LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post185

“Roberto, I am curious, how do you extrapolate and arrive at the conclusion that the energy net was for trapping your soul? Not that I’m saying you are wrong”






Previous Post 184


1172

Alki and the others had a good laugh. “Perikli, he does that all the time. You should have met him when he first started developing his gifts. He came up with all these theories that he gave out as fact, apologising to Cherine’s mother because her daughter would die in a few years because of him and a whole lot of other nonsense. When he comes up with a new theory, then that becomes fact and all he has to say about the old theory is ‘sorry’.”

“I think I am right this time. Ask Solomon. I think his energy net was a crude imitation of a Sparkler. How would that hold a body?”

“He is right Alki. The energy type though is of a much lower level.”

“Solomon, is there a way each of us could have a Sparkler within us without the Sparkler or us being damaged? That way if the energy net is used again, we have an instant way of destroying it.”

“We have learnt how to alter our energy level so as not to damage the souls we capture for you. It should be possible, though I would like to see the Sparklers exchanging frequently, they would not be happy if kept out of the void for long. They also need to feed.”

“Would it help them if I create energy spots in the void, they would not be for the others, only for those who have spent time here, so that they have a quick meal available to them.”

Solomon happily nodded. “They would be leaving your bodies in a weakened state, so it would be a good idea.”

I just could not resist teasing her. “So Sam, looks as if you are about to be contaminated, love.”

“You are never going to let me forget that are you?”

“If it hurts you I will, if you see the humour in it, no.” She gave me a grimace and then her naughty grin.

Niko said, with a quick glance at Dommi. “Talking about energy spots and feeding, I thought we were starving Robert.”

“Some toast and coffee would fill my empty spot.”

“Did you cook Dominique?”

“Yes, why?”

“Nothing. Could I have some toast also please?”

“Robert! What have you been saying about my cooking?”

I thought of ducking back to our motel, but knew she would not let me get away. “Anybody got a cigarette?”

“You need one Robert?”

“Yes Claudia, Dommi hates the smell of them, like garlic to a vampire. It will help keep her away from me.”


1173

“Oh - oh!! I think you just jumped from the frying pan into the fire.”

I grabbed Dommi and kissed her. “What have you cooked for supper love, I’m starving.”

Perikli looked at us, turned to Michaeli, then got up. “I think you are all crazy. I’m going home.”

“Not yet Perikli. I think you would be dead within hours if you do.”

“I cannot stay here. I have a job to do!”

“I’ve been thinking about that. Girls. We need another version of your projection. One that is solid to the touch and that can talk. That way everyone can go back to doing their work while safely sitting here.”

Little Candy came over to me and sat on my lap. “You mean real like this?” She kissed me, her tiny lips a benediction to the pain I was hiding.

“You mean you have already done it? Where is the real Candy?”

“Right here silly! I was just asking.”

“You tricked me!” She got to giggling and I tickled her a bit and gave her a hug and kiss.

I saw his disapproving look so I said to him, “Perikli, now you see what my secret is. They are the ones that make me what I am. Aren’t I truly blessed?”

“I’ll tell you this, if you had not just returned from besting the one man I feared above all others, I would have got out of here as fast as possible. You are like a child, everything is a game and all you want is to be loved.”

“Hey guys, do you think that is a fair description of me?”

As all the Cherinians took their pleasure in answering, Perikli gave up in disgust.


The truth was that I was running out of steam. Now that I was back under our ‘umbrella’ and could relax, the day’s events were starting to hit me. My girls soon sensed it and taking me by the hand led me to our bedroom, all our banter forgotten as they tried to wrap me in their love.

Slowly the shakes took over and I was held tightly by my Diana and Irene. I kept seeing the eye and my girls without arms and it was tearing at me. Dommi and Cherine were wise to me by now and knew I needed this and let me be alone with them, hoping their presence and love would heal me.

As I got over the worst of it, the two of them gently made love to me and it was as if I were the child. It was as if I needed the reassurance that despite what had happened to them, they still love me.

“Shh, my love, it was not your fault.”

“It is. I keep acting foolishly, treating these dangerous people as if it were a game. I’m foolish, I should not be the one you depend on. We should have had an adult protecting you, all of you, even me.”

“Silly, we would have all been dead then. It is the way you are that protects us. Only you could Robbie.”

I let them soothe me, but deep in my heart I wondered if I had not spoken the truth.


While I slept, the girls practised and tried hard. Finally they left me with Irene and returned to the lounge, waking the others and got them all to try. When Annabelle created the first ‘doppelganger’ the girls, all of them, shrieked with excitement, waking me up. Groggy I found myself facing Annabelle who threw herself into my arms and kissed me. This shook me and I pulled her away, looking into her eyes.

