How to destroy the monthly budget

in #ssucculents6 years ago (edited)

This weekend is the Johannesburg Succulent Society's spring show and while I could have happily bought a truckload of plants of all kinds, I decided to focus on Haworthia and get some good-looking plants for making hybrids. There's one particular seller there who always has beatiful plants, although they aren't cheap. My rationalisation for breaking the bank was that these plants will make good breeding stock. And I am sick of all the building mess and expenses, I want to get something for myself and my project. So here are most of my Haworthia purchases. I got one or two other plants but I will put those in another post.

compressed_136992277220181013_185551.jpg
clockwise from left: Haworthia groenewaldii, Haworthia maughanii, Haworthia picta and Haworthia comptoniana

compressed_93937019220181013_185235.jpg
Clockwise from left: Haworthia vincentii, Haworthia hammerii, Haworthia bobii and Haworthia obserata

I can't wait for these to start flowering, especially the H. bobii, I want to make some hairy plants, of course

Sort:  

Wow, those are such fascinating plants! They are all so similar but they have really unique characteristics that set them apart from one another. I can see the appeal of being a collector!

And you know the problem with collecting is that you can never have just one ;)

Beautiful!
Congratulations!
I'll wait for the photo of their bloom too!

The flowers are not that interesting, all haworthia have small white flowers that look the same. People grow them for their interesting leaves

Thank you, I thought that they have different flowers.

Quite a collection you are making. :-)

Indeed! I plan on turning my succulent growing into a small business

This is so interesting, and these are JUST the new ones? lol

Yes, just the new ones ;)

I love it!

That hairy bobii must be my favourite!
And comptoniana because of the cool colour.

I thought you might like the bobii :P I think I like all of them but yeah, that hairiness!

Can't resist it :D

They are very interesting plants, dear @nikv.
The best thing is that you have many possibilities to reinvent.
Congratulations.

Thank you!

I don’t know why the spots and patterns in these leaves remind me of gecko!! LoL
Good luck with your hairy plants!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I can see how that is possible

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25