More than one too many

After three weeks of near constant rain last week was really hot. Still with couple downpours, but hot. Moisture plus warmth - perfect conditions for fungal growth.

Inspired by this post Picture Stories #153 - Funky Fungi by @jznsamuel I thought I could take some pictures of mushrooms too. Opportunity arrived this Saturday as I was going to the forest anyway to extract a nice rock I spotted a week before (why I go rock hunting to the woods is another story :o) ).

My intention was to take picture of any fungi I could find along the way. I know there are edible ones in this forest, but I assumed locals picked them all up already - they get up at 5am and get back home with full buckets of mushrooms after 2-3 hours and I started near 10am - way too late.

Polypores
tswwnsoquq.jpg
l2cic93j7h.jpg
Some other tree eating mushrooms
d68bge9she.jpg
fehe488xf4.jpg
This weird specimen
8wxg1xddyr.jpg
Don't ask me what these are, I'm only interested in mushrooms I intend to eat :o)
06iil15zzm.jpg
6tnsict3hb.jpg
gt9t3mq455.jpg
There were many others but not all looked nice enough to be worth posting here.

And then I found these:
0zuxrc9cm4.jpg
Mushrooms have this nice feature, that when you find one, there is usually more nearby - if they cooperate with specific trees you can expect them along the roots, if they just find nutrients in the ground they can form fairy rings. I started walking around. Oh boy! That was a mistake. After several seconds I felt bites - big ants decided chewing on my boots was not enough and they moved up my legs. I realized I'm standing in the middle of the ant super-highway and the colony is only two meters away. Thankfully the soldiers trying to fend off my intrusion were not hellbent to kill me and once I run away I could expedite them with not much effort.

Not far away I walked into very dense young hornbeam woodlet. This is the first picture I took there:
owt4ohjonz.jpg
How many leccinum griseum (does it not have any normal English name?) can you spot in this picture? How about this one? :o)
7sd3o84dgc.jpg
There is some primal hunter-gatherer call when I see so many stuff to pick. I ended up with a bag full of mushrooms moving only several meters. Of course I have not reached my intended destination before I had to go back home.
ambrxv9z4y.jpg

Sadly, picking up is the only fun part of the work; cleaning, cutting and preparing to dry - not so much. And I still had to go back for my rock.

Next time I had to choose the way around, actively avoiding any places where mushrooms might grow. I picked up the rock but on my way back, even though I still tried to follow used paths, I found some more of the same mushrooms, some early larch boletes
e8avcsta8o.jpg
and plenty of lurid boletes. The latter, while technically edible, can cause some problems when not cooked enough, so I leave them, especially considering there was so many mushrooms without questionable toxicity. They look really nice though.
odoe3x3pns.jpg
2z37uvls5m.jpg

The season for mushrooms barely started so I think there will be more opportunities to catch some nice photos of various fungi.

Sort:  

oh wow, so much variety and awesomeness in one post! i can not help but imagine you as the little red riding hood or Alice in wonderland in the midst of nature's bounty.... :)

Ha ha, yeah, covered in mosquito bites, nettle stings and scratches from tree branches. They never mention such details in fairy tales :o)

nice mushrooms !! Actually every mushroom can not eat. some are poisonous. Eating mushrooms are very nutritious food. Thanks for sharing....friend.

Congratulations @miosha! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13