NBA Playoffs 2018 - My Predictions for the First Round - Eastern Conference

in #sports6 years ago

As we all know the 2018 NBA Playoffs has just begun, it brings a lot of hype as the regular season was crazy this year. In the East there were also a lot of surprises, with last years Eastern Conference Champions the Cleveland Cavaliers just the 4th seed. Will there be a new representative for the Eastern Conference this year? The Raptors have won the East during the regular season, followed by Boston which is missing its superstars Kyrie Irving, and Gordon Hayward to injuries. Then a surprising 3rd seed for the trust the process Philadelphia 76ers lead by Ben Simmons, and Joel Embiid.

Here were the final standings in the Eastern Conference:

EasternWL
Toronto5923
Boston5527
Philadelphia5230
Cleveland5032
Indiana4834
Miami4438
Milwaukee4438
Washington4339

The Matchups

Toronto Raptors(1st Seed) VS Washington Wizards(8th Seed)

This match up is straight forward, I think the Raptors will edge it out easily unless John Wall and Bradley Beal have something to say. The Raptors I think will show up this time compared to last years Playoffs.

My Verdict: Raptors in 5
Toronto Raptors 4 - 1 Washington Wizards

Boston Celtics(2nd Seed) VS Milwaukee Bucks(7th Seed)

This match up is a little bit tricky, with Kyrie Irving out and injured the young core of the Celtics must step up. Tatum, Brown, and Horford would need to handle the load. I think the Bucks will cause an upset in this series with Giannis if he can put up his monster stats including the help of Eric Bledsoe I think they can win this series with the absence of key players from Boston.

My Verdict: Bucks in 7
Milwaukee Bucks 4 - 3 Boston Celtics

Philadelphia 76ers(3rd Seed) VS Miami Heat(6th Seed)

This match up is straight forward too in my opinion with Philadelphia red hot at the the end of the regular season with the winning streak, I think they can edge out Miami in a couple of games. Game 1 was played earlier where the Sixers won without All Star Center Joel Embiid, that says it all.

My Verdict: Sixers in 5
Philadelphia 76ers 4 - 1 Miami Heat

Cleveland Cavaliers(4th Seed) VS Indiana Pacers(5th Seed)

This match up is a little bit tricky, with the emergence of Victor Oladipo for the Pacers I think they can cause Cleveland a lot of trouble. Cleveland is getting better, as long as their players remain healthy I think they can go far in the playoffs, LeBron always shows up in the post season.

My Verdict: Cleveland in 6
Cleveland Cavaliers 4 - 2 Indiana Pacers

So that is it that is my predictions for the First Round in the East, so let us sit back and relax and enjoy the Playoffs. I will be following up a recap on the match ups if my predictions were correct when the first round series officialy ends.

Thank you very much for reading!

Image Credits:

http://www.nba.com/article/2018/04/12/numbers-preview-raptors-1-vs-wizards-8
https://www.celticsblog.com/2018/4/12/17230898/tale-of-the-tape-boston-celtics-vs-milwaukee-bucks-2018-nba-playoffs
https://news.wagertalk.com/miami-heat-vs-philadelphia-76ers-game-1-spread-prediction/
https://www.fearthesword.com/2018/4/12/17228710/playoff-schedule-cleveland-cavaliers-indiana-pacers

Sort:  

Wow you really are good at these kind of articles keep on writing and improving. Let us see if your predictions are correct haha.

Wow thank you reading comments like this give me more inspiration and drive to keep going and doing better, thank you very much :) Yup let us see if I will be on point on my predictions.

In the east I am really hoping for some upsets. Lebron with his first loss in the first round in a long time. Could the cavs be upset?......

Yes the Pacers match up seems to be tough haha, it is possible they can send LeBron packing early.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85