Social Media Tip #1 Collaboration

in #social8 years ago (edited)

Collaboration Can Take You from Ordinary to Extraordinary

For the last five years my wife Anabell Hilarski and I have built a niche marketing business online that has provided us with a nice living and some amazing friends. I see peers who struggle daily and are miserable as hell. Why do you think that is?

It is because they ignore the one part of social media that is vital to success. They ignore the word SOCIAL!

You see there are two words in social media and the one many marketers and online people push is the word media. It is because they do not want to bother building relationships. They just want to rake in profits without having to go the extra mile and build something lasting.

Social Media Offers the Chance of Success but You Have to Put in an Honest Effort.

It does not matter what social media channel you are on. You will find the people that can and the people that can't. The ones that can't are generally pretty negative or sit back and become envious voyeurs. While those who can build up a substantial following over time do well.

This is what Anabell and I did. We did not have success online overnight. When I first began I had a few clients that provided us the time and resources to build our presence. A few of these clients had access to hundreds of thousands of followers that they allowed me to leverage for our brand in an ethical manner.

I began to see the power of collaboration. Here I was hammering out content, making my clients look great online and they let me have access to their fans. So I began reaching beyond clients and started to blog for other sites with zero financial reward.

An amazing thing happened over time. Our followers and income grew exponentially. We are far from being what Westerners would consider wealthy but we are definitely rich compared to the people in our community. Many dream to be their own boss, well this is how we did it.

11 Ways to Attract Collaboration Opportunities.

  1. Introduce Yourself minus a sales pitch. Be authentic, people see right through BS.
  2. Share other peoples content without needing anything in return.
  3. Be a cheerleader for those who produce great content.
  4. Blog about people you admire.
  5. Use sites like Klout to give High Fives to your peers on Twitter.
  6. Make lists of your favorite bloggers, people, artists and mention them with a link to their site or social media.
  7. Mention, Retweet and like content from your favorite people or brands online.
  8. Make content like images that feature a quote from a person you admire and would like to collaborate with.
  9. Make videos talking about someone you admire with links to their content.
  10. Ask to collaborate!

Collaboration Opens Doors.

Now you may be thinking that this is nothing other than kissing ass to get ahead. Well if you think about it human nature is the same offline and online. Believe me content producers are busy folks. Sometimes it takes a while to get noticed.

If someone decides not to collaborate with you don't get bent out of shape. Persevere until you find people that do.

The key question is, "do you want to be the lone wolf trying to survive alone, or do you want to run with a pack of wolves?"

Start collaborating and build your pack. I know my pack is a bad ass group of content creating beasts. We genuinely care about each others success. Now get to work finding and bringing together your pack.

My Website
Anabell Hilarski
Twitter
Facebook
Google Plus

Sort:  

Great advice. I know who people who can and DO the things you said and they do well. I know others who can BUT don't and they continue to muddle along. I know one person who is constantly using his platform to give shout outs to his friends and people he likes and his platform grows. I know another who never does, even despite me telling him to do so, and he continues to muddle along. Collaboration is key in social media!

Thank you Jeff, this is exactly how you and I got to know each other. I followed you for years, commented and became friends with many in the community. I gave you some tips on social media. Connected with TDV groups and then one day you visited Panama. Boom, now I consider you a friend. Amazing, how that works.

Thanks for your excellent advice Randy. Since you walk your talk it makes your experiences you are sharing ever so more valuable. I'm glad we have you and your wife as part of this exciting community.

Looking forward to see you thriving on here ;-)

I would love to see her blog here as well but she only feels comfortable in Spanish so I have my work cut out for me. Thank you for the support and kind words.

I think we are already pretty multilingual in here. Before long other language posts than english will be upvoted as well. I've seen a bunch of pretty good turn-outs in german which is my first language ;-)

when you have full support of your loved ones then success will certain kiss your feet... my wife is also supporting me with my business... wish success for us too..

You understand how difficult it can be sometimes but my wife and I know that working together magnifies our strengths. I would not want it any other way. Sometimes we quarrel but that is a normal part of life. Keep building!

I agree :) Absolutely spot on Randy!

Thank you, loved your latest post! Hey everyone read it and give it an Upvote Blasts from the Past, Lessons from Running a Bar at a Young Age

Thanks Randy! I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the support by the way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55