Gone Too Far? | Jesus In The Eyes Of Church

in #spirituality6 years ago

By the end of my reflecting time today, I was sure something was off. I regularly spend time praying and meditating, and today was more of the same. Except it wasn't.


I started my day with my wife Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) sharing an online message with me from the church we used to attend in Wisconsin. She had just started it and felt that she should give me one ear bud so I could join in. You can find them here

Typically it is something I might need to hear. That is usually how it works out. Today was alittle different because I was feeling put off by some of the wording the teacher was using. There was heavy use of the phrase God's promises and the phrase God's will. This isn't a big deal for most, but that is not how God has wired me. For some reason I latched onto this and finished the message the best I could. As I feel guided by the Holy Spirit to discern what I hear, I usually pick up on the little things.

Stacie D and I went back and forth about this message for a little while trying to figure out what the message was really about and why we felt we needed to hear it. We didn't get any clear idea of what was happening, so we went on with the day.

I continued to pray and seek after what we were looking for. I also listened to a couple of videos on youtube from an Indian Guru. Not that I believe what they believe, but I am a seeker of perspective. If we always stay where we are comfortable, how would we ever grow. I heard great things about people and how we use information to legitimize our actions.

We as a people take in information and then form thoughts. This is a constant struggle because you have to sort through what you believe to be true. For many this is easy. They might be led by a feeling or are easily led by others. For others this may be more of a challenge. It may be built in them to question and to learn as much as they can. This often leads to them not being easily led or easily convinced.


There is an incredible amount of information regarding Jesus. There is even more information regarding God. There are books upon books that are written by people that are trying to explain what God is saying through the bible, or even how God wants us to eat. There seems to be endless translations and variations of the Bible and the information inside. Though the majority might feel that there is one true translation, and that is for them to sort out.

The idea of Jesus is different from person to person. Is He perceived as God and savior, or prophet. Even within the realm of Christianity there is debate on whether Jesus is creator or created. We clearly read the "before abraham was I AM". That still doesn't seem to answer the questions asked by many.

Have we simply made Jesus into a miracle and disregarded Him as a man. 2,000 years ago people might have talked about all the things that Jesus did and concluded with the fact that He died for us. Now there seems to be a shift in presentations that I can only guess has led to other misrepresentations. The most common talking point about Jesus is His birth and His death. Not that many talk about all the things that He had done. In the days that He walked the earth there was reason for great excitement. Jesus had taught a new doctrine that had never been heard before. He was using information that everyone knew, and explained that things were changing. The known church had grown into an establishment much like the modern church. The perspective that God is with us and in us has been lost.


The modern business known as the church is incredibley off track. Not once have I read that each church needs a head pastor, assistant pastor, a board, and supporting staff. Outside Ephesians 4 and the giftings, why do we label every church leader as a pastor as if it is a title and not a gifting. If it is a title then it makes sense that a church board is able to hire and fire a pastor due to it being a job title. Inside the brick and mortar is a well oiled system of structure and doctrine. Not all derived from the bible, but certainly trying to fill the gaps that are not understood.

As we continue to wind our way through time functioning like a business, is there any doubt to why the church is struggling. For many years the church has been influenced by the cultures of the area they are in. A church is Africa is different from a church in Asia or the US. Whether it is small differences in clothing, public prayer, or dancing. Cultures greatly influence the direction the church moves.


Here we are now with 2,000 years of cultural influence and more backward than we started. There are small details of Jesus that I am certain have been forgotten. We seem to focus on the most magnificent aspects and then make a new denomination with an emphasis on that aspect. Much like the transfiguration, they wanted to build tents to each one they saw. They were so excited, they wanted to build a church. Completely missing the fact that Jesus was with them everyday, yet didn't build churches or build tents for everything He did or said.

Most might be comfortable with what they understand to be truth. Is it possible that we have a shared reality, but see it differently. Can it also be possible that we all believe in Jesus, but don't really know Him.

