Little Cherine Book 06 - BPost015

“....On this land there are no wars, no brother raises a hand against another. We do not kill, we see ourselves as gardeners of our Lady, here to care for and tend this beautiful world of hers. The fairies you met, how long would they last in your world?”







Previous: Book 06 - Post 014



3641


Claude answered for us, though we did not like to think he was right. “Not for long. They would be put in cages and sold to the wealthy.” Daniel and our princess both looked shocked. Princess Thina looked down at her tiny feet.

“Daniel, please leave us.”

He rose to his feet. “I have a long way to go. Perhaps when we meet again you will ask me to sit by you? It is not where you come from that counts, only where you wish to go to from here, sweet princess.”

Bold as her lineage demanded of her she looked up at him. “I cannot change an entire nation.”

“These are your forty two companions, make of them your sacred 42, joined in cause with you and return someday to your people with a new truth to open their hearts.”

“I am afraid your words are naïve Daniel,” Domarque said. “At best we can only influence a handful. We were chosen to accompany our princess because we retain the values that make us loyal, but people who live in cities cannot survive with open hearts. There will always be those ready to take advantage of them.”

Daniel pointed at the leftovers. “I gave that to you, how could you take advantage of me?” He bowed to Princess Thina and walked away.

Princess Thina was silent for a long time. This girl child is so different from those of our families and friends. How can living in a palace change a child and give her such depth?

“Captain Erin, if he had not offered, would you have taken his food by force?”

“I would not have my lady. This land is rich and only a small effort is needed to fill our pockets and bellies. What I would do if we were in a desert with no food for you, I cannot say.”

“Princess Thina?” She glanced up at me. “The Captain is right. If the choices were that you starve or we use force to take his food, I would use force and I would be right to do so.” I put out my hand to prevent her interrupting me. “Not only because you are our princess and we have sworn to protect you. Without oath we would still be sworn by duty to protect you as we must for any child.”

“Well spoken Samuel.” The Captain whispered in my ear as everyone audibly agreed with me.

Princess Thina stood up and I saw tears on her lashes, but also the flushed face of anger. “You think because I live in the palace I do not know children starve and beg on the streets? What of them master Samuel? What of your duty to them?”

Noel spoke in my defence, “That is not fair princess, if all men did as you ask, where would the strength come from for them to fight the enemy? There is a war going on and children suffer, just as your soldiers on the battlefield do.”

Claude said, his voice cynical, “Perhaps you should ask those who lead my lady? Those who strut with large bellies, proud of their porcine fat? The only fat people you will see among the ordinary citizens are those who are sick or who have given up and fill themselves with ale.”

Domarque looked stern. “This is not the time to be arguing between us. Charge the princess with your questions when she is adult and able to make changes.”

Claude apologised and then knelt before her. “The stranger spoke the truth, you were born with the soul of a princess. In childish whims I will not support you my lady, but where your heart calls for strength and purity, I swear to follow you.”

She put her hand on his. “Then you will be the first of my sacred 42?” Obviously the words of Daniel had appealed to her childish heart.

We all bowed to her as if in commitment, but I think that if we had known from before what that man Daniel was to start, we would have hidden in the forest until he was well past us. It pleased all of us when, as we walked to find the village, she ran, skipped and played just as any child would. She had frightened us a little by her precociousness.

“Welcome Princess Thina. This is not our home, only our contribution to making your stay here tolerable until you find a way to return home. My name is Alki, this is my wife Marian, the young man is Nicko and this couple are Rose and Wilfred. Five of us here as hosts.”

“How do you all know who we are? We have not mentioned name or rank and yet you greet her as Princess Thina.”



3642


“Captain Erin? Did Daniel not speak to you of Lady Melina?”

“A goddess told you of us? A strange deity indeed that is troubled by mortals.” The comment by our Captain made the five of them smile, making us feel they know something we do not - or should. I was curious and about to ask a question, but the dark youth who carries himself as a son of wealth or power spoke first.

