Selfie/Weekend Freewrite day 41 (banana)

in #selfiecontest6 years ago

bananaprompt.jpg

I get so many leg cramps now more than ever. Talk about painful. I have yet to figure out what causes them because I could just be sitting down, and then, BAM! They hit like someone took a hammer to my leg. A few people have told me that it's from a lack of potassium, so eat bananas. Well, I rarely buy them, but I eat peanut butter, so I grab a spoonful of it. Well, seems even when I do buy/eat them, it is not enough. So, I decided to google it. The recommended amount of potassium for an adult is 3500 mg a day. But one banana only has about 450 mg. So, you would have to eat about 7 of them to get the daily amount. Eating bananas are also good for digestion, but it can also cause you to get constipated from eating too many.
Anyone else suffer from them? How do you make it go away? Sometimes walking it off does nothing but make it hurt more.

Sort:  

Add avocados to your diet because they have more potassium than bananas. For the cramps, drink more water and stretch more, before and after work or exercise.

Never knew that about avocados. They are expensive out here, so I don't buy them. Regardless how much water I intake makes no difference. Been told by friends who used to run, that even runners get them. My calves get plenty of workout while at work :)

Avocados might be expensive if you consider then food, but cheap if you consider them medicine. :) That workout at work means you need to stretch before and after. Google come calf stretches. :)

Very true my smart friend :)

I used to get cramps in my feet and legs and taking fulvic mineral drops stopped them completely. They contain potassium, magnesium and sodium all of which are supposed to be good for cramp relief.

Never heard of that. Thank you for info :)

I'm sorry you're experiencing the cramps. I've seldom had them and don't eat enough bananas. Maybe a good supplement would help you.

Yeah, forgot to check out the vit's for that. Not a big pill taker, so it would be hard to get myself to take it everyday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75