Woolworths Online vs Coles Online

in #shopping5 years ago (edited)

Adobe_Post_20190523_111829.png

Online grocery shopping is a total must for me.

Up here the shops are few and far between, the choices are limited unless you're at Katoomba and you most definitely need your license to get to the shops unless you live close by.

In my case, I'm not in Katoomba, I don't live near the shops and I don't drive. To top it off I'm preggo, my knee still hurts and my house has a lot of steps.

Up til a week ago I was a Coles girl.

I have a long long history with Coles, loyalty and understanding of how online operates. Sure things may have changed during my time but there's some things that are, to me, common sense.

Once I found myself up in the mountains I immediately thought of Coles Online assuming they have maintained the same standards.

But they actually haven't and I've put up with crappy subs and out of stocks for many years out of loyalty until my last order, when they out of stocked my water AGAIN (I only drink water!) and the delivery driver kept letting himself into my house after I pushed him out already ~ I had enough and decided to switch over to Woolworths.

Woolworths Online

Woolies online.... Where do I start!???

Their range alone shits all over Coles. Almost to the point where it's overwhelming and hard to navigate the website.

Although their delivery price is more expensive if you look at their every day low price, special value products and look at price per volume not price per item it kinda balances out.

They do have delivery saver packages that could end up being cheaper depending on your situation. This is the one most suitable for me.

20190523_120828.jpg

So if I order groceries totalling $100 twice a month that would pretty much be the same if I was ordering from Coles on my usual delivery time slot.

One of the things Woolies does better than Coles is their extensive recipes list. Simply find one you want to try out and click add all to cart and that's it you're all set ~ like this one.

How did my first Woolies delivery go?

After the Coles delivery guy waltzed in my house uninvited last week I wasn't keen on opening the door to deliveries so I asked that everything be left outside. This meant I was under no obligation to greet anyone or even get out of bed although I was up when they arrived.

As instructed they didn't try to drive up the driveway.

This is a new delivery rule ever since Coles drove the truck up the driveway and got stuck trying to get out.

They left my shopping where I asked them to.

20190523_104852.jpg

They knew how to pack the bags properly to avoid cross contamination.

Detergents etc in one bag.

20190523_105247.jpg

Fridge in another.

20190523_105603.jpg

Frozen in another.

20190523_105330.jpg

Light items all together to avoid things being crushed.

20190523_110009.jpg

But most importantly they were on time and nothing was out of stocked.

It was pretty much perfect. I couldn't ask for more and I would have been one proud manager if I saw my team bag like that.

The delivery was done quickly too from parking to getting the groceries up took him about 3 minutes, 5 max. I've had Coles take 5 minutes alone to park and get everything out.

Over all... At this rate and considering my immense customer satisfaction with Woolies, I ain't ever going back to Coles. Woolies would have to really REALLY stuff up my order numerous times and don't deliver me water for me to go back to Coles.

Also I have to say I really liked not having to open my door to anyone and being able to get my shopping when I was ready.

The only thing that annoys me is they charge the card the day you put the order in not the day the shopping goes out. Considering the order can be changed the day before the delivery is due that's just silly.

In my case I placed my order on Monday, changed it on Tuesday night to accommodate my no chewing situation, the shop is about $10 less so now a $10 refund needs to be issued ~ that's just messy. In my opinion this is the only thing Coles does better.

Sorry for the boring grocery blog but I felt a comparison needed to be made.

Also perhaps this will come in handy to someone out there who's been sitting on the fence about online grocery shopping.

bearone.png

MEMBEROFS.png

Team Australia Steem Philippines Steem Silver Gold Qurator Natural Medicine Snbox Alpha

Sort:  

Really glad that the Woolies order worked out for you. I am a little biased as I do work for them, and my wife is one of the shoppers for online, not in your area however.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhh would love to know how Woolies Online training goes ~ obviously doing it better than Coes. My delivery was perfect.

I was Coles Online manager once upon a time and well... shit has changed since my reign.

I did hear from one of the drivers that Coles might be going back to warehouse picking since they reckon it can be done automatically 😑 Not sure if it's true or not but I hate Coles even more if it is true.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have a couple of "dark stores" in Sydney where a good portion of the city orders come from. They are full service supermarkets without any customers at all, just shoppers wizzing around. In your area, it would be from one of the local stores.

It will not surprse me at all if automated facilities eventually take over, but for now its still a real human being doing your shopping.

As for training, we have good resources but as I'm sure you would know from your previous experience, it all comes down to the quality and thoroughness of the team leader.

Ohh dark stores!! That's a great idea!

Not sure how Coles work now but I was with them when grocery was picked from a warehouse and meat, deli and fruit/veg was picked from a "million dollar store". I left when they ditched the warehouse and online went into stores.

Things feel very different now. Less customer service oriented and more money/revenue focused. Then again back then we were building our customer base and reputation and everything had to be held at a higher standard.

Yes! Definitely helps to have a good team leader on board. Good communication between online and department managers is also important.

Well done to you guys. 👌 I hope you don't go automated. I can't imagine bots doing quality control.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah the dark stores work great, I think there are more planned. I know up here coles works similar to us, all from a nearby store. Not sure about in the cities.

Hope your next order goes well also.

Posted using Partiko Android

lol so converted to woolies?? I am a woolies girl too :)

Yeh girl. Woolies ftw!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Back in the UK, most places could easily be reached on foot or via public transport. Here, I often wonder how people who don't drive manage it, unless they live in the city or near one of the big shopping centres. Even then, walking anywhere or waiting for public transport in summer is not fun! How you manage in the hills, I don't know.

I vaguely remember trying a supermarket delivery once and wasn't impressed. It could have been Coles, actually. I don't think I could put up with all those plastic bags. What do you do with them all?

Posted using Partiko Android

I couldnt survive up here without online shopping. I can walk to the shop it takes me about an hour and a bit to get there and back but dont think I'd be able to carry much. I dont actually mind walking. I find not having my license keeps me fit since I'm forced to walk everywhere.

It probably was Coles 😑 If you ever decide to give it another go try Woolies.
The bags come in handy for the cat litter lol but they do have a bagless option and I think they come in and pop everything on your kitchen counter. Might have to give that a go when Im not feeling anti social 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol! Anti social is my default. I hate strangers coming into my house, it's a safe zone and I don't need judging when I haven't kept up on the house work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @bearone!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

My preference is Foodland, our local SA one. I wonder if they do online shopping.

Posted using Partiko Android

We dont have that over here, but see if they deliver!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I used to be a loyal Coles customer too! But now it’s wooolies haha... I do online for woolies as well as in store! But best of all we use woolies cos you can get gift cards with 5% off haha.. and Coles had an annoying coupon system that I complained about and only recently they changed haha
I love that woolies will sub items that are better than what you chosen rather than the cheap stuff hahaa

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hahah yeh Coles just sucks now. I'm glad I switched over. I'll have to check out those gift cards! Kinda looking forward to seeing what they sub now! I feel like a kid when I shop at Woolies they seem to have 3x more stuff than Coles and they're all better. The tissues feel softer, toilet paper too 😂, the only thing I'm iffy about atm is the crappy water dispenser on the 10L woolies jug.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh and Toby loves getting free fruit when we g to the store, I don’t think Coles does it.
They also layout the store better than Coles haha..
If you get Cashrewards you get cash back for shopping online - it’s where I found out about the 5% deal for giftcards. Let me know if you want a referral and we both can get some cash haha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @bearone!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.682 which ranks you at #1609 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1607).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 375 contributions, your post is ranked at #98.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28