“You must be tired, this is not a time for serious discussions. Rest in the shade while we bring you a drink. Would ale be suitable?”

“No. No ale. For the duration of our stay, only water or fruit juice.” We all gave our Captain sour looks but did not complain. After the shock of losing our princess, none of us were willing to risk becoming inebriated. Still, one glass of ale would have been refreshing.

It was easy to relax with our hosts. The man who named himself Alki has the air of one used to command and yet there is a gentleness about him that draws confidence and perhaps with time, friendship too. The couple, Rose and Wilfred concentrated on Princess Thina. When Rose made to depart with the princess we all jumped to our feet.

“Relax. You may have not noticed the salt chafing your skin, but she is a child. Rose will give her a wash and clean clothes to wear.”

Soon as they were gone Alki explained. “Wilfred and Rose have lost their child. It would be a kindness to them and to the child to allow them to care for her.”

Wilfred did not speak, yet we stared at him with suspicion. “I am sorry, but we will watch and care for her.”

Wilfred nodded. “I understand. I will stay with you, sleep amongst you while you post a number of yourselves to stand guard outside our home. It is better a woman cares for your princess. Or would you have her sleep in a room filled with men?”

We had to concede the point, but we decided five of us will stand on guard at all times. Our Captain included himself in the list, taking the more dangerous second night shift.

The days were peaceful and we relaxed. I shall speak of something some would consider amusing. Of us all there is one the rest envy. He has a charm to him that wins him the most beautiful girls. We do not know if his name is truly his given name, or a nickname given to him by women. Golden was as ever the one to first win the heart of our little princess. It is difficult to grow up in any society without noticing that most of the children of the wealthy, powerful and noble families are spoilt and to be frank, a pain in the arse. Princess Thina turned out to be the opposite of all we’d expected when we took the oath. I watched her with interest. When she wants to do something, she does not demand; she does not even ask if she can avoid it. Somehow she will find a way to make her companion of that moment feel he’d thought of it and she will show gratitude for their thoughtfulness.

If she accepts the mothering by Rose, she treats Domarque as a father. As the days in the sun passed swiftly she grew friendly to all, but those of us who spent our time together worrying and trying to find a way to return her to her parents. Captain Erin, Jan, Thorn, Harvey and I spoke to Alki about our concerns.

“As far as I know there are no ships. There are no towns or villages along the coast, all the human population lives inland. I would not worry though, the Lady Melina is bound to provide you with a way home when the time is right.” I noticed that Melios, who was seated furthest from us gave a small smile. It suggested to me that he knows something we do not and I was curious about that. We had noticed, while travelling aboard our ship, that when we went to our cabins and now, here, to our rooms, he always chooses a corner where he will not be disturbed and does not awaken, even if there is loud laughter or an argument. Yet, when it is his turn to stand guard, he awakens precisely on time.

“We do not have the comfort of knowing or believing in your Lady Melina, so we have to plan for her safe return. No offence intended.”

“None taken Captain.”

Before another word could be spoken, the Captain came to his feet and ran as if demons chased him. For a second we wondered whether this goddess of theirs had done something to him, but then we heard him calling ‘princess, princess’.



3643


Ash and Chant had been playing with her and had suggested they climb a tree and pretend they are on watch for pirates or Perts. Ash had helped her up and then found she could not be moved. She had wrapped herself around a thick branch in terror and could not be coaxed down. As the Captain made to climb and take her by force, Alki arrived and spoke in a voice that commanded immediate obedience.

“Captain Erin, get down right now. Leave her alone.” He stood to one side of her so that she can see him as she hugged the branch. “Thina, do you see any pirates?”

She looked out at sea. “No.”

“Keep watch, pirates are sneaky people and come in fast when nobody is looking. I’ll tell you when you are relieved of duty.”

“Are you the boss?”

“That is right. Keep your eyes glued to the horizon.” He pulled Captain Erin to one side and spoke softly. “You will not shame her by helping her down. I have handled this situation before, allow me.”

