Dekker wins 122, Van Craenenbroeck beats Odeyn

in #sports6 years ago

1

Belgian success on Lanzarote this weekend. At Teguise the 122 International Triathlon was held on Saturday, a half distance race. The win went to Dutch athlete from the Belgian Itzu Triteam, Martijn Dekker. Lanzarote resident Filip Van Craenenbroeck joined him on stage, holding vice-World Champion duathlon Seppe Odeyn off in the half marathon.

Martijn Dekker took the lead from start to finish. After the 1900m swim, he was the first to exit after 24'29. Manuel Kung and Victor Manuel Gonzalez followed in his wake, the rest lost more than one-and-a-half minute. Seppe Odeyn had 6'30 to make up. Filip Van Craenenbroeck emerged as seventh. "My start was a bit off," Filip tells us. "When I started the race, I was already contemplating at which point I would abandon. I had no speed and was really receiving a beating. I did not believe in myself, but I didn't want to let down my wife and kid, leaving me 7th after the swim."

Dekker gaps 8 minutes on the bike

The bike course was no match for Dekker. On his Ridley Dean Fast and in his Itzu trisuit he put his companions Manuel Kung and others nearly on eight minutes. From the background Luis Hernandez and Filip Van Craenenbroeck came and occupied second and third position, but also four minutes behind Dekker. "After 5km on the bike I was in third position, after 15km second and after the second lap I saw the gap with the opponents growing," Filip continues. "Just ahead of transition Hernandez took over, leaving me in third position."

Charging Odeyn

The closing half marathon did not pose a threat to the victory of Dekkers victory. The Dutch champion finished in 3hr50'26 and took his first victory of the season. Manuel Kung revived with a strong run and finished second, four minutes behind Dekker. At last there was a real battle for third. Seppe Odeyn came charging in from the background to fourth position and had his sightings set on fellow Belgian Filip Van Craenenbroeck. The latter was plagued by cramps, but managed to pull himself together to keep Seppe on a respectable 45 seconds. Third four Filip in 3hr57'01, Seppe fourth in 3hr57'46.

2

Walking due to cramps

Filip finished on the podium, something he had not hoped for. "Starting the run in third, I was very unsure whether or not I would find my good run legs. So I eased into the run looking for a pace I could maintain the entire race. After 2km I was in second position, but about halfway Manuel Kung came over like a tsunami. At that point my focus was on the podium, despite pain and cramps. At the entry of the last lap I saw Seppe Odeyn nearing while I was walking due to cramps. I had to give it all for these last 4km to secure the podium. It hurt like hell! But the feeling of finishing third, alongside with my wife and kid, makes it indescribable. It was a tough race, but no pain, no gain," Filip concludes.

Amber Rombout wins Olympic

The female race was won by Gurutze Frades in 4hr11'19, Anna Noguera came second five minutes later. Tesse Korteklaas took third in 4hr21'02.

Besides the 122 there was an Olympic distance triathlon. Dutch Björn van Vliet came sixth. The European Champion aquathlon 2014 finished in 2hr26'50, three minutes ahead of the first lady, Belgian Itzu athlete Amber Rombout. She won in 2hr29'59.

Results 122 Lanzarote 2018

Original article on 3athlon.be by Hans Cleemput on 18/03/2018
Translation by @T0v3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01