Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Movie Review- Spoiler Free

in #starwars6 years ago

So I saw the movie last night at the midnight screening and I'm super pumped. Unfortunately my wife doesn't want to talk every last detail to death so I'm excited for others to see it so I can gush over every little scene. I'm already planning to go see it again next Tuesday, damn it was good!


Source

You may be able to tell, I'm kinda a super fan!

So this review is mostly going to be filled with just how awesome it was. It didn't disappoint. It had everything you'd expect from a Star Wars movie.

I'm so worried about dropping any spoilers so it's likely going to be brief. I just deleted half the damn thing since I want you to be able to go in fresh. I'm the guy who didn't even watch previews since I wanted to go in fresh.

Lets just say it had "everything" so much that at times it felt like they were ticking off a checklist of all the best parts of the old Star Wars movie. As a fanboy I certainly won't complain it had the epic grandiose feel.

Damn I really want to say so much more, but like I said I don't want to give anything away.

I'll tell everyone what! Once this post pays out in 7 days, I'm dropping a better review full of spoilers and discussion and every damn detail. I can't wait to dissect the crap out of this!


Source

I'll admit it had one scene that was a terrible groan-er, everyone in the theater felt the same way as you heard everyone scoff at the cheese, it was a pretty sweet little turn of events though. It did have some great surprises and twists. They are also really upping the game with great one-liners and personality. The damn Poe has some pretty sweet lines once again.

I do wish they developed/revealed the back story a bit more, they talked about some stuff and grazed over others, but maybe it the end that's good and it leaves room for some great pieces of literature to fill the gaps.

I think I'm going to have to leave it at that, and stop myself from getting into any more details.


Source

It doesn't disappoint and totally a must see, can't wait to really open the discussion on this one next week


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

I enjoyed it as well. Reviewed this morning spoiler free. I did talk in broad strokes, but not anything that would be spoiler-ish. I went to the first showing. It was packed for 7 PM. Our theater had it on six of their 10 screens.

I read yours too actually much deeper, but your also the pro reviewer. Can't wait to really discuss it all!

I'm afraid I must disagree. While mostly enjoyable, it was sorely lacking in many, many ways. I'll respect your desire to not go into spoilers, so I'll just leave these thoughts here:

  1. The Admiral was stupid
  2. When the script completely erases a major character's arc from the first movie and returns him/her to the state he/she was in at the beginning of the first film, that is unacceptable.
  3. When a long and meandering plotline ends up being completely meaningless, it ought to have been cut in post, or removed from the script entirely.
  4. Poe's arc was dumb.
  5. Finn's arc was worse.
  6. The main conflict of the movie was incredibly lame.
  7. If the only way the script writer can come up with to insert humor is to stop and make an incredibly stupid joke that undermines the character or leaves the audience saying "WTF?", it's probably best not to try for humor. The Trilogy (there is only one) was funny in parts, but that humor flowed naturally from the characters and the story. This flick....not so much. Does no one in Hollywood understand how to do smart humor any more?
  8. AGAIN too many pointless and jarring fan service moments that served no real purpose to advance the story, or that were so random and "Why TF is that happening" as to eliminate the purpose they served.

I can go on. At length.

Glad you liked it. I enjoyed the interplay between Luke and Rey, and between Rey and Ben. The sword fight on the flagship was pretty cool.

Aside from that...all flash, little substance. Which is NOT what Star Wars (used to be) about.

Interestingly I had a similar conversation with many of those points with my wife earlier tonight. She thinks I need to open my eyes and be more critical instead of overly positive about everything...lol. I'll shoot you a nice upvote for your great discussion in a few days once I'm not worried about bumping up these kinda spoilers

No worries.

I'll probably put up my own Spoilery review in the next day or two.

I really, really, REALLY want to think this was awesome. Star Wars was the first movie I ever saw in the theater...when I was 3. So it's been a major influence on my entire life.

But.......

Oy

Yeah, they did miss a lot of opportunities and it did lack a lot of depth. I'll have to watch with a more critical lense next week. I'll watch for your post and we'll chat more there.

So it was good then yeah? Just a little bit excited were we?? Haha

Yeah, just a little bit! Not sure Tuesday is going to be soon enough to see it again!

can't wait to see it!!

Oh yeah, it was amazing. Must see.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

We're going on the 22nd for our anniversary!

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

It was such a great film! Can't wait to watch it again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69