Shoe Shots No. 16 ~ Looking Darn Good In The Cowgirl/Country Fair Crowd ~ Original Photography and A Short Discussion ~steemCreated with Sketch.

in #shoeshots7 years ago (edited)

EW1_0108-1 228kb.jpg

Fancy, Stomp-Dancin', WWOT* Cowperson Under The Tornado'd House, Shoes ~


Whether hanging out with the livestock at the County Fair, kickin' it at the funky Country Fair, or dancing the night away in a ballroom discotheque, these shoes are what I'd call a 'Cow-Pasture Classic'

I discovered this highly unique foot attire while wandering around and looking down at the Oregon Country Fair a while ago. I'm pretty sure they are some sort of low-top, hot weather cowboy boot/dress-shoe combination, intended for the warm months of summer.

Then again, the average barnyard cow has more fashion sense than I do. So possibly a large 'nevermind' may be in order on that style assessment.

The Self-Made Cobbler

But I am wondering if someone made these themselves, by cutting and stitching down a pair of cowboy boots, or if they were made this way straight from the factory. They DO look to be well constructed, suggesting an intentional design from drawing board through final stitch and counter-buy. I'm presently prone to lean in that direction.

Though that is not to say that someone couldn't make these at home. There certainly are many talented people out there in the world not working for a factory or other such place, that could pull this off with true footwear 'flanache'. (Panache with a certain flair added in for good measure.)

Whatever or however these came about, they are one stylish pair of leather footies. Though if I was ever fortunate enough to wear them, I'd be sporting a really cool pair of striped red and white socks inside, all fuzzy and fine. Terry cloth would be ideal.

Here He Comes Again

Sort of like in the Wizard of Oz. I'm sure you have all seen that classic opening scene...where the house falls from the sky on the Wicked Witch from one cardinal direction or another. (North. East? Any suggestions addressing this which-witch clarification would be highly appreciated below.)

Actually, I find this all quite interesting to sit and ponder...
To me, these look to be a cowboy sort of shoe. And the Wizard of Oz was heavy into the flying cow, zinging around in the funnel cloud as the Dorothy family looked on from inside the farmhouse, peering out into the the tornado at the outset of the movie. And one year for Halloween I dressed up as The Cow In The Tornado from the Wizard of Oz. I looked good!

And though I don't own any cowboy boots, I did have a pair of Frye boots once, years back. Which look a lot like a similar type of style-boots called Dingos. And a Dingo is a type of wild dog found in Australia. And Australia has a lot of cowboys. REAL cowboys. And cowboys like to dance on their cowboy break's from the herd on Saturday night. Probably wearing shoes like these. Well, at least the girls they choose to dance with on Saturdays' do.

So, this all makes sense on one scale or another, in a Six Degrees of Separation, Down Under, Wizard of Oz, Kevin Bacon-ish, dancing cowgirl sort of way. Steep Duff for a Friday in July at the funky Oregon Country Fair.

Well, thanks for stopping in, and viewing the latest in Photo Phootwear.

~ Finto ~


Have any thoughts about cool, unique shoes, movies with witches and cows and flying houses, fairs, or other areas of our planet where unique shoes reside? If so, please feel free to chime in and Comment below. Thanks again for stopping in for more discussions on Shoe Shots from the amazing layers of the world below our knees.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Post: July 14, 2017 11:45 AM

Sort:  

That was some fun rambling! Haha, those boots definitely have a style about them, no doubt about it :)

Writing posts late at night can lead to interesting results.

Country shooties! (Shoes/booties) I've never seen anything like that before but shooties are a for real thing! I have some pairs myself...just not country style! You're trending in fashion!

Shooties. I like that. Never heard it before. Then again, style shoes are more a thing of running shoes for me, or boots. Though I do have the coolest pair of two-toned Italian shoes I scored from the GW for 'looking good', which I don't most of the time ( :
I like that you said I am trending...and I don't even know it!

Ha, yes, they are a thing! You can even google it and they will pop up! Way to be trendy!

Does it make me twice as cool if I am trendy but don't even know it. Then again, how would I know I was cool then...

Of course it does!! Nobody likes a person who knows they're cool and shows it!

So true, and being clueless sometimes helps even more in all this.... ( :
I'm also a HUGE Amy/Parks and Rec fan. SO bummed when they took that off the air.

I am too! Such a funny show and so sad when it was gone! So many shows like that though now.

Felixitaciones by the dear friend find @ddschteinn those are boots Texan artisan, of low cane, you have a very high cost, I as a young man use a cane to the very beautiful, thank you very much for sharing this beautiful photograph
Have a beautiful weekend excitement

Thanks for the information. I wasn't sure exactly what I was photographing. Just knew they were different and probably pricey. What do you mean of low cane? Not sure what that means. But sounds interesting. Have a nice day.

Interesting shoes! I used to have a pair of shoes similar to this, but they are casual shoes. And they just plain black shoes and not well decorated and beautiful like this. Yes, I agree with you these are "stylish pair of leather footies". Nice post! I enjoy reading your story. ;)

Thank you. Do you still have your stylish shoes? Think you said not. These do look pretty special. And as @jlufer said, probably expensive. Most of mine are boots and tennies. Well, have a fun day and keep on smiling.

You're welcome! It's unfortunate that the shoes were missing! Yes, I agree with @jlufer, it's probably expensive. I always smile reading your stories! Have a wonderful day, too! ;D

These are, without a doubt, the shoes of a cowboy with magical powers.

If it were me, I'd compliment them with a pair of white, mid-calf, tubes socks. You know the ones with the coloreds stripes up top!


Image Source

That would look rather spiffy O :
Though I hate to admit it, I still have few of those from my basketball days. Why I still do, is beyond me, but have I do.

Those are some right fine, going to town all highfalutin shoes! All they need now is a Nudie rhinestone suit!
If you are nor familiar with Nudies here is the history. Dont worry, its a Nudie but not a naughty LOL
http://www.nudiesrodeotailor.com/new-page-1/

They are definitely out of my league! ( :
Greatly enjoyed the Nudie story just now. Thanks for including that. Happy they are opening it again. Hate to see things of such classic history disappear. Old fashioned-ly nostalgic I fear I am. I did see Elvis' suit a year or two ago at Graceland. That whole place was fascinating. Ever been there?
Now I know where all of the classic rhinestone's of history came from too. What history, thanks again.

Those are some mighty fine shoe/boots. It definitely looks like they were hand crafted with love and care. The details suggest as much! :)
I've never had a pair of really good, authentic cowboy boots but my husband swears by his boots. He got his made during Frontier Days in Cheyenne, WY and says they fit like a glove!

These are pretty spiffy. And a boot maker in Cheyenne would know what he/she is doing, that's for sure. I never understood how they could be comfortable with the pointy toe, but as you say, everyone I know that wears them, loves them.

I was completely surprised by my husband's response because he has the worst feet, long toes and broke his pinky toes I don't know how many times...and he says they're the most comfortable things EVER. I have to take him at his word. The man breaks sneakers from the inside out every 2 months!

Wow - love it! I wish I had found this post before payout happened.

Thanks for the nice compliment. I'm glad you enjoyed it. The Shoe Shots are a fun series. And always more to shoot running about on the street. It is hard to keep up on all the going's on here, that's for sure. Have a nice night.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94