Love & Death - The path of Light and Shadow

in #spirituality6 years ago

death.png
(Picture: Margarete Petersen Tarot)

There is something, that we humans - whether spiritual or not - try to avoid by any means, even though knowing, that it can´t be avoided: Death.
Death is not something that happens to us at the end of our life, but accompanies us throughout.
Death is the unloved brother of life - in other words: it is the ultimate shadow.

There are endless methods invented by us, to not confront ourselves with death.
The process though is always the same and it´s called search
First, we try to push away negative things and then we search for the light.
Search is our way of trying to avoid "what is".

If you believe, that your awakening will only come in the form of light, love, happiness, lightness and bliss, then you try to push away the other half of reality.
You may try to do so, but after a while, the pushed away parts will demand your attention.
There is no way to avoid the shadow - doesn´t matter how much you believe yourself to be enlightened.
On the contrary - the "lighter" you get, the more shadows will appear.

Every great spiritual master - be it Jesus or Buddha - went trough phases of immense suffering.
It´s this suffering, that will break your heart open and not your positive affirmations and clever methods of avoiding it.
Even words like healing, transformation and clearing are often used as a subtle way to avoid pain and suffering. In fact, there are endless attempts to ban negative things out of our consciousness.

You can´t talk these things nice to yourself, because in this birth process, there is no option for a Caesarean.
Only when you got the courage to welcome all appearances, feelings and thoughts in your consciousness and let them be, you will reach a great breakthrough.

In the end, it´s the courage to face death and his children pain, depression, sadness, anger, rage and vulnerability
They all carry the genes of their father in them and give you the impression, that something that should not happen just happened.

The thing is, that these emotions are buried so deep within us, that we sometimes can´t recognize them for what they are. Too many layers and strategies of avoidance are covering them up.

Often I hear people talk about love, as if it would be an emotion.
"Love your shadows" and "Love yourself" become under this misunderstanding just another try to counter a negative feeling with a positive one.
To say it loud and clear: Love is not a feeling!

To be precise, love is not even an energy. Love is a synonym for the consciousness that you are - and in this consciousness every emotion and thought is allowed to appear.

Death is the ultimative end and in that a function of Love itself.
Death is the sponge that wipes the slate of Love clean.
Every emotion and every appearance dies through its grace.
Only through death, new waves can arise in the ocean of Love.
In this sense, Love and Death are one and the same.

Sort:  

Hey wow that’s well said @atmosblack, great sharing! It makes me think your name has a deeper meaning that we are now learning ;-) I can’t believe both Gina and Steemify missed your @mention for some reason. However I was guided to your post this morning.

This really chimes in with my own reflections of some deep dark shit that I’ve been through, sometimes I wish that it hadn’t happened and I could all have skipped it. But then it’s to let go of the judgment around it, to see everything with new eyes every moment. As you have pointed out there is value in Death.

I feel that death can come in many forms, and it doesn’t have to be the ‘raw zen type of death’. In the process of letting go I’ve had many times where it was very helpful to allow the light to heal different parts such as the Inner Child. This is where self-love, Healing & transformation (and even affirmations 😊) come through the back door, but they don’t have to negate Death. I feel that Death can be misperceived because it is actually a divine process of healing...

Like you said words like healing and transformation, and affirmations, can also be used to start seeking something, to go away from oneself. However, I feel that it is very valuable to discover their true meaning which is much deeper.

Perfect! Thanks a lot! <3
Actually this is a text I wrote in German last year, when I was going through a very dark night of the soul after the love of my life had betrayed and left me. There are many other texts that emerged out of it and I may translate them into English too in the future.
Yes, my attitude towards affirmations has also changed - especially since after 25+ years in the spiritual field with many great masters, gurus and teachers, Matt Kahn came into my life and changed everything over the past years - not only in my own, but also in the way I´m coaching and teaching my own clients - and also many friends....
Matt is doing a lot of "repeat after me" exercises, where he says intuitively guided messages that are similar to affirmations, but after I while I found out, that these are not the kind of affirmations I was used to in the past, but more like statements of "what already is" - they are not affirming what should be in the future but are just stating the reality of how things already are....
Thanks for sharing your part of your journey!
All Love! <3

@verbaldancing You said, we should go for it and post our deep spiritual shit here. Your words are my command! ;)) Let´s see, if there are people out there to hear.... <3

great article. resteem

I do meditation to find my true self ..
Pray is a good spiritual path.

good post and interesting ..

That´s wonderful!
...and always remember: Everything you can find, is not your true self - because your true self is the one searching and you are your true self already. <3

love this line ''Death is the sponge that wipes the slate of Love clean'' thanks for sharing. good read

Thank you! <3

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 12.12% vote... I was summoned by @atmosblack! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 3.59 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @atmosblack

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05