USA! USA! USA! Go team USA... A RWC special

in #sportstalk5 years ago (edited)

_96765914_gettyimagesd.jpg

If you could convert sheer motivation and enthusiasm directly in to rugby skills, then the USA would be world number 1. The truth is, with a population of approximately 330MILLION, if the United States decided to, they would have the player base, the resources and the funding to dominate world rugby.

usa-jersey-rwc-2019.jpg

Thankfully for the rest of us, rugby is still classed as a minor sport, having only been "professionally" established in 1975. The USA still has a substantial amount of players to pick from, compared to some other smaller nations, with a player base of 130,000. But the moment rugby union becomes mainstream, the rest of the world can look out.

1200px-USA_Rugby_Logo.svg.png

Here is a little video, from my mate SQUIDGERUGBY, for those of you that prefer to watch rather than read.

THE POOL OF DEATH

Screenshot_20190724_101029.jpg

The USA find themselves in the "pool of death" (say it with an echo, fading out to silence).... In order for the USA to progress out of the pool stages, they would not only need one unlikely result to go their way, but two. I can see them turning over TONGA though, but that's about it. The States are having a good run of form lately, but from playing tier 2 teams and then having to face 3 tier 1 teams in the pool is a bit too much of a push, even for the enthusiasm of the USA.

Screenshot_20190913_101645.jpg

A heavy defeat to England and to France are on the cards and with a narrow defeat to the Argies, I can see the USA finishing 4th. The Tongan national side will be a physical test, but I think the structure the States has shown lately will see them edge a hard faught game.

IMG_20190915_080722.jpg

THERE IS NOW JUST ONE SPOT LEFT IN THE RWC SWEEPSTAKE

As soon as the last spot has been taken, I can get to sorting out who gets which team. I'll do the drawing live on my new discord channel.

Simply send me(@welshstacker) 4 steem and I'll sort the rest.

comments.gif
download.png

Sort:  

Thank you welshstacker! You've just received an upvote of 23% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

🇺🇸 🏈 🇺🇸 🏈 🇺🇸 🏈 🇺🇸 🏈 🇺🇸 🏈 🇺🇸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00