Five minutes later he called, “Any pirates yet?”

“No sir.”

“That is strange, our spies reported a ship coming this way, I better come up and watch with you. Four eyes are better than two.”

“Okay.”

Carefully he climbed to the fork and wedged himself in behind her. Carrying on with the game he talked while the feel of his body became a comfort. His arm reached out to show her a speck he thought he saw and on its way back it ended up around her. When he felt her relaxing he called out, “No, there, there, we are looking in the wrong direction, the ship will come from there!” She pulled away from the branch, leaning into him and turned her face to look.

“I don’t see anything.”

“Maybe they also have spies who warned them you are watching out for them. You know what, I bet they are too scared to come now. How about us two getting off this tree and celebrating with a big mug of ale?”

“I’m too small to drink ale.”

“Not if you can frighten away a whole ship of pirates.” He then whispered in her ear. “Pretend you want ale, take a sip and if you don’t like it leave the rest for me. My wife never lets me have more than one mug.” She giggled. “The bark is rough, we don’t want those pretty royal knees getting scraped. Cling to me as I climb down. That way you can watch the horizon until we are too low to see. Is that a deal?”

If I live long enough to have children of my own someday, I learnt an important lesson today. I think we adults often forget that children have a keen sense of dignity and we should try to understand their ways so that they grow up to be nice people. When they stood on the ground, Princess Thina recalled her position and stood proudly telling us of how they had frightened away the pirates and we are all safe for another day. She ended up taking more than a couple of sips of ale and became giggly, ending up on his lap where she fell asleep. It may have been slightly undignified for a princess, but for a child - her arms wrapped around his neck and her head against his shoulder, she looked happy for the first time.

After everyone had gone to bed, those of us not on guard duty sat around the fire. Captain Erin looked moody, something troubling him.

“I nearly messed up today. I was going to rip her away from the branch.”

“None of us are fathers, we are not experienced at dealing with children.” Shida said.



3644


“Oh, I learnt from Alki today, but, I learnt something else on my own. I saw a terrified child who clung to her pride. I gave my oath out of loyalty to the crown, but I am now beginning to feel I gave my oath for the wrong reason. Since this trip began she has shown courage and consideration for us. She has not cried for her parents, never moaned or complained. I tell you, she will grow up to be a queen worthy of our devotion.”

Golden laughed. “I am used to winning the hearts of women, it is the first time a female has won mine. Captain, is it wrong of me to love her?”

“As our princess?”

“No Captain, as a child.”

“We might face a situation where more than an oath is required for us to keep her safe and love is the best reason Golden.” Jan replied.

“We were expected to return in three months. Our trip here has taken a month. Another to return which leaves us only weeks to find a ship. I want volunteers. Four men to check the beach. They will divide into two parties to explore the shore to either side. Another four men must climb to the crest of the mountain. Perhaps from there they can see whether any ships pass by in the distance. If they do, then we must build a boat or raft and go out to hire one.”

“With what funds Captain? No ships’ Captain would undertake such a large voyage without cash.”

He opened his shirt and pulling out a belt opened a pouch and showed us stones that glowed like blood in the firelight. “These will be enough.”

A voice spoke harshly out of the dark. “Put away your stones!” Nicko walked into the light. “I came to ask you a question and saw, it was not intended. Captain, your enemies, do they know where the princess was sent to?”

Captain Erin was still recovering from the shock of being found out, so I asked, “Do you mean here? Not likely. They know she was sent to sea, but the storm sent us off course.”

“If you were followed, would they also have been sent off course?”

That possibility had not occurred to us and we were discomfited by his pointing it out, but now was not a time for us to indulge in our pride.

“The Perts would have sent a ship after us, perhaps more than one. There are also internal struggles and factions who hope to see a weaker king replace our present king so that they can control him. Captain, we cannot call on just any ship we find!”

