I finished "True Story" - it's good enough but has some flaws

in #series2 years ago

These days Netflix original content is pretty terrible. With the recent release of the highly anticipated Resident Evil basically pissing off anyone that is at all familiar with the previous plethora of movies and games, it seems as though Netflix is capable of screwing up almost anything even if they have a huge budget to work with.

So when True Story came out I was very hopeful that Kevin Hart was going to take command and not allow the producers to tarnish any show that he is in and for the most part I was correct in this. However, there are some critical flaws with this limited series, at least in my opinion.


image.png
src

The series stars Kevin Hart and the much-ignored Wesley Snipes who is absolutely fantastic shape considering that he is now nearly 60 years old. I would guess that Hart and Snipes are friends in real life because it seems that nobody is interested in hiring Snipes anymore. Hopefully this changes things because he did a fantastic job in his role although at times he did seem a bit "wooden." Maybe this is because he is out of practice - I don't know - maybe he'll get a shot at some other things because of this.

The story is basically a (hopefully) fictional take on Hart's own life and how his fame and fortune and shooting to the top of the comedy world results in a bunch of problems for him including his brother (Snipes) sponging and stealing money off of him with little to know feeling of being grateful.

Multiple entities end up wanting to harm Hart and continually steal money from him and the story is based around how he and his older brother (again, Snipes) handle this situation as "The Kid" (Hart) doesn't really trust anyone other than his own family.


image.png
src

The story quickly becomes interesting and stays that way for the most part but there is one massive problem that I have with the entire production and this is something I complain about frequently when it comes to almost all series: It's unnecessarily long.

The entire saga is 7, 1-hour episodes and just like a lot of series out there, this could have easily fit into 4 episodes. Each new addition focuses on a new character or two but honestly, several of them could have been eliminated entirely without affecting the overall story at all. I'm intentionally being vague here because I don't want to spoil things and I really think this show is worth watching.

The "lull" happens in particular in episodes 4-6, whose storylines could have easily been absorbed into other episodes. Nothing much really progresses or even happens during that time other than renewed arguments between the 4 or 5 main characters.


image.png
src
take this guy for example: You'll know him when you see him. His character could have been almost completely eliminated and very little about the story would have changed

The worst thing about this series is the fact that after almost nothing happening for 3 episodes EVERYTHING happens all at once in episode 7 and then the entire series is abruptly ended. I thought there were more episodes because so much was left unresolved in the story. Perhaps this is because they intend to have a season 2 but as of now there is no official word about this being the case. Netflix being what it is, if this was popular enough they will almost certainly bang out a 2nd season unless Kevin Hart says he doesn't want to do it.

I still suggest that people watch this but will admit that a big part of the reason why I feel this way is because there is so little worth watching on Netflix at the moment. I'd watch it with your remote in hand to skip around because I'm sticking to my guns when I say that at least a third of all episodes is "filler" and doesn't need to be there.


photodune-6774981-recommended-grunge-red-stamp-xs-643x272.jpg

Sort:  

I saw this as a recommendation on Netflix and watched the first episode and was hooked. Snipes and Hart were excellent and I found myself on the edge of my seat with the twists and turns.

yeah, it's pretty good. One of the better series that I have watched on Netflix in the past 6 months or so

hello netflixr how are you one question, what is the possibility that I can work with you as a moderator?

I would gladly make a mod but I don't have the authority to do that. I tried. I'll see if I can get in touch with @unbiasedwriter and see if we can make you a mod.

Ok, I'll be waiting for the decision to be made.

I'm quite certain the answer would be yes, it's just a question of getting in touch with the person who is really in charge :)

I'm happy to be a moderator in my favorite community, thank you very much @netflixr, but I have a question, what is the official chat?

as far as I know there isn't one. At least I don't know about it. Try to find unbiasedwriter if you can. That person owns the community although they are not very active as of late.

One question, do moderators get paid to write and run contests in the community? And if so, who do I have to talk to to start working?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47