I have watched it go from a blogging place to a crazy gaming, gambling, investing place where the blog function is to just keep everything in check or to call out shady / ridiculous practices. The blog function is nice that way, even if this is not strictly a blogging place anymore, it is still great that we can bring things to attention that need to be brought to attention.

I want to bring something to attention today. I have been playing @steemmonsters daily. I have even rolled a couple of @magicdice. I am also letting my EOSKnights rack up goods for me while I work or sleep. All of these are great things. We can game on blockchains.

Steemmonsters has the right idea with assets. I know I am also holding assets in EOS Knights but I am not sure if they are as concerned about these assets maintaining value as the good people at steemmonsters.

This, however, is not the purpose of my piece today.

I used to play Zelda and pokemon and warcraft way back in the day... well, pokemon not so far back in the day. The great thing about those games is that there is a large quest and rare / legendary items can help with that quest. Could you imagine if pokemon (or a game like it) was linked to a blockchain and you could sell the pokemon you caught on the open market? I would have spent a lot of money on pokemon back in the day. With blockchain, there would be no hacked pokemon and, much like steemonsters, every one in existence is numbered and accounted for.

I know there are some cheap attempts at this, but the actual game programming is still super simple. I know that it would be very possible to program a really awesome game, and to link the transactions to a blockchain. It is just a developer thing. I get it, resources are scarce, and building an EPIC game would take a lot of resources.

This is the future of blockchain gaming. Steemmonsters is the first to see the potential in it fully. The game is simple (and awesome). The future games will have awesome assets and complex games that could take months to play through with characters that level up and multiplayer battle functionality.

I am no programmer, but I would love to see these RPG type games built with blockchains handling all of the in game assets and multiplayer transactions. There were economies like this forming. People were selling in game items for cash, or selling online accounts for cash... but it always got tricky with how the transaction was going down. With a game existing on a blockchain, that changes. It is fool proof.

My challenge is for developers to see the goldmine that is blockchain games and to try to hit one out of the park. Follow steemmonsters lead in protecting the asset value and see what you can come up with.

On the gambling end of things, magic dice is cool... but where is provably fair steem poker?

That is all

Sort:  

I know magic dice is going to be adding more games. So they may do a poker game.

Posted using Partiko Android

Once the 'online poker' got big... it got rigged. To have a 'provably fair' blockchain version of online poker could really become huge.

Cant you play poker at blockchain at many places already?

likely... but not on steem... at least not like a programmed game.

Yes it could be a massive thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi, @allcapsonezero!

You just got a 0.78% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25