He turned on Nicko and his voice whipped across in tightly held fury. “How did your people know we had arrived? No! How did they know from before? These houses were not set up in a day. The stores must have taken time to bring here from over the mountains. If you knew about us, why do you act as if you only suspect our enemies are here?”

“Lady Melina warned us…”

“Do not play with us as fools!!” Captain Erin strode forward and grabbing Nicko pulled him to his feet. “Your reluctance to tell us the truth shows you are playing us off against our enemies and against each other, and however it turns out you are the winners. Or have they offered you a reward?”

Nicko did not look cowed by the violence and faced us all with courage. “You were warned Captain, that no violence is allowed here. Let me go.”

Our Captain swung his arm, Jan jumped and grabbed it, calling out, “Captain, look!”

A girl of about eighteen stood across the flames and each and every one of us felt our hearts grabbed by her beauty. Tall, slim, long dark hair with eyes that seemed too large, too black to be emitting the glow they did. Nicko was caught by surprise as we were, for he called out, “Meli!”

“You were warned Captain Erin, I do not allow violence here. You could have been allowed to drown days out at sea, but I took pity on you and brought you here and told my people to care for you. I did so for you carried a child still innocent of the blood your people have shed on my world.”

“We…we have never attacked the Perts, why do you hold us responsible?”



3645


“Who do you think the Perts are? Once you were one, but your kings and your politicians forced them to rebel so that they could have lives worth living. War was not the first crime committed by your people. Cruelty, allowing children to starve so that your city could live in splendour, they were the first crimes. You knew me long ago, but you turned against me, forsaking all your oaths to keep this a world pure and free of hate. Captain, do not anger me further with arguments when you are ignorant of your own sins.”

“It is true there was an old religion that worshipped a goddess Captain. Our priests tell in their books of her and how it was said she gave us life. They claim she was a false god, that only a male god could be a true God.” I could feel my knees shaking as I explained, fearful she would be angered by my words.

“I am no goddess Samuel, and there are no other gods on my world. This however is my world and I have become impatient with your people. These five have offered you nothing but love and succoured you in your time of need. Despite that, because of your own nature you raised a hand in anger against them. You are not fit for such a land. I will remove you all tonight. There is a third continent that knows no life. It is mostly desert and what was offered here freely, there you will have to earn. For the sake of the child I will offer one small gift. Each day you will find food and water enough for her alone. For the rest of you, the land is cruel and it is up to you to find your own. I am interested in seeing how strong your oaths are. Which one of you will be the first to steal what I offer your princess.”

By now all five of our hosts were awake and listening to our judgement. With Alki in the lead they stepped forward.

“Meli, banish them to such a test and we must follow.”

“Perhaps it may do you some good father?”

“Perhaps. The child though…”

“If she suffers it is because they make the choice, I have provided for her.” She turned to us. “Where your enemies are is for me to know and you to find out. If they were close to these shores, then they too will be moved so that they are close to where you go.”

Princess Thina pulled free of Marian and did what none of us had dared to do. She walked to the goddess and stood before her without showing fear.

“I will not accept your gift. If my friends are to go hungry, then so will I. If one of them dies because of you, then I swear I will search for you and pay you back.”

She looked as if she were about to bend, but then we saw her stand straighter. Alki called out.

“Meli! This is not right. Find some other punishment.”

Wendor moved to her as if in a trance. “I feel as if I should know you. Perhaps I was shown a picture of you by grandparents when I was a child. Lady Meli, you claim you are not a goddess, yet you act like one. You hold your people enslaved to your wishes and claim you do it because you want them to only know love. How can they know love if they do not know hate? How can they know love if they are not free? Your will is as vicious as that of our male god.”

“I know you Wendor, I have known your heart. What you say is out of ignorance. I do not enforce peace and love on those who live here. They have their arguments and sometimes the young get angry and hit each other. They do not hate though, because it is not in their nature. They have a strong sense of empathy for each other and sense the currents of emotions like fear and pain that any creature feels. I will not allow strangers here to mar their world.”

