Steem - Voting Activity & Steem Health Part 3

in #stats6 years ago

Can we use Voting Activity as an indicator of the health of the system?



We already look at posting activity and post payout activity through several different lenses. What patterns emerge if we examine levels of voting activity over time.

In this short series I will look at the different metrics which can be monitored over time. I will use feedback from this series to build reports that provide this snapshot on a regular basis.
The reports I produce depend on steemdata which seems to have been out of synch for the last few weeks so apologies for no regular reports last week or this week.

There is much debate over Voting Circles, and Paid for Voting Services not to mention Self Upvoting. This analysis does not intend to make a judgement on any of these activities but rather provide some insights which we will share on a regular basis.

Distribution of Votes

How are the millions votes distributed across accounts?



  • The votes that accounts receive has a very long tail.

Which accounts are the most voted?



  • There are many names I recognise in this list but others that I do not.

Voting Percentages

When voting you can choose a voting percentage. Anything from -100 to +100 percent.

So what range of value do people vote with?



  • A significant proportion vote with 100%

Downvotes

Lets take a closer look at the accounts and voters that get and the biggest number of Downvotes



  • no comment



  • only two names I recognise on this list.

Network Visualisations

Join me next week where I will make some visualisations of voter activity and how this has evolved since the beginning.

A sneak peak of what I have in store


Steemit Feb 2018.png

Related Posts

Thank you for reading this. I write on Steemit about Blockchain, Cryptocurrency and Travel.
Stock Images thanks to pixabay.com

Sort:  

Looking forward to the viz.

Hard to understand the grafis image @eroche, :D might be caused My passion not in stats, but still try learn something from your article, keep it up sir :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98