Tales of Tonia - 4

in #stach6 years ago

The receptionist, Two security guards and about four of Bode's friends came in after he opened the door... The receptionist ran to me Immediately, she held me close as she eyed Bode bitterly... "It's alright dear, it's alright" she repeated.
"How far Bode wetin dey Sup for here" Greg asked.. "Is it not this witch of a girl, after cutting my chain she say she wan come up come baff, instead she started parking her stuffs and trying to leave. Fool.. I just regret meeting you this Tonia. You be goat, you no just get sense at all" Bode lamented...
I'm in shock, from the whole event of this evening, I've known Bode for Almost 9 years of my life, we have dated for 8 years and today I'm seeing a different person entirely.. Was this Bode? Or has a spirit possessed him? I kept asking myself...
"You are a bad woman, my family warned me against you but I never listened, you are a witch, no wonder my family hates you, You cut my chain, what do u have against my chain or you are not happy that I'm wearing Gold, you want me to be poor, you are jealous of my success " Bode went on and on.... These words pierced through me like a sharp edged sword. Truly Bode's family had kicked against him being with me but this same Bode had always begged me to stick with him as he would find a way to convince his family... These words were more painful than the slap I received minutes ago... How did we get to this point, Bode was shouting ontop of this voice.. "Do you think I don't know you are here just cus of money? You are dating me cus I have money. Money is what you want". At this , I was forced to respond. "Nine years ago when I met you Bode, you were nothing, had nothing , u could barely afford anything, you wore fake All stars sneakers worth one thousand two hundred naira and five hundred naira shirt.You were unexposed, i remember introducing you to social media and how to operate phones... Nine years down the line, you ve things going well for you, and you think what I want is your money? We dated Eight years and you are just realizing I'm a witch and a bad woman? "
Everyone in the room exclamated in shock, nobody expected that we would have dated for so long and be having this kind of issue. Greg spoke first" Guy, you guys have been dating eight years? When I even dey think say na person when you just meet " I shook my head, I was pained. Paris bliss was turning into Paris horror. Greg went ahead to analyze the issue, telling each of us where we were at fault and asking that we apologized to each other. I did apologize but Bode refused to claiming it was all my fault and he was done with the relationship.
The security men took Bode away while I was left alone. I started to think about my life. I thought about my family, My dad and mum, my siblings. I've made Bode look like a saint before them. I never took any complains to them, I never told anyone anything that goes on between us. My Sister always complained about it but I felt that was the best way to go about things. I would sometimes buy things with my money and present them as Bode's gift especially to my younger ones just to make sure he was respected and won't have problem with them. But here was I, being called a witch and a bad woman for walking away to avert a situation like this. Greg had mentioned earlier that Bode shouldn't have called his family meaning he called his people to tell them we were having issues. I didn't know what he discussed with them but I was greatly disappointed.
Bode returned about an hour later, took his bath and went straight to bed. I tried talking to him but he wouldn't have it, so I stayed put on my own on the other side of the bed. I couldn't sleep. A few more hours and I would be leaving Paris for Nigeria. No need sleeping so I stayed up and watched movies and it was just as if all the movies were about heartbreak and
Bad relationships. When it was almost dawn, I stood up and started preparing to leave. My eyes and face were swollen from the slap and from so much crying. No amount of makeup made it look good so I gave up and just parked up my stuffs. I was set to leave.
I woke Bode up and told him. I was leaving.. He woke up staring at me in surprise "you are leaving today?" I didn't have to answer that question, I just told him goodbye and was heading for the door when he was like "Tonia wait please at least let me see you off to the airport please please" I waited as he hurriedly brushed his teeth and dresses up. My flight was due in about three hours but I would rather wait at the airport. I couldn't wait to leave Paris, such bad memory and experience.
We took a cab to the airport and while we waited Bode stared talking "Tonia I'm sorry about last night, I don't know what came over me. I was angry at you and I didn't know why, the anger was so much I couldn't control it. I even called Shade(Bode's sister) , I told her to help me call you and talk to you. I'm sorry"
I said nothing .
"Tonia talk to me, say something, don't you want this issue to be resolved? You don't want to settle with me?"
I still said nothing and in no time my eyes were teary and the tears came pouring down non stop.
Bode kept saying he was sorry that he would come see me immediately he steps into Nigeria. He opened his wallet and tried givingimages (7).jpeg me some money which I rejected.
Soon it was time to leave. Without looking back, I stepped into that plane, bye bye Paris, bye bye Bode.
I was asleep 90% of the flight. I just wanted to remain in my dreams, far from the world.
It felt like a dream, a nightmare and at some point I actually pinched myself to make sure I was not dreaming.
Home sweet home. Who knew I would be this excited coming back to Nigeria. I wanted to get home as fast as possible. I switched Sims and dumped the one Bode had given me in Paris in the Bin.
In about 20 minutes, while I was still waiting to get my luggage, my phone rang.
It was Bode's Elder brother Seun...

To be continued

Sort:  

Congratulations @kartie! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10