Wearing Rash-Guards vs. T-Shirt and Shorts

in #sports6 years ago

Whether you train Mixed Martial, NoGi Jiu Jitsu, Boxing, Kickboxing or any combination of these disciplines you will see people wearing various attire, but in my opinion everyone should be wearing rash-guards.

Untitled.png
Rash-guards are not just to protect you from a rash or Mat Burn, but from much more than you might think. Here is a list of a bunch of issues that can be avoided by training in a Rash-guard vs. shorts and a T-shirt.

  • Mat burn. Sometimes take-downs and scooting can result in a friction burn.
  • Scrapes from glove Velcro. When in the clinch or on the ground if the gloves are not taped the Velcro can cause scrapes.
  • Warts. Is someone has warts on their shin or elbow but they are wearing a rash-guard it is very unlikely to spread, the same for the person who does not have them, if they are wearing a rash-guard they will likely not be exposed.
  • Ringworm. Just like with the warts (not that people should train with ring-worm but sometimes they must and do), if its covered it is less likely to spread.
  • Staph. If you are wearing a rash-guard you are less likely to get the mat burns and skin abrasions that could lead to a Staph infection or even worst MSRA. DO NOT TRAIN WITH STAPH OR MSRA Wearing a rash guard does not prevent the spread of these infections. If you think you have Staph, seek medical attention.
  • Scratched. Sometimes people do not trim their finger or toe nails right and you can end up getting scratched.
  • Broken Toes or fingers. When people are grappling and wearing T-shirts sometimes fingers or toes could get caught in loose T-shirts causing injuries. This can be avoided by wearing a rash-guard.
    Aside from all of the issues and ailments that a rash-guard could help mitigate, it also provides compression that reduces swelling. Some other benefits are that it is light weight, quick drying, flexible, durable, naturally antibacterial and water wicking. While a rash-guard is a bit more expensive than wearing a T-Shirt, it is the proper gear for the sport, not wearing a rash-guard for grappling is like not wearing a helmet on a moterbike.
    Well that is my take on it, but I would love to hear from all of you, do you think rash-guards are the best gear to train in or is something else better?
Sort:  

You made an amazing content my dear friend. We sould connect and support each other by follow each other. I already upvoted you and following you, please think about that.Thanks and greeting from @chanthasam

Sounds good to my friend, already following back and I am headed to your blog now.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

I had never heard of this type of clothing before, but after reading this, I am convinced! Thanks for the info.

LOL, thanks. Mosts sports wear them, but the surfers were the first. I am wearing one in the above picture.

I fucking hate if a mofo who's mounted on me has a Tshirt. Not only am I grasping for air cuz he's heavy AF on my chest but on top of that his stupit T-shirt gets in my way. Makes breathing much harder when it's all around your face. I hate tshirts in bjj class really! :D

Exactly, or when you are playing guard and your toes get caught up on his drenched loose T-Shirt, not only cramping your style but potentially injuring your toes.

Great picture! Looks like a lot of work you put in there :)

Thanks, not the most flattering picture and I was not in the best shape at the time but I still placed 57th in that race of over 3000 while dragging my nephew along the way. Fun times, thanks for commenting :)

awesome job!!

58th, my mistake

haha still good!!

Oh, you just convinced me to buy some rash guard soon. 😁 Even if I rarely do sporty stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85