⚾ MLB Championship Series Action - BOS & LAsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sports6 years ago (edited)

1986.gif

It's one of my favorite times of the year for sports. MLB Play-offs. NFL action in full swing. Hockey reborn. NBA awakening from its summer slumber. The only other time I could be MORE excited is the first rounds of NCAA Final Four action...

But I digress.

In my overdue return to Steemit, I thought I'd post here about my thoughts and action on MLB baseball and NFL football. Today, we focus on America's Game.

5363952009.gif 492979902013.gif

Astros vs. Red Sox

With Chris Sale on the mound at Fenway, facing Justin Verlander from Houston, we have a classic big dog match-up. The game likely depends upon which future Hall of Famer can go deepest into the game. With neither hurler likely to blow-up on the mound, I look to whom might have the gas to go longest.

Sale took most of late summer off as the Sox cruised to the AL East title. A nagging shoulder inflammation meant Sale was over-used, so Manager Alex Cora shut Sale down to rest and recoup for the expected post-season run. Mission accomplished. Sale appears healthy and motivated to express his dominance of the diamond.

Verlander has been fantastic this year. A fantasy favorite, Verlander has the ability to go eight innings with high octane. But Verlander has been going since April, and despite the benefits of being in the groove, I see Sale as the more likely lad to pitch deep into this contest. And on that conclusion, I'm taking Boston on the money line @ -114.

efvfv5b5g1zgpsf56gb04lthx.gif 6479972018.gif

Brewers vs. Dodgers

What we learned last night is that the Dodgers are never out of the game. Down by five runs in the eighth inning, LA posted a scary run against the Brewer bullpen and nearly sent the contest into overdrive. This series has the makings of a Fall Classic.

Again, I'm focusing on starting pitching. LA's Ryu has been one of the best pitchers in the postseason this far. And although Miley has been very good for the Brewers, he hasn't been quite as consistent, and is likely to leave after 5 or 6 innings.

Another inference gathered from last night might prove instructive, as well. Manager Craig Counsel was quick to pull his starter last night, and so the bullpen worked long and hard to hold back the Dodgers. Is Counsel too cautious? Too eager to throw the entire tool chest at the LA problem? In any event, the Brewer's find themselves needing their starter to go deep tonight, but what if he doesn't?

I'm taking the Dodgers on the road for the money line of -127.

Good luck with your bets and favorite teams!!

Steemlogo2.png

Images courtesy of sports logos.net
Sort:  

Okay I'm going to upvote this even though I'm not into sports haha. I just want to check on you!

hahaha You're adorable! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29