Ponce Inlet Lighthouse for #BrickSaturday #SevenDaysOutside Challenge!

I visited Ponce Inlet Lighthouse today with family while we were here in Florida. It is the tallest lighthouse in Florida and is made completely of brick. I find lighthouses to be very noble structures, steadfast in their duty to warn sailors night after night. I suppose that’s why so many lighthouses have nonprofit groups with enthusiasts who have banded together to restore and preserve them.

As we arrived, the sun was at a good place in the sky to get the shot below with the sun directly behind the top of the lighthouse. All photos were taken by me with my iPhone X.

984CECB0-39ED-4815-A32B-E0DF703F93D9.jpeg

This one had better historical displays and information about the families of the Lighthouse Service who manned and operated the lighthouses and what life was like for the wives and kids in these remote locations. They were a hardy bunch of people. It was only around WWII that the Coast Guard took over the Lighthouse Service and the families were no longer a part of the operation.

0552156B-41A6-4FEF-B65A-18085FD1A1E1.jpeg

At 175 feet tall, it is equivalent to a 17 story building if you decide to walk to the top. The iron staircase winds its way around the inside of the structure, with landings periodically where you can take a rest. The last leg of the staircase seemed more like a ladder than a staircase. I was walking up with my 81 year old father and he didn’t take many rest breaks. Something to aspire to if I reach his age.

F2C4FD21-CAC9-4E8A-8D76-1A7C469E8C9B.jpeg

Once you reach the top, you’ll appreciate that the view was worth the climb.

036A65FF-9274-44CC-8BBD-0C54D6943A68.jpeg

2D287B04-9B6C-4A49-ADE8-E20EF90FE7FF.jpeg

One interesting factoid that explains why this structure has withstood the test of time is at the base the brick walls are 8 feet thick and taper to 2 1/2 feet wide at the top. That’s a lot of bricks.

I stumbled upon a new photochallenge yesterday by @erikah called Seven Days Outside. Its themes focus on architectural elements seen outside. I think this structure certainly qualifies for today’s theme of #bricksaturday in this photo challenge.

#SevenDaysOutside Challenge by @erikah
These are the days and the categories:
#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#IronGateThursday – Iron Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks (bricks only, no pavement elements please)
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps
Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag.
You can only use your own photos. There is no prize here, this is just for fun

0A1F4333-1AE2-4FC9-BF05-611F4FE15E2C.jpeg

Sort:  

This is great! I have only been to Ponce Inlet once when I was really little. I haven't been back since but maybe I should go visit as an adult! Great post... much love. tip!

Thanks for the comment and tip!

Hi @dabeckster! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @deadgrlsuppastar :)

@deadgrlsuppastar wrote lately about: Monomad - Sunday - Skies. Feel free to follow @deadgrlsuppastar if you like it :)

Thanks for the tip and support!

what a photography it is! i appreciate your photography.. resteemit done

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 15 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Awesoem shots love them all but especially the one looking down inside it

Thanks. I’m a sucker for spiral staircases.

That’s understandable they are so cool

Awesome photos and great historical information! I agree with @tattoodjay on the photo from inside, I immediately thought of the Alfred Hitchcock movie "Vertigo" with James Stuart and Kim Novak. 😎

Thanks! You’re right on vertigo, I hadn’t thought of that.

What a marvelous place and your shots are awesome!

What cool shots. I really like that top down view of the stairs! Thanks for turning me on to a new challenge btw!

Thanks! Happy to help!

The lighthouse is beautiful, but that staircase is just gorgeous, I love it! Thank you for entering my challenge and spreading the word! :)

You’re welcome. Thanks for sponsoring the themes! It’s always fun to find new ones to post to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87