Serious Matters, Fun Times, Saving Lives!

in #sndbox-alpha6 years ago (edited)

received_10156444426578281.jpeg

Life can be deadly serious. However, MercyWorldwide volunteers know how to have a great time while educating themselves on serious matters such as First Aid and CPR. On the beautiful Southern Californian evening on May 30th, 70+ MercyWorldwide volunteers met at The Pasadena Hilton and were trained by American Red Cross staff in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

received_10156444425098281.jpeg

The room was packed and buzzed with excitement as everyone took their seats (we even had to set up more rows of chairs!) The Red Cross staff did a great job educating us all about CPR. They covered many topics, among them: the importance of consent for treatment, how to approach a scene where help may be needed, questions to ask the person in distress if they are conscious, matters to consider about your own health and safety when helping someone, questions about liability, information to note when calling 911, and finally, how to actually perform CPR.

20180530_194006.jpg

Then we actually got to practice! At first, I have to admit that I was a little nervous. Which really shows how important it is to actually practice the act of CPR, and not just see a slide show about it. I mean, if I am nervous to touch a "dummy" then imagine how I would feel with a real human being?!

So, we all got down on the floor in teams of two to save the life of our plastic "Friend." We practiced several rounds of CPR, and by the end we were much more confident that we would know what to do if a situation arose requiring us to act.

received_980212072141303.jpeg

Knowledge is power, and it's great to be empowered to save lives!

steemusafooter.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

Sort:  

@denisechips You have earned a random upvote from @botreporter & @bycoleman because this post did not use any bidbots.

That knowledge is really important, though in my humble opinion I wish you do not need to use. 😯

I had my first aid training few years back, hopefully we get a refresher soon too.

Way to go @denisechips! It took me some time to find you on the group photo. Hehe

Thanks so much @arrliinn! 😊 Yes, indeed, I, too, hope I never have to use the knowledge, but am glad to have it. All the best to you 🌸

Knowledge is truly power and basic first aid knowledge is something I think everyone should learn in school

I was a certified Para Medic in my twenties, but havent re certified since my 30's but it was something I was glad to do back then

Very cool that you were a paramedic @tattoodjay! I agree, I wish it was mandatory to be taught in schools. My kids learned some things through Boy Scouts, but never in school. I also wish they taught basic budgeting and economic principles in schools as a standard class as well.

Yes I agree all of those should be compulsory subjects

oops and I forgot tip!

Hi @denisechips! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Market Friday Church Fair On The Green Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

These basic things are a must to learn for everyone and great to see many people are learning that incredible :)

This simple training saves countless lives and well done for giving it a go. CPR should be taught in schools to every single kid for two reasons. One they may actually save someone's life and two it's a great way to teach them that other people matter just as much as them.
Well done on completing the training. My vote is worth little but I can spread the word. Resteemed.

I totally agree with you about it being taught in schools @molometer. Thanks so much for your continued support & encouragement 😊

This brings back a lot of memories! My dad taught CPR many years ago and had a "Sussy Anne" aka Resusci Anne. She looked a little different back then. I should probably take a refresher course. Great post @denisechips!!

Thanks so much @deerjay! "Sussy Anne" ... I like it! 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87