“Then why send a child away? Take us to your desert, but allow her to remain here until she can safely be returned to her parents.”

Lady Melina looked sad. “Because she is the same as you. She will grow up to be the same unless she too learns. Soon as I see you have learnt the importance of love and hate and how they should rule your hearts, I promise to return you here or to your homes, if it is time. Perhaps you can become the kernel of a new future for your people.”

Captain Erin stepped across the fire. “You claim you do this because of my violence, then why do you not punish me alone? Let them stay.”



3646


“Erin, do you think I love you less than the others? You all need to learn that what each of you does affects all others. They are sacrifices to your own temper and perhaps, before you have learnt your lesson, you will be a sacrifice to some evil in them. Only when you all know you cannot bear to sacrifice another will you understand why I send you away. I am forced to make you an offering I would not have chosen. I called Alki my father, for he truly is so. Marian is my mother. Since they choose to go with you, I hope you will open your hearts to them so that your time of learning is shorter.”

“You mean them to suffer as we do?” I asked.

“It is their choice.”

“You have a wise father Lady Melina, wiser than you are, I think.”

She smiled. “I hope so.” She looked down at Princess Thina. “Someday I will bow before you and you will know the tears on my cheeks are because of my love for you. Thina, we only grow to know who we really are as we mature. You are not a princess because your father is king, but because you are born with a soul that reaches out to others. Use this time to learn a little more of who you truly are.”

“How?”

“Has my father taught you anything about yourself you did not know before? Look into the hearts of others and then find what space you give them in yours.”

She raised her arms and a glow grew from her to envelop all of us. We felt the ground fall away from us, but the glow prevented us from seeing where we went to. It felt as if it were but minutes and then our feet rested on sand. The glow died and we saw a desert stretch before us.

“Walk in that direction for two hours and you will find an oasis. I have changed my mind, the desert will teach you the lessons you must learn without my adding the problems of finding food and water. The oasis has enough water and food to last all of you for a week. Use that week to search out the next oasis. Each oasis lasts a week and needs a week to find and walk to the next one. Delay for any reason and you will suffer, perhaps some of you even die.”

She went to her father and he held her face in his large hands and kissed her. Her mother smiled, said softly with love, “You are a real little terror” and kissed her also. Lady Melina vanished.

Our princess stood close to me so I picked her up in my arms. “I apologise my princess if you find this undignified, but we cannot walk at your speed. We must find the oasis before the sun is high.”

“We will take turns my lady.” Anovar said and she nodded, her arm going around my neck. I was surprised by the way I responded to the feeling of her arm around me and her slight weight on my arm. A fierce protectiveness took over while I simultaneously felt how beautiful it is to be holding a child who trusts me.

When Empro took her from me I missed the feeling of her. I stepped over to Alki.

“How is it you live in a world that belongs to your daughter? Where did you live before she was born?”

He grinned. “Your priests have not taught you that the ways of gods are not meant to be understood by mortals?”

I grinned back at him. “Gods, yes. She said she is not a goddess, so where does that leave my question?”

He chuckled. “More to the point is where does that leave me? If you ask your next questions before I’ve answered your previous one, not even a god could catch up with you.”

I heard chuckles around me and Emelo called out. “You will never catch up with his questions Alki. Just do your best and we will understand.”

“I do not live on this world. All five of us are only visiting here.”

“Does Lady Melina live on your world or here?”



3647


“On both, when she is not elsewhere.”

“The way you answer questions I will have enough for a lifetime. She has more worlds?”

“We do not know how many. Three or four that she has told us of.”

“If she made this world, then she must be ancient. Millions of years old?”

“That is one question I cannot answer. The world seems to be old, but she is still not much more than a child.”

I spoke in mock terror. “Oh horror! You mean we are at the mercy of a child goddess?”

He found that very amusing and laughed. “Oh Sam, whatever you are you stay the same. That mind of yours never stops.”

