Drawing Greek Mythological Creatures - The Harpie

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Personally I love mythology. The stories are extraordinary, with fantastic beings in them, that leave much to the imagination of those who interpret it and usually leave you with some strange moral learning.

This is not the first time that I have recreated something out of a myth that I read about, I remember that a while ago I was almost obsessed with Celtic, however, more than the "fury" of the story, I loved the fact that I could create inspired by ancient art ... Here I am rambling, returning to the point again, I based this illustration on the Greek mythology "The harpies".

arpia.jpg

The story tells that one day a King betrayed the trust of Zeus and he decided to punish him (as a rare thing), so he sent him to an island full of food, however, and this is where our half-bird protagonist acts, he disposed of a zoomorphic monster with the body of a bird and the head of a woman who was in charge of stealing the food before he could even touch it.

Steps

gif-arpia.gif

Processing time: 2 hours.
Materials: Pencil, marker and rapidograph.
Support: White Cardboard.
Size: 21x14.4

There are some versions that say that the harpies were horrendous and dirty beings and others that were magnificent creatures, I pretended the last one, becuase I could not really imagine an aesthetic way to the other version.

arpia.png

Forgive the quality of the image, at some point I will have a camera with better resolution.

a3e4c16f-32d9-4261-bb9e-8eed6187c311.jpg

I hope you like the drawing, and here I one picture of me with it (One of the few that you will see, hahaha). Greetings and a hug for all❤

Collage made with FotoJet

firma transparente.png

Sort:  

Dear Artist @sawcraz.art ! This post has been upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

Dear @fineartnow curation team, Thanks so much for your support, I hope we cross paths again very soon!

I love the drawing, but she looks so sad, I guess that melancholy fits well with this kind of character.

Thanks so much, Yes I also think it fits with the kind of character I'm creating.

very nice, @sawcraz.art :D i like her sad expression <3 the detailing is lovely also, and now i can read the text, i agree with you, it is nicer to think about the harpies as some wondrous creatures instead of monstrous !

i drew them once too, i think. they are fascinating mythological creature to me, as well :>

Ow, i would like to see it then someday <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @sawcraz.art! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

What a great depiction. I like the sketched style of it, as if it were from a traveler's notebook, but what really stands out to me is how you made her both bestial and feminine. Most depictions I've seen tend to avoid that balance go too far one way or the other.

Thanks so much!!!! Im so glad you liked the style and the balance late but sure hahahaha<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02