The Danger Of Extrapolation

in #statistics6 years ago

The trend might be your friend but paper is still flammable. Ignore the non sequitur for a moment and consider this. Does anyone crossing the road expect to get hit by a car? No. But it still happens. But unless the person getting hit is incredibly unlucky, paranoid, or reckless beyond all reason, they'll never project themselves to ever get hit by car anytime in their lifetimes. That doesn't mean it can't happen.


graphic-1714230_640.png
The Uneducated: That seems like a good investment.

Extrapolation is the art of projecting the future given your prior results. Sometimes it works, other times it doesn't. Sometimes the projection is off by a little, other times the projection is off by a lot. Nobody can tell the future. But that doesn't stop people from trying.

As someone who has studied computer science and has taken multiple courses in statistics, I'm very familiar with techniques used to approximate the future. All of them unfortunately require data from the past and not data from the future. To be fair though, getting data from the future is currently impossible, so the past is the best we can do.

But people want to know their future, so we use the past as it is a pretty good heuristic most of the time. For example, if someone has an allergic reaction to shellfish, in the future, they can reliably guess that if they eat shellfish again they will have another allergic reaction, thus they avoid eating shellfish as they can extrapolate the probable result if they went down that path. We use extrapolation everyday to make decisions.

But extrapolation always come associated with the risk of being wrong. The danger of extrapolation is that the observable trend is not indicative of the underlying behavior of the thing in question. For example, if you took daily temperature readings in the northern hemisphere from February to June, the trend would suggest that the temperature would keep going up forever, when clearly we know this is not the case.

But in the prior example, we knew additional information that made that projection look foolish. In a lot of cases, we don't have that additional information. In general, we will never have enough information to predict the future with certainty. The future is dependent on the past, but the past can never be perfectly represented in any model.

But we already know this. There is a reason people buy insurance. Because you never know when you are going to get hit by a car or have a heart attack. The low probability black swan event can always pop up out of nowhere and destroy your expectations, your dreams, and your cryptocurrency portfolios.

So what did we learn? You should stop trusting anything that the technical analysis preaches. Now I realize there are a lot of believers of certain areas of technical analysis out there including the cult of Elliott Waves. But realize all that technical analysts are doing is extrapolating using past information. Given that the entire cryptocurrency space is so young, we don't have a lot of prior data to work with.

So, we really have no idea where this whole market is going. We are simply extrapolating based on prior data and then adding the additional biases of our hopes and dreams. To put it more simply, you can't predict the future with certainty and your emotions tend to make your predictions more inaccurate.

I have always been a fan of hedging and protecting yourself from uncertainly since all predictions are probabilistic in nature. The technical analyst knows this, but often times his audience does not. Unfortunately, sheep are colorblind. They see things in binary vision. Black or white. Good or bad. Up or Down. Bull or Bear. But that means when you are right, you are right. And when you are wrong, it really hurts a lot.

So, let's stop being so reliant on extrapolating candles and spend some time building better models doing some research. Let's take partial positions and hedge to avoid catastrophic loses and still make gains from the technology we believe in.

Or you could go all in. They call that gambling. Putting too much faith in extrapolation (or fate). And more often than not, gamblers end up being losers since the game is probabilistic. Sure, you might have the most chips at the table and are on a winning streak. But play long enough and you'll be sure to see a black swan at the table, and you'll be helpless to escape.

Sources:

Image

Sort:  

As always you have opened a great debating topic. This time I will answer with a question, for in your post I see that you are subtly limiting the question of the future to the topic that is dancing about in your thoughts. This is not a question only for you, but for everyone who happens to read this comment. Take a moment, close your eyes and forget about everything. Forget the screen in front of you, forget the space surrounding you, forget what the time, forget your loved ones and take one look deep inside, remember your desires and dreams. Take your time and feel them. Now let everything sink back in and answer me;
Why predict the future when you can create the future?

I sort of agree with this sentiment. I think those that build the future are more resistant to movements of the free market. But I will also acknowledge that it is much easier to predict the future than to build it. The builders have to be able to endure endless waves of failure before they see results. But for those that persevere, they are rewarded with a future that matched their vision.

But many people are lazy and not everyone has Elon Musk's motor or drive. I may never truly make a significant difference in my lifetime, but if I can help to make a little push than maybe I can help built a better future in the background. But I guess effort and hard work separates the gamblers from the visionaries. Both take risks, but one sits back and other takes initiative.

That little push itself is an act of creating the future ;)

Every few months, I go through a phase where I try to understand Technical Analysis. I always come back to the observation that you can see whatever you want (and the opposite) by changing timeframes, picking different highs/lows.

...and yet I know there are people who have used it profitably and consistently for many years.

This makes me feel there is a trained eye needed, which also seems to involve trained intuition.

...and I've also heard that to become a successful trader, you need to be prepared to screw up big for a few years before you get any good.

The thing I see with the crypto markets is people don't know what they don't know. So they'll screw up big, but without actually doing any training / learning. And in a few years, they'll still be a novice and still reading the reknown Elliot Waves guru on Steemit.

The best traders also know how to set stop-losses and minimize their losses in the cases that they are wrong. Sure, they might be right 50-70% of the time, but the key is to minimize your losses when you wrong and there are many strategies and methods of doing that, but most people don't take the time to analyze the market and build strategies that work when you are wrong 40%+ of the time. The noobs have one bad trade and often they panic at the worst times to maximize their losses.

The whole market is an amazing complex game of psychology that you simply can't understand by reading or following technical analysts and following their calls. You have to do your own research and then simulate trades or play with very small amounts of money you are actually willing to lose.

Good points, all. Until a couple years ago, I absolutely wasn't a trader. Now I find myself a sorta-kinda trader. Mostly, I like to buy/hold things that I believe in long term -- occasionally taking profits along the way. But always, in amounts I can afford to lose.

The psychology and emotions involved are truly amazing. It's something I feel really drawn to researching more. I've personally known several folks who bought into the ATHs before Christmas. Even when they said they put in amounts they could afford to lose, they were deeply unnerved by the drop, then much more concerned by the further fall that continued a couple weeks ago.

I felt okay, though. Even though I was losing a lot of "paper money," I wasn't losing any base investment (lucky for me, I guess). And that's where I draw the line in calling myself a trader. I wasn't looking for a top or bottom. I just have a long term thesis, what I feel is a vote on history. So I see the plot twists with a certain curiosity.

Still, I remember a year or so ago when I decided to try day-trading. I felt like I sat in fight/flight mode all day long even with stop losses in place. Plus setting stop losses is hard with cryptos, which are volatile enough to swing 20% in a day and the exchanges aren't all that great yet. I remember actually having a buy order for BTC that was crazy low in late 2016 -- and a flash crash from a cascade of stop losses threw the price down on one exchange for maybe a minute and my buy order got some BTC at a 40% discount. Didn't happen on any other exchange.

After a while, I decided that watching charts all day for me was a nonstarter. It made me less happy; it made me clingy to money even when I was way up; it preoccupied me when I was hanging with my wife, daughter, and friends.

That said, I have respect for people who learn how to do it and keep themselves in tact.

Important post....thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28