That stopped my mouth while I thought about his words. They hinted at a knowledge of me that our brief acquaintance did not justify. The oasis had also appeared and everyone was now eager to get there, the early morning sun was already hotter than any of us like. I noticed Melios was carrying our princess and she was chatting to him gaily, her pert face alive. I have a good memory, almost able to recall every scene in pictures as if painted into my mind. Looking back I realised he was not in any of those when we stood by the fire facing Lady Melina, but then he could have been behind me. More worrying was that I could not place him in the group that arrived here. I sidled over to the Captain.

“It may be foolish of me, but I have a worry.”

“Tell me,” he whispered back.

“I do not recall Melios being in our group when we arrived here and yet he was with us as soon as the Lady disappeared.”

“Are you suggesting he is a spy? Sam, he has been with us since we left home.”

I had to admit to him what I knew, though it made nonsense of my suspicions. “I knew him from childhood. I told you my suspicions are stupid.”

His eyes seemed to bore into mine. “You would not have spoken lightly of such a matter. I will keep an eye on him.” I kept quiet, now feeling dirty, as if I had betrayed a friend.

As we neared the oasis we saw signs of occupation. There was a large tent, the largest I’ve ever seen and surrounding it a number of smaller ones. We immediately surrounded Melios and the princess. Jan told him to set her on the ground so that her body is masked by ours and a group of ten moved in while we waited. They moved from tent to tent and then waved us in.

“I thought it better you check it out for yourselves, but the tents are there courtesy of Lady Melina.”

“Had you told us we would have acted no different. We cannot afford to trust anyone.”

Princess Thina broke into a run, exposing herself to any warrior with arrows and we rushed to cover her again. None of us were allowed to put a hand on her to stop her, so we had to maintain protection by guessing her next movements. She ran to a small candy-striped tent and entered it. The first two men entered with her while we stood outside, surrounding the tent with our backs to it.

“Is this mine?”

“Yes. A gift from Lady Melina in recognition of your status.” Nicko said.

“For a Lady who sees and knows all, it is a foolish gesture. We cannot allow her to stay here alone.” Jan said.

I saw the disappointment on her little face, though she did not protest. I took a peek inside, it was beautiful, and I hunkered on my haunches before her. “My princess, if we move your tent into the large one, would you mind having a group of snoring men surrounding you?”

She touched my cheek with her fingers. “Thank you Samuel. I would sleep better with you all for company.” When she grows up she is going to break a lot of hearts. We have a saying that when a man breaks hearts they follow him to his next life (the after life) and haunt him. When a pretty maiden breaks hearts, they follow her in eternal service. The way she has about her, I foresee mine will be there to provide her such service.



3648


It only took a couple of hours to explore the tents, our provisions and the oasis.

“It would seem we were expected to sleep in the surrounding tents while using this one as our communal area. Bring a mattress if you need it here. We all sleep together surrounding the princess. Place your mattresses in a circle around her tent. Our hosts will sleep in their own tents of course.”

I went to a tent to fetch a mattress, thin as it was, it would be more comfortable than sleeping on the ground. I looked around. I saw basins and some items I did not recognise. After thinking about it I recognised the toothbrushes - there are no twigs to crush and clean our teeth within the desert, so it made sense. One thing I could not recognise until I opened it. It was a small and extremely sharp knife. I put it in my pocket, happy to have even such a small weapon.

Our hosts explained. Nicko demonstrated for us. He used a large brush, wetting it first he swirled it over a bar of soap and brushed his cheeks and chin. Using the small blade he scraped at his face. Our beards had been growing and they were uncomfortable in this heat so we all gladly set to it. When we joined each other back in the main tent we laughed. Every face was bleeding at a spot or more. Alki reassured us that we will soon learn how to handle the blade. That may be so, but I prefer the creams we use back home.

