Social Media Politics: Instagram VS. Snapchat

in #socialmedia7 years ago (edited)

TRUMP VS. HILLARY! 

The most talked about topic in the last months and now that the election is finally over, we can go back to what really matters, Social Media! (am I joking though?) Well I can't help but relate the election fight to what currently seems to be one of the hottest topics to talk about: 

The Social Media fight of Instagram & Snapchat 

(and also what all of this has to do with Steemit).

Instagram has been going crazy on the updates lately and it is obvious that the anger over the failed Snapchat-deal has sparked a new kind of motivation to copy & crush them. I’m not sure if you’ve seen, witnessed or noticed what they’ve been up to, the changes they implemented and how they are completely fooling with Snapchat, after Snapchat rejected Facebook’s $3 Billion offer.  At a rapid pace they are implementing new features, such as the „live“ feature  they announced two days ago and is currently being tested among a test-group and will be available by next week.

Here is a short summary of what's going on:

CBS News: Instagram takes on live video streaming!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2BnbWN8ZqRc

The snapchat-like self-deleting picture, Boomerang...

...the DM feature of course and the „Repost“ notification whenever you screenshot a picture!


Also not too long ago they implemented the „business account“ feature, „push notifications“ and the „5 Accounts-Manager“ that many people still don’t know about, and my personal favorite, most useful feature as a brand builder. I wouldn’t be surprised if soon they will announce „Insta-filters“ in the attempt to copy and kill Snapchat, if they can’t buy it.


Now comes the fun part! SOCIAL MEDIA POLITICS:

Social Media is currently playing the politics game and I am loving it! After attending SteemFest I'm allowing myself to say that our Steemit-community is made up of people who think outside the box, who question the system, government, look behind the curtains of politics, economy and especially media. We know that what the news say, what the media portrays has a reason and people behind it, we know that it's about shifting the attention of the people and we know that important decisions, revolutions and major changes regarding the world happen when we are distracted.

So here is my fun (don't take it too serious, or personal) theory... 

in which the attention of the people is drawn to the INSTAGRAM (Trump lol) VS. SNAPCHAT (Hillary lol) WAR! Now meanwhile everybody is talking about who has the better features, filters and settings, silently a revolutionary concept is at the rise, that will disrupt it all very soon. A new social media, with an "uncopieable" feature, called BLOCKCHAIN... and yes I mean 

STEEMIT!


Theory, theory, theory, I know!  BUT what I know for sure is that it is going to get reeeaally interesting in 2017 and I’m excited for it. 

I hope you enjoyed my thoughts on the topic, my conspiracy theory if you can call it that, and I would love to hear yours, so please feel free to drop your thoughts below

_________________

Much love as always,

- Mrs.Steemit
 


Sort:  

Since Facebook (= Instagram) wasn't able to purchase Snapchat, they have simply decided to copy their successful features and just implement them into their own app - and it worked, snapchat basically can't stop them from doing that!
Very interesting topic, and I like your connection to Steemit!

Thank you! And I agree it's very interesting to watch the battle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15