We May have Lost Our Foresight

in #sports4 years ago

It's been a while out here and I have been hitching to come to share my thoughts about all that has been happening about my darling Arsenal and the football world.

While I was so excited about the sacking of Unai Emery as Arsenal's Manager, I really don't think it was well thought or should I say, it was done with no plans on moving forward thenceforth.

2.48826991.jpg
image source

Having Freddie Ljungberg come on board, I was with mixed feelings. First, I expected to see a more changed Arsenal in terms of lineup, tactics and playing style and at the same time, I was not so sure we would see anything different, why? This was the same guy that has been second to Unai Emery since the start of the season. Invariably, this means that they both have been working together in deciding the lineup, playing style and tactic (which was never there anyway).

We all see how Pep Guardiola runs to hug and "kiss" Mikel Arteta whenever Manchester City scores or a change in tactics bring about a change in playing style or even leads to a goal. This says a lot that, Arteta is very much involving in the tactical planning of the game, the reason he is the Assitant Coach.

I wondered why they would give Ljungberg the job which he was supposedly supposed to work on with the sacked coach but it was undoubtedly the "Normal" thing to do when you sack a manager, for the assistant to takeover (well, our dear neighbours, Tottenham were so swift to get a replacement, that's a team with foresight and well-thought plan).

Utter disappointment is what I witnessed with our first lineup under Ljungeberg. I was almost sure we were not going to win that game Norwich City against as the Swede's first game in charge. I wondered why Sead Kolasinac was coming straigt back into the team after been out for a while to replace a Kieran Tierney who has been gelling well and improving by the day. I was also surprised to see that he did not start Nicolas Pepe and went for Joe Willock instead. No disrespect to the youngster, I just feel you put out your strongest team to start a game then when you're leading comfortably, you may begin to give the young onres a chance.

MY OPINION

I really cannot say this is the right person or who I want to takeover the job. I love Arteta so much to return but I'm not sure he's ready for the kiknd of pressure that comes with the current Arsenal situation. maybe a Rafa Benitez or poaching Brendan Rodgers would do it

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98