Motivating factor # 2

in #songwriting5 years ago

Everyone has their own reasons for learning to play music. For some it's a dream they always had and it's on their bucket list of things to do in life. Some people just want to get good enough to play around a camp fire or jam a little with some friends. For others they have loftier ambitions and want to become famous or a Rock stars. Television Shows like "The Voice" or "American Idol" illustrate that the whole idea of being discovered is alive and well. When i was 17 in 1977, i had a talk with my mother who was a Social worker, with the Ministry of Health and Welfare. I told her i wanted to be a musician. She told me that is a fine hobby, but to make a living, i should consider something a bit more solid. I took her advice and got a job, but still had the dream of making it big like my idols. My Mother and my Aunt were both writers, my Aunt Jean was the assistant Editor of the Toronto Globe and Mail and wrote for the Editorial column. My Mother, wrote Suspense
/Murder mysteries but never got published. So the Writing profession ran in the family. In my 30s i went to Writers groups and took Creative Writing courses. i was still motivated to keep playing Guitar and Bass, but my main interest went into studying Songwriting. I realized that most of the Musicians that i liked were the Writers. Lennon and McCartney, Bob Dylan , Paul Simon, Bruce Springsteen and so on. After i went through a divorce in my late 30s , i devoted my attention to becoming a Songwriter. I took a Online Lyric Writing Course at the Berklee College of Music in Boston and got a Certificate in that. In 2006, i recorded my first 10 song Album, "When time was on our side", since then, i recorded 10 more Albums, one 6 song Ep and a Compilation of all my songs plus 6 more tracks. So my motivating factor started with being a Bass/Guitar player, but ended up with me becoming a Recording Artist. I still jam in my Garage with my buddies every week and have done for the past 20 years. But the changes in Technology have enabled me to live my true dreams and become a recording Artist. I didn't need to be signed to a Record label, i created my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88