The Haunted Trail: Flash fiction contest courtesy of #stach

in #stach6 years ago

First of all, I must confess that I'm really relishing the opportunities afforded me by these writing contests on steemit. It is really improving my writing skills.
I'm grateful to @stach for this opportunity as I'm hoping I've produced something good enough to be considered amongst the winners.

So here goes nothing....

The Haunted Trail

She beckoned at him to follow. Instantly, Chidi turned away from the group and followed the woman down the narrow trail that led to the ancient shrine. A cold draught of air hit his face as the clouds darkened and the voices of his cousins, arguing, faded away.

The last time he saw Uju was five years ago when he last visited the village. Then she was pregnant. He wanted to ask how her child was but he felt a lump rise in his throat to stop him from speaking.

They soon reached an isolated hut, he had never seen before. In front of it laid a baby, crying. It must be her child, Chidi reckoned.
With one deft movement, she placed the baby in his arms and shooed them away.

Chidi returned to the shouts of Ola, his cousin who had been looking for him.
He told her he had just been with Uju and her baby.
Couldn’t Ola see the child in his arms? He asked raising the bundle in his arms to her.

It was a blood stained log in his arm.

Uju died at childbirth, five years ago, a perplexed Ola told him.

Sort:  

The twist at the end really got to me. Awesome setup! You're really on to something here. I like what you were going for.

If you ever wish to sharpen your writing skills, I would suggest for you to try your hand with #freewrite, check out @mariannewest's profile for the prompts and basic guidelines.

Thanks. This means a lot to me. I'll take up your suggestion.

Congratulations @uc-phoenix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice twist!! Well done!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85