Time and Turmoil / Don't Throw Too Many Rocks

in #soulpoetry5 years ago

Can someone please tell
The fucking clock to chill
Time keeps getting faster
Accelerating towards disaster

I don't know anything anymore
When it comes to life's deeper questions
My passions, my direction, my existence
All I know now is confusion

I'm always just too busy
Every day, so many things
I drag myself through each week
And the weeks float away, never again to be seen

And I've forgotten what truly makes me happy
And I've no time for anything I want to be
And I've lost all fuel for my fire
And I've forgotten how to feel inspired

Life on high-speed, it's insane
Like sandpaper on the brain
Just rushing to survive
Never relaxing to thrive

It's hard to write about what I'm feeling
When I can barely even understand what I'm feeling
It's a lot of little things, and always changing
Only time can bring a better understanding

Only time can settle my scrambled mind's imperfection
Give the shifts in perspective to see an accurate reflection
Repair the clarity and peaceful emotions
Restore my creativity and purpose and direction

It was fun throwing rocks in the water
It was thrilling to watch the waves spread farther
As they gradually dissipate into the motionless surface
A simple and peaceful ripple in a mirror usually flawless
But in my impatience and fascination, I threw too many rocks
Waves upon waves became chaos
Now I'm swimming in confusion
I can only wait for the resolution

Image from the free image site www.unsplash.com

Sort:  

Outrageously honest and powerful, Millicow. And I think you may well be describing what many are going through and feeling, but have not expressed, as you have, here. So that is an additional service you have given, in writing and posting this.

Thank you! You make a good point. I'll try to post here more often. I don't always put my writings on here. Most of what I write is for myself to help me understand what I'm feeling and move forward. And sometimes I feel like there's no point in posting them when the poems only end up getting a handful of views. But I guess it's not how many people see it, it's who. All I can do is hope that I'm helping someone, somewhere, someday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39