CHRISTMAS TREEsteemCreated with Sketch.

CHRISTMAS TREE

A tree sparkling bright
Lighting up the night

Christmas carols sung
Ornaments carefully hung

Presents under the tree
Is one for me?

My gift couldn’t be boxed
Or purchased at any cost.

When the evening was done
knowing my parents had fun!

Was the precious gift
That gave me a lift.

Photos taken with my Samsung Note 9.

In September we needed to move my Mom to a nursing home. Her Parkinson’s and Parkinson’s dementia had progressed to a point where we could no longer keep her safe at home. We were fortunate to find an excellent nursing home that also offered assisted living for my Dad. Together they moved from their home to start the next chapter of their life together.

On Friday night the facility held a Tree Lighting party for the residence and their families. It was a very festive evening. There was music and a group of Christmas Carolers roaming the facility. Father Christmas made an appearance.

It warmed my heart to see my parents enjoying themselves. My Mom responded to the music, keeping time with her hands and singing along. My Dad was thrilled to see Mom present and enjoying herself as the fog of dementia miraculously lifted for the evening.

Originally posted on my Bearshares Blog

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm so happy to read all about your mom's and dad's happy moment together. Indeed I would say it was a miracle. A gift from our Lord. May they have more of these moments in the coming years. Your dad looks very happy too. I can feel for him, what he goes through everyday. May God bless them both always.

Thank you, it was a great evening for him. He loves to see her enjoying herself. He is thrilled that the facility offers opportunities for them to do things together. Both my parents are very religious and would agree that it is a gift from God.

Posted using Partiko Android

You know you're getting good presents if they're already glowing! Ha ha.

I'm sorry your mom is going through Parkinsons. It must be really difficult for your dad to see that. It's nice they still get to be together though!

Thank you, the hardest thing was realizing that we could no longer care for her safely at home. Finding a place where they could still be together was a blessing. He now gets to enjoy her company. Both my parents are extremely devoted to each other.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @emergehealthier!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.560 which ranks you at #15505 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 98 places in the last three days (old rank 15407).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 277 contributions, your post is ranked at #215.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@emergehealthier You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82