new painting technique..White Dragon!

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago

Greetings Steemians, for today's post, I though I'd try using a new technique I discovered for digital painting. Take a look as I begin to create a new piece for the table, a fearsome white dragon! I begin by lightly sketching the head and neck in Autodesk Sketchbook. wtdrgn1.jpg Then, I fade the pencil line and open a new layer, and lay down the base color. I also created a color pallet and also pulled the little blue figure up for scale. wtdrgn2.jpg With the base color set, I begin to use a lighter color to "block in" the dragon's scales. wtdrgn3.jpg Using "blobs" of color, I free hand the individual scales. (I might suggest using a reference photo if you're going for a more realistic look) wtdrgn4.jpg After I complete the scales, I'll add some additional shading using the original base color and use the eraser to clean up the outline. I'll be doing more with this project in the future. Until next time, "keep Steemin"! wtdrgn5.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, this is very helpful. I have draw dragons before, but never this detailed. I can use this tutorial in the future. Thank you very much!

By the way, the sketch looks awesome all by itself, too! ;)

Glad you liked it, and more so that it was helpful :)

thank you for sharing this method maggie..and the dragon design is awesome!!

Thanks, glad you liked it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25