Steem Cartoon : Painting with Shapes (Morning Glory)

in #steem-cartoon6 years ago (edited)

My favourite kind of theme. The nature. This time I would want to try something really different. I want to create an entire picture made out of only one shape. I am attempting to do this without the use of brush.

The subject matter that I have chosen is unique because of the shape and colour that has its intrinsic appeal. This flower is also often used by many amateur and professional artists.

lokasi.jpg
http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steem-cartoon-painting-with-shapes-morning-glory

I took this picture when I was cycling around my neighbourhood yesterday and the flower seems like a good subject matter for my steemit post, so here you go.

tools.jpg

Why do I choose the pentagon shape? This is a basic shape that closely resembles that of the flower. It is also a shape that is easy to rotate at all angles. This is where I find the tools in photoshop

sketch.jpg

Start with a rough sketch. It does not have to be detailed. What is most important is to positioning of the flower.

step 1.jpg

Caoture the share of the flower by using basic colours. Each flower must be separated by a layer.

step 2.jpg

It can be coloured very simply. At this point I cannot use the effect layer for shadow and lighting. Everything has to be chosen from palette colour and this method is good to train an artist to understand in detail the selection of colours.

step 3.jpg

This time I start to move the details slowly on the surface of the flower. The precision in creating shadow on each colour selectionb becomes more challenging because it will spoil the artwork if the positioning of the shape is inaccuate.

step 4.jpg
Then we can move the object such as the leaves and the tree trunks. For this process I use colours such as olive green and yellow ochre to blend the colours with the background colour.

step 5.jpg

For the final step, I focus on the background colour. To improve the radiance of this piece of work, I increase the contrast and thickness of colour on each movement shape. To improve on the details, I can place some highlight colours on the important parts.

The final result is quite an interesting one. It is very different from using the brush technique that I have been providing tutorials prior to this post. The only problem with this technique is to create a realism art. It takes a of time. I hope that this challenging technique can help you improve on the choice of colour paletting.



credit to @zomagic

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=aurah
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steem-cartoon-painting-with-shapes-morning-glory


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great tone and lighting sir @aurah!

Thanks bro :)

deep in heart there were a garden.. :)) torbaik bohh.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75