The Seven Day Beer Challenge 2# - Νήσος (Island) Beer

in #sevendaybeerchallenge6 years ago (edited)

So, for my second day on the Seven Day Beer Challenge I decided to give "Νήσος" a try. Νήσος is a Greek word that translates to "Island". This beer had always caught my attention on the local super market but never gave it a try.. until now.

This is again a Greek beer, although this time an unpasteurized one, manufactured in Tinos, a beautiful Greek island situated in the Aegean Sea, in the Cyclades archipelago. Here are some photos to have an idea of how Tinos looks like:

(credit)

(credit)

(credit)

(credit)

(credit)

Ok, after the quick trip to Tinos let's get back to Νήσος! Here's a quick description, from the official website:

 The first Greek beer to be awarded a silver European Beer Star (2014).Edgy and refreshing, with a perfect mouthfeel, this balanced and exceptionally full-bodied Pilsner tantalizes the taste buds and leaves you wanting more. The liquid quintessence of Aegean island living and Cycladic magic… in a bottle. 

The same manufacturer also produces two more breeds. An organic version of Νήσος (NISSOS Organic All-Day Lager) and the "7 Beaufort, Strong Dark Pilsner".

Ok, time for some photos:

Cheers!

Review

Mandatory Note: I won't pretend I am a connoisseur or something. Chances are I would fail a blind test between the beers I typically drink.  

I have a thing for unpasteurized beers and Νήσος didn't disappoint me. It had a characteristic bitter taste which I loved and it really hit all the good spots. Actually, it's been a very long time since I had a beer that felt that good!

Would I recommend it? Fuck yes! Although a bit expensive, I plan to have a bottle of "Νήσος" every now and then. And since I enjoyed it so much, I will try to find the other two beers by the same manufacturer and hopefully feature them for my Seven Day Beer Challenge. :)

Today I want to challenge the greek-trail leaders, @skapaneas & @rouketas.  I think they like beer, so they will probably enjoy this challenge :)

Also I will challenge @steemychicken1, I know for a fact that he loves beer and he will probably be up to the task! If you got a vote to spare make sure to vote him for witness, he tries really hard to make Steemit a better place!

These are the rules to be taken into account:

  • You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days
  • The beer must be something you have never tasted before
  • You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it
  • Nominate someone every day
  • If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  • Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.

Let's Make Steemit Alcoholic Again!

Sort:  

Kai na fantasteis simera entelos tuxaia pira mia Volkan na tin dokimasw... pou eida apo to post sou ! stay tunned ! :))

Vevaia tha ta vrw mpastounia me esena ton beer chief alla kati tha kanw ...

Looks like a great beer. Unpasteurized beers are getting more and more popular in the US, and I've generally preferred them over pasteurized beer as well.

I first discovered unpasteurised beer three years ago. One of the highlights of my life!

This is why I invested my time on steemit. You make me proud.

Don't laugh, your teeth appear!

Dunno if you are serious or not. Either way, it's a compliment for me 😂😂🤣🤣

That was a really good beer! Unpasteurized ones are becoming my favorites ;)

Ever tried unpasteurized full-fat milk? That thing is heavenly.

No, but for years I had been drinking milk from the milkman. I remember him coming and filling our milkpot every day, then my mum would boil it. She wouldn't risk giving it to me or my sister otherwise.
Is it safe to drink it? I mean, if you don't know how the animals are treated and if proper hygiene measures are taken...

Well there's a whole movement in California and places like that to make it legal, and it is legal for individuals I think but you can't sell them to the public at large.

I was taught the same at school, pasteurize or you'll die. And I was very small, at a village near Moscow, when an old lady we visited offered me unpasteurized milk. I sooo wanted to try it. I was debating with myself. If I drink this, there's literally a chance I will die. The old lady kept comforting me, "we drink this in my family all the time, since we were born".

My parents weren't there. The other Cypriot who was my age daren't try it.

As a foodie who didn't yet know he was a foodie, I had no choice but to give in.

I tried it.

It was the most heavenly milk I ever had. (Well, I can't remember Mother's milk!)

I also ate butter on bread. The tastiest Butterbrot I ever had in my life.

At that moment I kinda realized how come so many Russians who lived in poverty managed to happily survive for years on just milk and buttered bread. Really, you don't need anything else! I'd rather eat that than a fancy varied bland meal at an expensive restaurant.

I loooove milk, I can drink a litre or more per day and now your description made me really curious. I imagine it having a more "full" taste and more enhanced smell. I justpictured a hot glass of it with bread toasted on the σόμπα (we had one when I was a child and we toasted bread very often on it) with that butter you're saying and some salt on top... the perfect breakfast!

Good good, slowly and steadily I convert you into my self!

Does this mean gases are going to leave my body on a regular basis while being around other people? :P

I never knew you could get unpastuarised beer.. I like anpastuarised milk..... soooo, I’m interested.

Had the same thought about milk.

Go to the super market and try one. They taste awesome and also have probiotics. It's like the best energy drink for athletes 😎

All beers taste like shit.

Except those feminine ones, dem colored sweet fruity ones, like Pink Killer and shit.

Those are the ones I like to drink.

But then I look at the price and I'm like "no, give me a manly beer".

All beers taste like shit.

😩

...ελπίζω να μην οδήγησες μετά !

Όχι, προτιμώ να πίνω κατά τη διάρκεια της οδήγησης!

If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!

These are the rules that make games [life] interesting and funny.

Let's Make Steemit Alcoholic Again!

Το «again» αναρωτιέμαι..

Είναι ένα ελληνικό μαγαζί (εστιατόριο) στο Μανχάτταν που έχει πολλά προϊόντα από την Ελλάδα, από τυριά μέχρι ρακόμελο. Έχουν κ μερικές μπίρες. Η μια που δεν είχα ξανά δει/ακούσει λέγετε ΕΖΑ. Την ξέρεις;

Την έχω δει στο μάρκετ, νομίζω είναι καινούρια, αλλά δεν την έχω δοκιμάσει. Και καλά βιολογική η κάτι τέτοιο! Θα τη δοκιμάσω άμα είναι για χάρη σου.😂😂🤣🤣

Xaxaxa egine sthn ugeia sou!

Πωπωπωπωπω!! Νοσταλγία!!!! Θέλω απεγνωσμένα να πάω στο αγαπημένο μου νησάκι!!! Που εκτός την εκκλησία τον πολύ αέρα που σηκώνει και την μπύρα.. έχει τελείες παράλιες είναι πολύ γραφικό γεμάτο ομορφιά!
έχω περάσει πολύ όμορφα παιδικά χρονιά εκει!

Δεν έχω πάει ποτέ. Είσαι από κει?

De eimai akribos apo ekei..alla einai san na eimai..etsi to niothw.. menei i aderfi tou patera mou ekei kai mikros emena 3 mines xristoygena pasxa kalokeri.. mexri pou arxisan oi ipoxrewseis..
Twra paw me tin proti eukeria..to exw agapisei to meros.. ase pou exw kai arketoys filous apo mikros..
Omologo oti mou lipoun simexeia..
Prospathisa na paw monima na minw alla de paizei doulia..
Pisteuw omos kapoia stigmi tha to petixw..
Sto protinw gia diakopes arki na mi fisaei...

dang i need to get in on this challenge. One of our sponsors on the race cars is a wine,spirits, and craft beer store and i love beer.

20180222_185446.jpg

LMAO, I love the irony in this 😂😂

Oh yeah, consider yourself challenged :) let's see what you come up with!

I love challenges. Especially when they involve drinking beer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06