“Bert, Lucky, Robin and Canlyn, separate the provisions into eight parcels. The Lady spoke truly and has provided food for seven days. Make it last eight in case we have any unexpected difficulties. There is a good spring outside, perhaps one of you can advise us. The Lady said we would have water for seven days. Does that mean the spring will stop flowing?”

“It would be prudent to assume so.”

“Look for containers for us to carry water in.”

And so that first day went. The Captain seemed to be everywhere, organising us. He was worried about us not having weapons (apart from the tiny blades) and we collected all the dried out fronds lying around. We cleaned them of the soft parts so that we had a number of sticks that were too wide at the base and narrowed to a point. We stared at our weapons, dejected. If we are attacked by a man without armour or weapons, we might manage to hurt him enough to make him leave us alone.

Our princess asked for a sword of her own and we fashioned one of the right size for her. The next morning when we did our training she joined us to the best of her ability. Cassin teased her, telling her that with her getting so good at it, we can all relax as she will protect us.

“I have to, I am your princess.”

Red whispered to me, “A pity they are not the same when they grow up.”

“I think this one will be.”

“No, the rest of the dandies at court will turn her cynical just like them.”

“There have been good kings and queens. Watch her closely and you’ll see, she has a way of trying to protect us, silly as it may seem right now.”

Alki came outside wearing only short trousers, his chest bare. Before we could hide him from our princess (if he had been of our people it would have been an insult to her), Alki called out to her.

“Young lady, would you like to learn how to really fight?”

“Really?” She could hardly talk as she stared at his big hairy chest.

“Yes. Not with a skirt though. Go to Marian and she will dress you for fighting.”

Looking back at him she ran into his tent. We were all shocked when she came out in shorts, her slim upper body naked. Her long hair had been tied into a circle on her head and her grin threatened to split her face in two as she saw our faces.



3649


Alki asked Jan to be her sparring partner and he was soon to suffer his first shock of many as Alki taught her ways a child can best an adult. Before long we were all copying them and practising on each other.

Breathless and sweating Jan asked, “What manner of fighting is this?”

“This was developed by a people from my planet over thousands of years. Instead of using your own strength you have to learn to use the strength of your opponent against himself.”

Princess Thina stood before Alki until he knelt before her. She put her arms around his neck and kissed his sweaty cheek.

“Thank you. Now I really can look after them.”

He remained on his knees, shaking his head as everyone drifted away. On impulse I whispered to him, “Another who stays the same?”

His eyes remained large and innocent as he asked me, “Why Sam, whatever do you mean?” I gave him a smile and walked away.

The next morning we prepared to go out in teams of two to search for the next oasis. Wilfred asked to speak to the Captain alone and they took their time about it. We were not happy to see the sun rising in its molten heat when they came out. Wilfred walked off and the Captain came to us.

“He has convinced me it would be stupid to send you out in small teams. If any of you got lost you would die of thirst before we could find you. He has agreed to take out the first team tomorrow to teach you how to survive in the desert.”

Later on, as I sat thinking under a palm tree, Domarque asked if he could sit by me. I nodded.

“Have you noticed Sam that the five always offer their help in a way calculated to preserve our dignity?”

“There is a lot about them that puzzles me. They are alien in so many ways and yet…there is a lot about them that resembles how I would hope to be someday. Do you think they are gods pretending to be humans?”

“If they are, they are going to great lengths, Marian cut her finger while preparing their meal.” He chuckled. “Of course it did heal within seconds but…a god bleeding Samuel?”

“Surely you cannot believe the parents of Lady Melina would have lesser powers than her? Alki himself told me she is still a child. She looked to me to be about eighteen to twenty and if they consider that an age of childhood, how long do they live? I think they must all be gods. Think Domarque, we have been sent here as punishment and warned some of us may die. Why would she allow them to join us, unless they cannot be killed.”

“I do not think she meant this as punishment. We are supposed to learn something from our experiences. I think the Lady is hoping we will grow and return to our homes to help bring the balance she seeks. Sam, if we tried to, if we returned to talk about a goddess from ancient times, the priests would see to it that we are locked away forever.”

