I Don't Think We Are Ready For World Cup.

in #sprtshub6 years ago

1528296644_IMG_20180327_225720.jpg
[Source]

Have you seen our new jersey? Wow!. I am in love with it and i will definitely get a good one soon.

1528296777_Mikel-Obi-inspecting-New-Jersey.jpg
[Source]

I have watched most of our matches and i must admit, i am not utterly impressed even though i know we are still developing and i love our coach, really. He earned my respect.

Like i always point out, this is just my personal views and doesn't relate to the general perspective. It is always open to discussion in the comment section and i am open to new views.

I watched the Nigeria v England match and i wasn't impressed, especially with the first half. They picked themselves up for second half, but the damaged has been done already in the first half, and that is all other teams needed, especially at the World Cup.

1528297194_england-v-nigeria-football-friendly-international-wembley-stadium-wembley-uk-02-06-2018-9699278t-1500.jpg
[Source]

It pains me even the more, seeing how England are. We couldn't even hold this below par England to a draw at least. This speaks a lot about the mental readiness of our own players. We are not ready for the World Cup. I wonder where the old Super Eagles went. Hahahaha. It is bad having to compare to past players. It shows how far we have fallen but i still believe in these players. I love the perfect blend of local players with the foreign based players. We need them to rub off on our local players, which will stand us in good place and improve the level of our local matches.

1528297600_Mikel-Obi.jpg
[Source]

I also watched the Nigeria v Czech match and i was far from impressed. Czech had more opportunities, better chances and even more corners than us. I can't see the fight or determinations from our players which was evident by their 24th minute goal. I just thought about the lack of passion and fight from certain players, prior to their goal. The set up for the corner, the way our players looked out of tune and tired, the way i could see a bit of fear from some, i was still thinking about this before their goal came in. I only saw a bit more fight from Ighalo and Moses trying a little bit too, with Iwobi, with the later always in the box trying to help out.

We have young squad, yes, they are still gelling, yes, and this only confirms that the other teams in our group, with more fight and determination will expose us, at the international stage. No matter what, i will still be rooting for my beloved country, but i would love it if they show more fight, more passion, more determination and put it more efforts. We should stop living on past glory. This Nigerian team is nothing compared to past teams, and the earlier we stop comparing and living in past glory, the better. We need the fight, strength, aggression, determination and desires. They are being too careful and not willing to take risks. I hope this change because we only have few days to the World Cup. No team will spare us, because they are all coming to make a statement too. Conceding through set piece is becoming an issue for us recently.

Like i said, i will still root for my team, and for what i have seen so far, i think Nigeria is not ready for the World Cup, at least till now. Only time will tell and i look forward to eating my words, because i love to see my Country do well on the World stage.

Eating words has never given anybody indigestion.

I can't wait for World Cup to start. I want our team to be able to say the same.

A reminder:

Nigeria v Croatia (16th June)

Nigeria v Iceland (22nd June)

Nigeria v Argentina (26th June)

We need to buckle up because these teams are no walk over. I admire how we weathered the storm by qualifying amidst Cameroon, Algeria and Zambia, but these teams we are to play at the World Cup are a step above, and we need to step up too if we are to make a good statement.

I wish my country all the best.

Thank you for your time.

My pen doesn't bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love's chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor's order.

Sort:  

We are not ready.
Even our second team is far better than the super eagles i think

I am telling you. We need to work so hard and fast and we have just few days left.

Yes
I guess they will come back to their senses soon

Really, i think i can tell super eagles' faith for the world cup... This is another lost world cup
...lol

Hahahahahaha. I still keep a little bit of faith that they won't disgrace us. 😂

That jersey looks AMAZING!

Super amazing. Love it too. Surely getting one soon.

I share your sentiments, friend. Our last match was a disaster. I can only hope that we improve before the world cup kicks off.

I sincerely hope so too brother. We should not embarrass ourselves. Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59329.11
ETH 2528.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47