Solstice

in #solstice6 years ago (edited)

The June solstice - midsummer in the north - is at 11:07 tomorrow morning. Thursday, 21 June 2018, 11:07 BST (UCT +1)

Welcome, cold Australians, back to the light.

John White Photos Flickr.jpg

I shall do tomorrow as I always do, which is to take a day off every six months. The Solstices are my Christmas, my Eid, my Passover, my Diwali, my New Year etc. and, so long as I live, I am determined to observe solstices, and equinoxes.

I find peace and a rhythm in the cosmic clock. Knowing where we are in the year helps me plan. Over the years, it reminds me where we are in the universe.

I'm not saying this observation is particularly meaningful or profound. I have no obligations of behaviour on the solstice. I might just forego the dawn river bathing, and chill for a full day, regardless. Probably start with a cup of tea.

Happy Solstice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14