Back on Steemit! Restarting (kinda) Steem Monsters, Exploring NextColony

in #splinterlands4 years ago

Hey!

It's been a while, considering my last post is from 8 months ago! :)

In that time I checked back in a couple of time, but real life has been asking a lot of me and I've spent a lot of time on work.

But then a few weeks ago I thought to myself: "Hey, if I'm not doing anything active with my Steem, I could always sell it." I logged back in, and noticed my last post being about Steem Monsters/Splinterlands. I decided to check in there, and not sure whether to continue playing or not, I decided to sell a lot of my cards. I thought that either I'd end up cashing out, or power up and start the grind again.

Back on the grind!

Currently I'm going with number 2, and after powering up my SP to more than 1000 (who would've thought, I remember being to happy with 400 and thinking that would be my peak), I decided to start playing again. MY account had decayed back to unranked, but luckily I hadn't sold all my cards and I could at least get to playing.


I've managed to crawl my way back to Silver 2, and I'm thinking I might be able to touch gold if I can get a last push in. Managed to pull a nice legendary on one of my first openenings, which was very nice to come back to, too.

I have to say that I'm super impressed with how Splinterlands has been developing, the new cards look amazing (super stoked for the new stuff coming too), elixers are a nice addition, guilds are cool (shoutout to my boys in EARN) and all in all it feels really clean to play!

NextColony

Then, as I was checking out @jlordc's posts (a habit), I noticed something interesting popping up. Something that seemed like a game. Cue me checking out NextColony!

So far, it looks a bit like Ogame (in case people remember that), but it's a bit overwhelming. I've found out that skills aren't the same as buildings (after spending all my resources on that), but I'm not yet sure what those skills actually do.

I had some resources left to spend on developing some buildings, and I guess that's what I should be doing the next couple of games, but if someone could give me some tips I'd be very grateful :).

Oh well, it's good to be back! Let's make the next post take less than 8 months ;).

Sort:  

Welcome backkkk! XD

I'm also not really that much active here on Steem anymore (although I still try to post at least 1 quick blog post everyday for the auto-upvotes heh) but mostly only stay now to finish my daily quest on SteemMonsters and do some quick upgrades on NextColony and Drugwars every now and then.

Gratss on making it to Silver II and hope you will make it to the Gold leagues before the season ends.

I've found out that skills aren't the same as buildings (after spending all my resources on that), but I'm not yet sure what those skills actually do.

Yep! They aren't the same. You need to upgrade the corresponding skills first before you can upgrade it's corresponding building. Say if you want to increase your Core Mine building to level 2, you need to at least have Core Mine Skill level already at level 2.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad to see you back here! Steem has missed you :) Stay away from those crazy games hehe, they take up all your time...trust me, I know...

Hi, @minersean!

You just got a 2.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Welcome back and a pleasure that you are trying out nextcolony. If you have any questions, please ask or join our discord channel:
https://discord.gg/55r9rU2

Happy to start getting to know you!

Hi @minersean,

Thanks for sharing your Splinterlands content, I'm a moderator for the @contestkings community!

Did you know there is a Splintertalk tribe set up by the developers?

The tribe is used to help distribute SPT tokens through a rewards pool to players talking about the game.

When you use the SPT tag in your post curators will upvote when the featured content has benefit to the community.

In the future please consider using the SPT tag so we can recognise the quality of your contributions.


Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13