Sort:  

I'm from the south, and grew up hearing people call me "honey," all the time. After I graduated high school, though, it started to irritate the crap out of me, unless the "honey" was delivered by a sweet old woman. It's kind of endearing coming from them. But, with anyone else, especially people close to my own age, it just felt like nails on a chalkboard, because, to me, the "honey" came across as sounding condescending.

I never told anyone I hated being called "honey," (again, except by elderly women). I would, and do, just grin and bear it. But, it totally rubs me the wrong way. I asked my mom once how she felt about the southern "honey" phenomenon, because she grew up in the south, too. To my surprise, she said she felt the same way I do. So, it's not just me.

I lived in New York and New Hampshire for a few years for a job, and there is no "honey"-ing going on up there. I can understand if someone wasn't from the south and was hearing it for the first time from a guy, where she might take it the wrong way.

I know it's a southern thing, but I wish it wasn't. Unless you're a woman and over 80, or you're a relative of the person you're saying it to, it really can come across as condescending, even though I know most southerners don't mean it that way. Believe me, if I thought someone who said it to me meant to be condescending, I would tell them about it. But, because I believe most people who say it mean no offense, I don't say anything to them, even though it does annoy me. I just tense up every time I hear it directed toward me by someone who doesn't know me, like a waitress or a bank teller. I don't like it. But, again, I don't complain, because I know they are probably so used to saying it to everyone, they don't even know they're saying it. It's innocent 99% of the time.

People like this are an insufferable affront to the actual social justice cause (and yeah, I do believe there is one, and a valid one at that). These people get "offended" for fun and profit, and it only hurts the movement they pretend to be a part of.

Amen.

I have a solution! it's called a flamethrower. :3

NoahCoslov Noah Coslov tweeted @ 09 Mar 2018 - 14:22 UTC

Last night, WKU’s Rick Stansbury addressed sideline reporter Laura Britt as “honey” https://t.co/BuEONYpZ7A

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

LoL, Honey, do not exaggerate. ;)

( @kryptik props for your mom!)

Thanks! I agree.

I call everyone Dude. If anyone is offended, they get one request for me to call them what they want. The end.

It's important to distinguish real social issues from the opportunists who take advantage of them.

I was a busboy for my first job.

I asked two lesbians, “can I get you guys some more to drink?”

I received a twenty minute lecture on how they weren’t “guys”. Lol

Lol... I call girls 'guys'all the time, if they are in a group though.

If the word 'honey' is a culturally influenced name, used by most southerners for either sexes, I do not see the reason for the noise making.


I do not know if it is the right of the reporter to be condescending to anyone but how can you ask a coach if he is aware that the team he is coaching is playing against another team? You have basically told the man that he does not know his job. Now he called you 'honey' in return, you want a Pulitzer? Please let me see road.


Both of them condescended, now they should ascend or something similar and she should go for tutorials on how to ask questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09