I did not answer immediately, slowly working my way to a decision.

“If I am convinced of her goodness, I will risk it Domarque. Sending us here was not the way to convince me though. We already know about hardship and the struggle to survive. She should have allowed us to meet the people of her continent. Seeing how they think and live would have been more effective.”

“Daniel made quite an impression on all of us.”

“Exactly what I’m saying.”

It was his turn to remain silent a while. He rose to his feet. “Perhaps we cannot see the whole picture the way she can and there is purpose to our being here. Sam, she did not send us alone, think on that.”



3650


The Lady is not the only puzzle. Our sweet princess has learnt how to yank at our heartstrings and we are all feeling the effects. I might be wrong, it could be she always could, but we did not pay attention to her, too much in awe of who she is while also blinded by her tender age. As with most young men of my age, I have not learnt to think of females as being brave. To find that a female child has the heart of a warrior is taxing my imagination. She is always so considerate of us and that is not normal for a child. For instance, wherever she goes at least five of us accompany her. Soon as she senses they are tired or bored she takes a rest or changes what she is doing. At other times she runs about, laughing and squealing like the child she is. She certainly has no shortage of naughty ideas. I was startled to find myself imagining my meeting a girl like her mature enough to love. I think I would gladly wed such a rare creature.

If not for the presence of our princess, it would have been a terrible mistake allowing Marian and Rose to come with. They are beautiful women, close to our ages and there is a fire to them we all sense. Two women amongst so many young men would have led to trouble if we had not had to concentrate all our attention on Princess Thina. The little princess has picked up that a number of us are attracted to Marian and Rose and is very obviously competing for our attention when they are around. We find it cute, isn’t it strange? If she was older we would not.

The first team of ten went out this morning. I took care of the washing up. We use sand to clean the plates and pots as there is only drinking water available. I hope the next oasis has enough water for all of us to bathe, not only our princess, we are all getting pretty ripe in this heat.

After my chores I took on guard duty for two hours and then free to be alone I went to my palm, chosen because it is outside the area we use. I sat with eyes closed, daydreaming I suppose, when I heard feet approaching. I wondered who it would be this time.

“Can I sit with you?”

I jumped up. “Of course my princess, it would give me great pleasure.”

She sat with her hands between her thighs, playing with the sand. “Am I going to see my queen again?”

“Your queen? You mean your mother?”

“No, when I’m with others I have to call her my queen.”

I looked up at the five guarding her and they turned their backs to us. “That is court etiquette my princess. While you are alone with me you can call her your mother.”

“Why do you call me princess then?”

“I am just a lowly soldier, I would not presume.”

“Can you call me Thina if I call her my mother?”

“I could. Thina, you will see your mother again. You have over forty men devoted to seeing to your safe return.”

“What if she is not there? I know they are trying to kill her and the ki… and my father.”

“What am I supposed to do Thina? If you were a normal child of six I would reassure you, whether it was false hope or not. Somehow I cannot do that with you. I think your parents are wily and clever enough to survive any attempts on their lives, but there are no guarantees.”

“I’m nearly seven! Samuel, I miss them.”

I broke the law. I put my arms around her and picking her up put her on my lap. She sighed as she burrowed in. After a while her muffled voice asked, “Sam, do you think Golden loves me?”

“I’m certain he does. As a matter of fact, I know he does.”

“Will he marry me when I grow up?” By the stiffening of their backs I knew the others had heard.

“I don’t think he can Thina. He is not a prince.”

“All the princes are ugly and nasty.” Silently I agreed with her. I knew their first priority would be to break this fine spirit. I think even the Lady would not forgive what I did next.



Next [Book 06] - Post 016



I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love - and should some of it be true for our reality, I hope you will love our Cherine.





Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)

11th December, 2019


  • posted: 11th December, 2019




    If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 05, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:















Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15