Old Fool At the Family Reunion: Sports Contest - 50,000 SPORTS + Votes for decent entries!

Sports Contest - 50,000 SPORTS + Votes for decent entries!
REDFISH RALLY HASHTAG CHALLENGE - WEEK 4, November 27, 2019

There's a saying that there's no fool like an old fool. Well, on that fateful day, I was an old fool. And everybody knew it. Not quite your regular football injury, but here goes.

I have since retired from my family reunion. But three years ago, I was in charge of ordering items for the kids such as a moonwalk, volleyball, obstacle course, and other items.
hannahbusingrYWEj9Cyx7Eunsplash.jpg
Source1

As I was perusing the party rental website, I saw the most unique item: an adjusted tricycle for adults. Wow, that sounded like a great idea for fun.

I was tired of hearing how the adults wanted something different than bingo every year. Ok, I thought. This was just the thing to add some fun. Then I had the bright idea to rent 2 of them so that we could have races.

Family reunion weekend I was excited to show the rest of the family my great idea. Didn't get the reaction I wanted, though. They all looked at me as though I was the biggest fool that ever lived. They said they weren't going to touch those things. Then they scolded me for wasting our reunion budget.

But I was determined to show them how much fun it could be. Besides, I was once an expert at racing my tricycle over 50 years ago. Couldn't have changed that much. Just peddle and keep going.

I couldn't persuade senior family members, so I decided to find a young adult. They were happy to oblige. I was so confident in my ability, that I added a prize for the winner.

Something told me not to do it, but I had already committed. Once I set my mind to do something, there's no stopping me.

It never occurred to me that I would hurt myself. I truly believed I could do this.

Ready, Set, Go! I started out slow, hoping to pick up speed. But I couldn't peddle fast as I thought I could. My grandchild cheered me on, urging me to go faster. I took my eyes off the road for a second.

Source 2

Next thing I remember was hitting a bump on the gravel road. Suddenly, the tricycle turned over, and I extended my hands to try to break my fall. It helped as both me and the tricycle slid a bit on the gravel. My feet got tangled into the spokes. I was dragging it with me. Seems like I couldn't stop myself from rolling over.

In trying to break my fall, I hurt my wrist. But I hurt my knees something fierce. I wasn't seriously injured. I was scuffed up, with bruises, scratches, my hands were red, and the most painful knees you can imagine. Family members rushed to help. I was more embarrassed than hurt.

Well, that ruined the rest of my day. But we still had another day to get through. Needless to say, I sat out the rest of the reunion, having the young adults substitute for me.

This may not qualify as an injury, but it sure does qualify as an embarrassment. Especially by someone who should know better.

My knees cursed me all the way home.

beltline.png

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever you are working on.


SOURCES:
a) JustClickin logo created at CoolText.Com
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) Separator Lines Free ClipArt Belt from Public Domain Vectors & ShadedLine from ClipArt-Library
e) All Tribe logos used with permission of Tribe Discord Channel admins.
1 Source1 - Image by Hannah Busing on Unsplash
2 Source2 - Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

lineseparator.png

lineseparator.png

I SUPPORT THE FOLLOWING GROUPS:



Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png


SteemTerminalBanner.jpg


Sort:  

Oh dear! There is nothing worse than a wounded ego! I am so sad for you that the races didn’t didn’t turn out to be the silly boisterous fun you imagined they would be. It’s such a clever idea for a reunion game! Well at least you made a very memorable experience for everyone. I hope you can laugh about it now!

@jayna. Yes, I can laugh about it now. In fact, my ordeal is a joke of the family reunion now. Everyone asks me if I want to race. Needless to say, I didn't order those things again, lol.

Congratulations @justclickindiva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Very cool entry! Good luck & thank you for participating in the #RRHC this week 👏👏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. It was fun to participate in a contest that I don't normally do.

Oh no!

I used to have one of those but outgrew it quite young - very brave of you to give it a try a number of years later!

What was the prize going to be I wonder? It must have been worth peddling for!

Thank you very much for your entry into the #sts-contest, I am going to announce the winner shortly.

Hi @abh12345. It was fun to participate in this contest. To laugh at yourself is the best medicine and cure. The prize was a $50 gift card to the person who continued on. If you won the 1st race, then you had to win the 2nd one to keep competing.

Yes it is :)

That a nice prize, worth racing for! Thanks for taking part :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60