You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Who Owns What?

in #soapboxing6 years ago

Yes, suffering is a path out of ignorance that is open to all, and is really inescapable no matter how much we try to stuff it away with our pleasure seeking behaviors. But I don't agree that it's necessary to reach a certain level of suffering to see the light. It is a way, for sure, but not the only way.

Another way is to simply be curious enough to find yourself walking up this path (of self discovery), though this is certainly a rarity compared to the suffering path. Others may simply be destined to self-realization through some combination of circumstances surrounding their lives (that needn't cause too much stress or worry for the individual) and innate tendencies (or "genetics", if you prefer), as may be the case with individuals who are raised by parent(s) who are aware of our true nature.

That said, it seems at the moment as though alternatives to the suffering path are a mere drop of water compared to the ocean.

Sort:  

I only know my own perspective required some suffering, but you are right I shouldn’t assume it’s the only way. We get stuck in our own perspectives no matter how enlightened we think we are 😂

True. I'm guilty of that, too.

I'd go so far as to say that most of those who think they're enlightened are generally more guilty of psychological projecting than those who give no time to such ideas. We may believe, or be heard saying, that people are this or that or that things are this way or that way, but what we're often really doing is shifting blame away from ourselves onto others (for qualities that we resist inside of ourselves) or fitting our concepts of reality to our idealistic views - a type of ego gratification.

I don't mean to imply that this applies to either of us; rather, that it's something to look out for in ourselves when we feel that we're enlightening the world with our words or through some other form of expression.

I always try to keep space inside of myself for catching my own bullshit and even then it's virtually impossible to know if the words that flow out of my mouth are without hidden agendas or intentions of somehow strengthening psychological defenses. One's unconscious can operate quite subtly and often slyly, to put it lightly.

A more succinct way to say all of what I just blabbered above: I try to be honest, to the best of my abilities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70463.21
ETH 3549.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.87