Steem USA State Wars: Favorite City--All Aboard the Train to Blue Ridge, Georgia!

in #statewars7 years ago

Hey there guys and gals!  We are into day number 2 of @steemusa's #statewars, and it's all about our favorite cities today.  Like most other states, Georgia has quite a few great cities to check out.  Atlanta would have been a very obvious pick, as there are tons of really fun things to do in the capital.  I have lived in a few different cities that I really enjoy, as well.  However, we are making the trek up to the North Georgia mountains for my pick today--Blue Ridge!

While it is a bit off the beaten path, it is a pretty well-known travel spot in Georgia.  As my title implies, one of the attractions is a train.  The scenic rides take about 4 hours and stop off for a few hours of shopping, eating or just strolling around.  They also do special seasonal themes--like the Santa Express in December.  I have never done the train ride, but it's on my list to check out.

Of course one of the biggest draws to the area are the beautiful mountain views.  When we've gone I've been perfectly content waking up every morning to see the sunrise while I sip a cup of coffee.

Some mornings start with a heavy fog that slowly reveals the landscape below...

While others start out crisp and clear...

It is definitely a haven for #treetuesday lovers. (Hey @old-guy-photos!)

We have always had a good time going away to stay in a cabin for a few nights with good friends.  Just watch out for the bears. ;)

The start of the Southern end of the Appalachian trail is close by, and there are a few different waterfalls to hike to if you just want a short excursion.

2/2 bearded mountain men approve of this one. ;)

Speaking of beards...you can go up with one man...

and come home with another! (@dksart participated in no shave November this year)

If waterfalls aren't your thing, the Toccoa River is nearby.  You can canoe, raft, or even paddle board on the river in nice weather.  We went up this time in December, so we kept to mostly dry land.

The downtown area is also really cute if you want a break from the great outdoors.  There are tons of restaurants and shops to peruse.  There is enough of a draw just to drive up for the day even if you don't want to spend the night!  From where we are (just outside of Atlanta) it is only about a 90 minute drive.  Easy to get to, but still feels like you are in another world!

Speaking of day trips, I posted about Mercier Orchards (one of the biggest orchards in the area) back in September when we went apple-picking. :)  So if you don't love peaches, the apples are fantastic, too.  The views here are just as spectacular.

I could roam around the orchard all day eating my weight in apples.

Well if my post doesn't make you want to head for the hills, then check out the main website for more information on all of the fun stuff you can do in the city. http://www.blueridgemountains.com/what_to_do.html

Though I know this is supposed to be "war" I am actually really looking forward to reading the other posts for today's challenge!  There are so many places in the States I would love to travel, so bring it folks--give me some vacation ideas! ;)

Sort:  

Looks like such a beautiful area I would love to visit, but the bears dont look to bad lOL

tip!

Thanks! Haha, yeah I think Teddy might have been more scared of us than we were of him. ;)

lol that could well be the case

I love that area. I have hiked the section of the AT from Amicalola Falls to Blood Mountain several times, and it never gets old. It really is one of the most beautiful sections of the entire trail.

Awesome! I had a friend who was prepared to do a thru-hike of the entire AT, but she had to pull out about a month in due to a knee injury. I can't remember how far she made it, but she did go back and hit some of the spots further up while she had the time off. I'm not a huge hiker, but I would definitely like to explore more!

Too bad about your friend's knee injury, but it's great that she was able to get back out and experience different sections.

I have done sections all along the way, including long stretches through the Smokies and North Georgia, but never the entire trail. I talked about it 20+ years ago, but never got around to it due to work/family/life. I guess it's never too late though.

She made the most of it, so I don't think she has any regrets. I am a firm believer that it is never too late for many things in life. :) I'm sure it is a big commitment to do it all at once, but I have known a few other people to hike the entire trail over the course of years in pieces. One client of mine did it in his mid to late 60's!

This place sounds lovely. The photos you from the mornings on the mountains are so pretty, that is definitely a view I would like to have as I sip my morning coffee :D

It is a fantastic place to go unwind! Just writing this made me want to go book a cabin for the weekend! :)

this landscape is really great, you have had a beautiful :)

Thank you! It is a beautiful place to visit!

wow every shot showing your beautiful moment

I'm glad I was able to capture it's beauty to share!

That looks so nice! I love living by the ocean, but it is always fun to escape to the mountains too :)

I am glad we are close enough to be able to get to them both! Takes a little longer to get to the beach, but we usually manage to get our toes in the sand at least once a year. :)

You have some amazing photographs and I've never heard of this city. I'll have to check it out as the hiking looks like it would be easier than the grueling parts I've been on in TN.

Thanks! It's easy to take good pictures when the scenery is that nice! ;) I can't attest to too much of the hiking terrain, but it's definitely worth a look!

Wow Georgia looks sooooo nice! Definitely I would love to visit!🌸💗🌺

You are welcome any time. :)

Very nice scenery indeed, and well documented in your words. The mountains are a great place to gather yourself back in when things get a little out of wack.

Thank you for the kind comment. I agree about using the locale as a good place to reset. I think we usually end up going in the cooler months, so there is just something about the crisp mountain air and slower pace of life that does your body and mind some good.

You were right, some great looking trees!

Thank you for checking them out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63484.82
ETH 2603.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81