Unexpected Intrigue - The Final Installment From Devetashka Cave - Bulgaria

While I was quite awestruck by natural beauty of Devetashka Cave, I found myself freakishly intrigued by this dilapidated building near the cave's entrance. I am guessing it was some kind of storage room from back in the days when they used this place to house oil tanks.

Devetashka Hut 1.jpg
The collage of textures is what drew me in...wood, brick, plaster, worn paint, the scrawlings of visitors past...GORGEOUS in its own way.


Devetashka Hut 2.jpg
The artistic style of this icon of the Madonna and Child seemed perfectly appropriate. Gold leaf might have been a bit over the top.


Devetashka Hut 3.jpg
The structure wasn't very big so I could inspect every square inch of it. On the side wall, there were some significant chunks out of the plaster. I took some editing liberties with the color on this shot and it ended up looking like a deranged Cookie Monster.


Devetashka Hut 4.jpg
This is the hole that the stupid kid in the horror movie sticks his hand in on a dare...we all know how that ends. I do regret not shining a light in to see if there was anything interesting to see.


26236843_1760469534261060_1365629952_o.jpg
I thought I would leave you with more of the natural wonder while still catching a glimpse of the storage room from afar. The river Osam runs through the cave...


Devetashka Hut 5 - River.jpg
...and continues north-west where it flows into the Danube.

I hope you enjoyed this series. I know I did!!!

Want to see more from Devetashka Cave? Check out my previous posts:
https://steemit.com/abstractphotography/@samanthajbarnes/i-ve-gotta-be-me-still-more-from-devetashka-cave-bulgaria

https://steemit.com/travel/@samanthajbarnes/not-your-average-hole-in-the-wall-more-from-devetashka-cave-bulgaria

https://steemit.com/smartphonephotography/@samanthajbarnes/going-artsy-dramatic-and-abstract-with-my-smartphone-devetashka-cave-bulgaria

Want to check out more on a 2 1/2 month long trip I took through parts of Europe and mainly Bulgaria with fellow Steemian, Brent Sanders? Check out our pages: @samanthajbarnes and @brentssanders

Some photos previously posted at:
https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100008940904112

!steemitworldmap 43.233698 lat 24.884892 long Devetashka Cave d3scr

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #smartphonephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Sunday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 6/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 18:30:51
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 127.89/200.00
Total Photos: 10
Total comments: 32
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.86 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=samanthajbarnes
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=unexpected-intrigue-the-final-installment-from-devetashka-cave-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

The Madonna and child there made think of how monks used to keep human skulls in their rooms to remind them of their mortality. That there is a truth a holiness inherent in decay. The black and white with the arches by the stream was my favorite. I thought it would be a cool place to just be for a while. In solitude or with good friends. Nice! Peace and Love and Liberty

Grounded humility.

I converted that photo to black and white at the last minute...I really like it. I was a cool place to be, indeed!

Thats such a cool place, awesome shot si love some cool decay shots

I knew you would understand my fascination.

Thanks for your comment and all of your comments in the last 6 months! All of your support has been amazing. Happy New Year to you and yours!!!

Your welcome and Happy New Year

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82