Why did I shave all of my hair off?? And what it taught me about myself.

in #selfdiscovery5 years ago

321291_10150403482849454_2046699849_n.jpg

I've had really long hair since I could remember, most of the time I wore my hair around the length of the photo above.
I actually have blonde curly hair, but I colored it really dark from a young age and as you can see also used a straightening iron like my life depended on it.

One day , a little under a year ago, I literally just shaved it all of for no apparent reason.

30086587_449297795503906_3556668675584950272_n.jpg

Why did I do it ?

Looking back , if I'm being super honest, I think I was maybe going through something resembling a meltdown haha!
I'm actually quite stable mentally and emotionally most of the time, I promise, but you know, life has its ups and downs.
Anyway , shaving my hair off felt liberating

I do recall often thinking about how nice it would be to just get rid of the hassle of coloring and styling and and and.
Please tell me I'm not alone in this? Have you ever wanted to just cut your hair off??

So here was my thinking at the time...

I used to be fairly confident as a young woman in my early 20's.
For some strange reason as I grew older I started becoming really unsure of myself, I couldn't see much beauty in myself and as a result I started obsessing over my looks and often would take 3 hours picking and outfit wondering what people would think, wondering how people viewed me etc...
I wanted to completely strip myself of conventional beauty, and thought that if people would see my shaved hair that they wouldn't expect anything from me. (Remember, these were the irrational ramblings of a mad woman at the time )
I thought if I could make myself ugly- by default- then I'd get over obsessing about my looks and just 'be' ?

Was I wrong ?

I don't think so, I felt light and free.... and ugly.
It kind of put things into perspective for me again, like I trained myself into a new way of thinking about myself and others expectations of me (atleast the expectations I thought everyone had)

33142844_1988863004457434_1495172665147654144_n(1).jpg
(This cool photo of me was taken by a friend & photographer AV_strydom)

Do I regret shaving it?

I'll be lying if I said that it hasn't been the absolute worst time trying to grow it back, there are more awkward stages than there are minutes in a day.
But if I had to go back to that day I would shave it all over again, I don't regret it at all and it has opened my eyes to a few little things that I noticed about people and life and myself...

  1. People can be really shallow.
  2. People strongly advise that women have long hair. (its just the way we've been doing things around here)
  3. Men and women will voice their disapproval even if you don't ask.
  4. People don't enjoy looking at women with short hair.
  5. Hair is what makes a woman beautiful and feminine.
  6. Overly feminine is also the only kind of women we enjoy and hair is of utmost importance here.
  7. People will literally be "disappointing" if you shave your hair..(it impacts their lives greatly.)
  8. Its really amazing to not have hair.
  9. Life goes on even without hair.
  10. You should try not having hair.

It reminds me of a poem by warsan Shire

"it is not my responsibility to be beautiful
I'm not alive for that purpose
My existence is not about how desirable you find me"

This is a photo of me bathing in a waterfall deep in a rain-forest in Indonesia, I think literally the free-est I've ever felt in my entire life!

37594722_497703727349722_1525647210459430912_n(1).jpg

Let me know in the comments if you've ever wanted to shave your hair as a woman, or maybe you've actually done it before?

Sort:  

I have thought of shaving my hair severally and prefer not because most times I use wig - caps. I have shaved my hair once but was compelled to do so in high school. All girls and boys shaves and the hair can't be higher than a particular level. When I remember that period, I remember the freedom of not going to renew the weaves every weekend for school anymore. Air truly was touching my scalp, so cool. Could bath from head to toe everyday and anytime. Because when I use to weave, I do not have to bathe it.
It's how one sees oneself that matters after all, :)) hair or no hair. Thanks to @viking-ventures who brought this post to me in her feature and thank you too for sharing. @aliciasteyn

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats crazy , the air tickles your scalp when you walk you are right, it was very cool. I also loved being able to shower from head to toe as I normally dont wash my hairevery single day.
By theway , sorry for the late reply, my steem credits are so low so I can only respond to like 3 comments a day

I understand honey. Keep being active and you get a lucky smile from a nice delegator. Haha
I believe you follow @viking-ventures already
@r2cornell
@paulag
@kawaiicrush
@steemnurse
Awesome steemians to add up

Posted using Partiko Android

You are so fabulous for visiting the other blogger I featured today!
I hope you put together your own entry - if not this week (we're down to about 24 hours for this week), then next! It's such a fun contest.

Congratulations @aliciasteyn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hellothat not many people really care about other's look like unless they don't feel so comfortable for themselves too😊

I always want to shave my hair, but then I think about it.. why would I do that while I always covering my hair with hijab 😂😂😂. You are already pretty in mind, because you have courage to be free of other's judgement and you just be yourself.

I think you are right, maybe some poeple dont feel very comfortable about themselves!
I think because you wear a hijab, its perfect to shave your hair because if you dont like it you can just cover it up haha. Thanx for reading @cicisaja

😂😂😂 i have seen my look like if im hairless when I was a kid, it's funny because my head shape is not too oval😊 it's gonna be hard to cover with hijab when it starts to grow later😅 so, Im happy with my hair now as always.

By the way.. where's the place when you're in Indonesia?

hahaha I hear you. well, whatever you do is great as long as it is what you want to do.
That was in Bukit lawang, close to aceh but not quite

Sounds like you needed a clearing of something.
I have nearly cut everything off several times - but I knew I'd miss it.

I've featured your post in this week's Pay it Forward Curation contest

Sorry for the late response, I wasnt getting notifications so i moved over to steempeak. I do miss my hair from time to time but I honestly think every woman should try it atleast once. it'll grow back so just go for it haha

Lack of notifications can be a real problem. Are you on Discord yet? There is GINAbot there which will give you most notifications you could want. But yes, Steempeak is good too. I'm using it more and more because one of my machines can't log into Steemit anymore.

I get the same critics and comments by being on the opposite side of the fence: I am a boy... with long hair! 😈

Who cares? Right!? If others don't like it, too bad for them.

OH, I almost forgot: Congratulations on being featured by @viking-ventures in her entry for the Pay It Forward Contest!

I think it's a great. I've thought about it quite a bit. Sometimes from frustration sometimes because I can't stand it.

It's interesting how people responded. I wouldn't have guessed that at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16