Artexplosion, week38 theme: Sci-fi. A travel of the new unknown.

in #stateofthearts6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone

Here is my entry for the artexplosion week 38.

image


This was a very fun and full of challenge to get it just like it was in my head.
I really took the time to work on this, I spent a couple of hours on it for the past 6 days.
While I was making it, I had to work out further details and hoped that they would come along the journey, well they did;)

image

Here you see some photos of the process:

image

This was the first sketch that I made on the tablet.


image

Although I liked the digital sketch, my feel with this theme screamed paper and pencils, that's why I redid the sketching on paper and started on color.

image

image

During this coloring part, I looked up images on the muscle tissue of the human jaw and wanted to give this to my alien-creature.


image

Luckily I have some creative stash at home and used my silver shiney paper for the building of my sci-fi alien-creature to give it a cool effect.


image


All of a sudden I knew what I wanted to do with the rest of this interesting face, and changed the nose and mounth part.
Here you see I've also added more shades.

image


The shiney paper comes in different colors and here you can see the spine turned out to get a copper look.
I also added another silver stroke, that I rolled up a bit so it seems like it's from steel.

image


In the sun, it looks pretty cool too.
I have colored the neck now completely.

image

I added little dots of glitter nail polish as if it are screws of the armour in the face.

image


After this, I used autodesk sketchbook to make the background scéne.

I started out by making the background of my drawing black, with the digital proportions included. After that I looked for brushes to make this gallaxy-ish effect. The stars had to be there and I found a way to make them aswel. And what is a gllaxy without a planet? I was inspired by a picture of the /earth and dicited to make it. I add a layer of gray with a synthetic brush and played with different tones of gray. For this experiment,I think it turned out pretty good! You can also see a planet in the distance, I used the form makers brush and filled this in with gradient, then adjusted the colors.

image

This is what the background looked like without the alien :).


Again, here is the finished project.

image


I want to thank @juliakponsford for the cool theme. I have enjoyed myself so very much:)
Here is a link to the contest :

https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-38-theme-sci-fi-25-steem-in-prizes



------------- -------------

I also made a contest, it's called Mermaid Monday contest! More info right here:

https://steemit.com/mermaidmonday/@nymia.aryn/mermaid-monday-contest-week-6-fun-and-prizes-656fc4691a337

image

Thank you for reading my making of this project. I am very happy with the outcome.


image


image

image

Sort:  

Thank you very much haha you have been busy :) X

This really amazing! Very good work! Regards :)

Thank you very much! I really appreciate it! X

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88