“Do you love me Robert?”

“Of course I do. Where the hell is Keith?”


1174

She giggled and drew me by the hand out to the lounge. Annabelle was sitting there with the arms of Keith around her. A few seconds passed and I turned and picked Annabelle up, feeling her weight and kissed her again.

“I feel like taking a knife and sticking it into you.” There was a shocked silence. “Don’t worry, I won’t. Teach me how to do this.” She did and I found it easy. I could not believe how easy it was. I felt everything my double did, but it was entirely under my control.

I took it to the kitchen, grabbed a knife and plunged it straight to the heart. It fell down at my feet dead. I waited, but it did not dissolve or disappear. I’d felt the stab, but it had not hurt me that much. I knelt and felt it. It was still real. I pulled out the knife and willed the wound to close, re-starting the heart. It stood up and I made it smile at me.

“This is perfect!!” I turned around filled with glee to find a room full of people in shock.

“Sorry about that. I had to know what would happen to the original if the double was killed. If your double got a knife in the heart and your own heart stopped, it would not be of much use to us.” I let my double fade away.

“Solomon, could a Sparkler ride within such a double? I am hoping they will not give up on using the energy net. I think they still need the souls. I’ve been thinking about it. Look at how our own gifts have multiplied, why for a couple of years almost nothing and then suddenly we blossom? Could it have anything to do with the exchanging of slivers of our souls? I think I must now have over thirty slivers and I can feel a difference. How can I describe it, as an artist I think I might find my creativity reaching heights I would never have dreamt of achieving. As a Cherinian!! Can’t you all feel it?”

“He’s right!” Affirmation followed by affirmation we all stared at each other with glee.

“Your power has increased by giving of a part of your souls to each other?”

“That is right Perikli. Please, as a Cherinian we do not use the word power, we prefer gift. That way we remember it is something we should treasure and not abuse.”

“You consider me a Cherinian?”

“You are definitely not a spider. That is what he is, your ex leader. He sucks the power out of souls, strengthening himself at the cost of eternal lives lost forever. His crime is the worst possible. If I kill you and your soul is released to the void you are re-born. And so it should continue till the end of time. He steals that!! Oh god!! What am I talking about, even if he steals a million souls his crime is nothing compared to mine!! Solomon, my friend, what have I done!!” My elation was gone within the instant and I crumpled to my knees.

Niko muttered to himself, “Here we go again!” He walked over to me and pulled my face up. The back of his hand struck me with force. It was a shock, but I could not react. The grief at what I had done still heavy within me. Solomon came over and gently took the hand of Niko off me.

“This is not the way. If you had the weight of two hundred and sixty seven million souls on your heart, how would you be feeling?” Gently he took my face within his hands. “Listen to me Robert. I had not realised you thought you destroyed those souls. You did not. We thought you had when we thought the void destroyed them. Since you showed us that the void only finds them an irritant and sends them back to material worlds to be re-born, we stopped grieving for them. Those of my people, they do return as Sparklers, you did not think of that?”

“No. They were sent back Solomon, I did not destroy them?”

“No my friend, you did not. They will all return. I blame myself, we should have told you.” I sobbed with my relief and he held me until my girls took hold of me.

“He killed two hundred and sixty seven million!!”

“Yes, there was a misunderstanding of what we Sparklers were and what your souls were. He was defending his people, the people of your planet and he killed in one blow that many Sparklers and the souls they carried. Perkilis, Perikli, I am sorry, your name does not come easily to me, if he had not stopped us there would not have been one single human being left alive on this planet. We thought souls trapped here in material bodies needed saving.”

“Och Thee mou, we dared to fight him!! This was at the time of the sleep-deaths?” Alki nodded.


1175

“My friend, he reminds us constantly, not only with his words, but with his craziness and with the love that flows from him, that he is but a man. He does not see that he is blessed with gifts that make him something more. Do not hurt him by showing you think otherwise. Ordinx did, tried to worship him and he died, destroyed himself completely. It was a battle that took six months of your time to get him back together again.”

“No wonder he calls the other one a spider. Solomon, if he truly accepts me as a Cherinian it is an honour I do not deserve.”



Next Post 186

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
4th March, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 4th March, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Αν κατάλαβα καλά η Annabelle , μπορεί και διπλασιάζει τους ανθρώπους??

Επίσης ο Σόλομον του είπε οτι οι ψυχές δεν καταστρέφονται???

Sosta - yparhei i leksi sta agglika: doppelganger (i moni metafrasi pou vrisko einai: σωσία)

Vasikos einai Germaniki leksi

To doppelganger einai 'soma' akrivos me to 'original' soma, mono pou yparhei mono gia osos esi theleis. To kineis kai tou dineis zoi apo esena...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75