What's Going On With Leeds / Bradford Airport?

in #shtf6 years ago


In the past few years I've noticed the occasional C-17 or A400M performing several approach / aborts / loops for Leeds/Bradford airport. I also witnessed a Eurofighter Typhoon low and slow with undercarriage down a few years back to. The activities seem to flare up around Summer time and during the mid-day lull of commercial traffic in/out of the airport.

There was also a couple of Apache helicopters hovering over the center of Leeds 2 or 3 years ago to. Local news stated they were practicing in tandem with the hospital.

In recent weeks however, I've noticed what appears to be a ramp-up in military aircraft performing the same routine. Is this normal military training as up until about 4 years ago I never saw this happening?

Any hoo, bye for now folks,

Mr Paranoid ;)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yeah most large Airports are used as re-fuel points and or runways for exercises.... I used to land in some strange places too.
I know there is or has just been a large exercise on (the biggest ever on UK soil), mainly centred around Salisbury Plain Training Area (SPTA) with satellite stations around the U.K.
For people saying that there are SECRET bases here n there - i always laugh = Every base is SECRET!
I was stationed at a base where some of the locals thought we had UFOs in the hangars... the reality was, the hangars were full of landrovers....

Hi PVUK, thanks for your input :)
Landrovers can look a bit like UFOs......... if you squint really hard, looking towards the sun and after 9 pints of Farmer Jack's 'Special' Apple Juice ;)

the ramp up in the last few weeks were a joint military exercise with the Canadian Air Force including this C17.
LBA is a strategic reserve military location due to its proximity to USAF Menwith Hill listening station near Harrogate.
Rumours abound that the much-vaunted extension to the runway a few years ago was more for the military than for civilian aircraft. There are also a number of secret military installation around that area.
Hope this helps :-)
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-leeds-44093154

Thanks @nathen007, that helps clear it up :)
spooky, I passed Menwith Hill on Sunday going for a walk around one of the reservoirs near there.

btw, did the video play for you?
I'm having trouble getting dtube to perform on my Linux system.

It didn't I'm afraid, but I never thought any more about it as I always seem to have problems playing dtube videos. Interesting though that although Im on win10 now, I also have Ubuntu on this machine albeit on a different partition

LOL, I'm on Ubuntu - to ;)

It's my first dtube upload for a couple of months and there are still many niggles to iron out.

Has anyone, I mean anyone at all ever got a video to work on dtube? Everyone I have ever tried I just get a spinning circle and nothing else grr.

Yeah, I had high hopes for dtube...... got the car stickers made and a couple of T shirts printed up; all ready for the BIG 'push' but alas it seems to no avail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30