Social Media Tip #5 Promote Your Work.

in #socialmedia8 years ago (edited)

We Need Eyeballs on Our Content.

You just spent 2-3 hours writing an amazing piece of content, created a video or podcast. You publish it and no one is seeing it. This is the tragedy of the artist. We work so hard on our craft but no one truly appreciates what we do.

Throughout history every great artist from Michaelangelo to Michael Jackson had a patron. Today we call them promoters in the music industry or influencers in the social media space. These are people who can help bring attention to your creations.

In our world of the internet the influencer is the one that is constantly being courted. On Steemit we call them Whales and Dolphins. For this article I am going to discuss promoting outside of Steemit. "Randy why would you promote your content outside of Steemit?" We want eyeballs on our content at all costs. Steemit is great but it is a tiny ecosystem compared to social media as a whole.

Courting Influencers

This is a practice that has been going on for millennia. When you wanted to grow your influence in the kings court you needed to build relationships with the courtesans or influencers. If you are serious about having your content discovered then you better start building relationships.

Influencers are one way to get your content noticed. Over time you build up influence because of your association with these more influential writers or content producers.

Different Types of Online Influencers.

Take Control of Your Personal Brand Online.

There are some serious influencers on Steemit. There is a great tool called Klout which ranks our influence on the internet. Klout gives us a score that can help you keep track of your gaining influence across social media. Over time the algorithm will notice what subjects you are influential in. This can help you mold your brand. Pick 2-3 subjects to talk about constantly and stick to them.

Top 9 Influencers on Social Media for Bitcoin According to Klout September 5, 2016

Now I know that I am not the seventh most influential person in Bitcoin. But I have been on the Bitcoin list for over a year. The reason is because I know how to promote my content online. The Klout, Google and Bing algorithms see me sharing Bitcoin related content all over the internet constantly. I am my own best promoter! My goal is to truly be an influencer in Crypto and I am well on my way.

I personally spend twice as much time promoting my content than I do creating it. It makes me cringe when I see people complaining that their content is not being seen. If I ask them where they shared their content, the answer is usually Facebook. If they are savvy maybe they include Twitter. Folks that is only the tip of the iceberg.

Did you know there is no penalty to share your Steemit blog posts to other blogging platforms? Why not take your content to Blogger, Tumblr, Medium or Wordpress.com and give a citation at the end of the blog post. This citation has a link back to the original post on Steemit. I don't recommend doing it the other way around. Let Steemit be the first place you publish your content.

Then once you have done that, start sharing your content everywhere. Here is a list of sites that you can promote your content to that will help you build influence.

  1. Google Plus (Super Powerful)
  2. Twitter (Google Might Index Your Tweet)
  3. Pinterest (Google Loves These Links)
  4. Scoop.it
  5. StumbleUpon
  6. LinkedIn

These sites are just a start to promoting your content. When you really want to take promotions serious there are even more ways to help people find your content. The key is to let Google and Bing know that your content exists. Which in turn helps you rank higher in the search engines.

If you want to be a true influencer on the interwebs then you have to put in the work. The money on Steemit will come if you put in the work. The more important part is that you start building your personal brand today! Start on the road to becoming an influencer yourself.

Keep Steeming Steemers!

Randy Hilarski
$200 Social

Sort:  

Excellent info Randy - it's too easy to forget about the outside world once inside Steemit. Good to remember the bigger picture!

I appreciate it. The web is huge and we can gain many fans if we just reach out a little

You're right @hilarski, aside from promoting your content you are also promoting steemit.

Really great content, nice work!

Good post... Promote your work.
With that said.
Check out this inspirational poem for steemeans that I wrote a few days ago.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@echoesinthemind/broken-wings-dragonfly-photos-poem

Thanks, Great post!

I can tell you are seasoned. i like your work.

Thank you Luis! Seasoned like some good carne asada!

More than seasoned... You are ready to digest lol...
What kind of seasoning would you use for carne asada? Mouth salivating
Pico de gallo with cilantro goes well with everything after its cooked.

That sounds great to me! I used to love a good mango sauce, Panama style but I now have an allergy to mango. : (

I have heard that from a few friends from Central America, I have never tried it with mango but will try it surely. Mango season just ended in Florida :(

You pretty much answered my question before I ever asked it. Thank you.

Hi Randy,

Over the past few days, i've been obsessed with your blog posts. You're one of the few people I would actually recommend my followers to check out. I can definetely see one of your posts becomming the next big thing. And as you said in this post, you need to build connections with influencers. So before you become famous and all, I feel like this is my only chance to ask you.

Would you consider publishing guest posts if the post is really good? I'd be honored to post on your page and help your followers out. I would love to know what you'd like to post about next and maybe you could give me a shot at writing for you. If you're interested, email me at [email protected], or direct message me in Steemit.chat. If you think this pitch completely sucks, let me know ;)

Thank you.
-Nathan from SteemRocket

you spelled clout wrong in your keywords

The website to measure is called Klout. That is the keyword I am targeting. Thank you for the heads up though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58