As change continues to come to the modern church we should be aware. There are alot of different things happening and more people seem to be responding to what God has called them to do. There are many aspects to the character of Jesus that we are going to hear about. We all have a different view toward Him. Mystic? Savior? Healer? Teacher? King?

Has the modern church reached the final point in the plan, or is change going to effect everything. Is the church going to fight itself between tradition and change?

As God continues to move us from simply believing in Him to a time of knowing Him...I hope that through discernment we can see the direction. In reference to the term church I mean the body, will we be able to trust the Lord and how He moves, or try to stop it. Be well.

Sort:  

For me, I think the modern church completely misses it just like the Pharisees did. I believe Jesus was teaching the exact same message as the Father. Repent and turn for the kingdom of God is near. All the Father ever wants is our hearts to be repentant and turned toward His ways. Same message as the Old Testament. The Israelites always went their way, got in trouble, repented, and God saved them. I don't think anything has changed at all. I think the people/followers of the living God need to repent and turn...to what? Gods ways. It's the same thread through the whole entire Bible. The church business might get some to repent, but they forget the part about discipling people to Gods ways. Then you just have a bunch of people who believe in Jesus or a Jesus, but that's where it stops and nothing ever changes in their life. There's my rant lol

I agree. I do believe that Jesus was something different than the old testament. A set spart payment if you will. Establishing a faith/love/grace/not works based people. Gal 2:16. There are amazing differences and the most amazing would be the Holy Spirit, great comforter, holy ghost...depends what you read. Just the very idea that we can pray and have discernment is amazing, showing we are infact a new creation is Christ. God is so good, and this subject is so deep. There will be agreeing and disagreeing forever. Be well!

Never was works based. The law never saved anyone. The Holy Spirit has always been. Since creation. But you are correct. The enemy loves division. Fun to talk about...but not easy to do it on this...much better in person!

Yep! I am not too sure what is happening. I have been really relaxed regarding typical everyday Christianity type things, and it feels like God is pushing me to talk more about Jesus anf the Holy Spirit.....but and some. I still feel the same about the bibles construction, and Jesus seems to be transcending religion and understanding. Perhaps another vlog haha.

A lot of really good food for thought here. Just "The modern business known as the church" has gotten my own mind going! Thanks for a really interesting and insightful post.

I am glad you enjoyed it. We need to constantly be thinking about our faith, and how God is being portrayed.

While we don’t agree on all the same viewpoints, I do admire that you are always questioning why you believe what you believe. That is something we all need to do on an ongoing basis.

Right! We should always be questioning. God moves in our lives and we each need to be obedient to however He leads us. It may look different than some, and it is always individual.

You said.."Jesus had taught a new doctrine that had never been heard before." But this is not true, he said in John 7:16 "Jesus answered them and said, “My doctrine is not Mine, but His who sent Me." God said in Proverbs 4:2 "For I give you good doctrine: Do not forsake my law."

Jesus came to bring people back to the Father just like all of the prophets before Him. This was foretold in Deuteronomy 18:18-19 "I will raise up for them a Prophet like you from among their brethren, and will put My words in His mouth, and He shall speak to them all that I command Him. 19 And it shall be that whoever will not hear My words, which He speaks in My name, I will require it of him." This is repeated and confirmed in Acts 3:22-23. The point I am trying to make here is that Jesus did not come to preach something new but to bring what was already there in God's word to a more fuller meaning, think of the sermon on the mount for example. John 12:49-50 "For I have not spoken on My own authority; but the Father who sent Me gave Me a command, what I should say and what I should speak. 50 And I know that His command is everlasting life. Therefore, whatever I speak, just as the Father has told Me, so I speak.”

Thanks for posting these everyday Yeti! I have been enjoying them! Keep seeking the Father's will for your life!

That is amazing, I apprexiate it. I think perhaps I misspoke. I mean not that he was bringing something new, but more something that wasn't being done.

Now that is true, it became more about the man made rules and traditions than doing things God's way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34