Marriage is Overrated

in #speakyourmind6 years ago

You want me to speak my mind right now? I will probably wish I hadn't but what is on my mind is I wish I had never gotten married. The only good that has come of it is my two boys who I love dearly. Right now I am feeling like everything I have been told about how to live life properly should be questioned. I am sure I will get over it.

Sort:  

A difficult choice between desire and children.The best solution is to live happily with your children until they get married and then you can marry and live happily ever after

Agreed. I plan to be there for them in the best way that I can. There is no other girl it is just dealing with the one I got is a pain in the ass much of the time.

marriage is just a social construct, and has become a basis of the family unit and society on that.

That is the concept that has me struggling. I have been taught that marriage is for life and can even continue into the eternal realm. I believe that for some couples that is a joyful concept. For me it is feeling more like prison.

there is no eternal realm. There is only your own mind and what you do with it

Your comment comes as no surprise from someone with your user name and previous comment. I appreciate your sharing your point of view. I will continue to choose to believe there is an eternal realm as you will continue to believe there is not. Neither of us has proof one way or another. But that is off topic and I don't want to get into a discussion on the subject.

I need not prove anything, you are the one who requires proof for your claims

No, I don't need proof. The point was we are both operating under a belief system. One that believes in an eternal realm and one that does not.

Burden of proof.

Unicorns exist. If you disagree that is just your "opinion", why would I bother proving they exist? Now I need to go write a scientific paper on the uses of unicorns, be right back.

Haha, good luck. I am a realist who is open to endless possibilities. Unicorns probably don't exist. I've never seen one but they could be out there. I haven't travelled much, lol. It is virtually impossible to prove something doesn't exist. The burden of proof falls on you too, you are the one that needs to prove that there is no eternal realm (aka an afterlife). That's going to be a tough one.

exactly, it's as easy as getting rid of society to get rid of your marriage! simple!

That's not what it means

I know for sure that no matter how rough your marriage might,just hold on those boys that you get out of it and allow that to make you feel good

Thank you. That is a helpful suggestion and the one that I will hold on to as I move forward, staying married, so I can be there for them at all times.

You deserve the best @bbrewer

We just have to live life as if today is the last day,we dont have to live it with regret and sorrow or negative thought because we cannot go back to make things right but we can learn from it and live a happy life.

I know those boys will make you proud and they will be proud to have you as a caring father. All the best man.

Regards @maintain4real-eu

Thank you for the great comments!

What's bad about being married? I just got married this year, now you've got me questioning everything!

I should clarify that I am speaking more in terms of my own marital relationship. I believe that happy marriages are possible and can be a good thing. If your marriage is good and happy more power to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24