My Path To Profound Confidence

in #self-power4 years ago (edited)

It was the fall semester of 2013 and I sat in the deans office for college of engineering.

'You know 3 F's in a semester means you're out of the program, right?' said the dean.

I had no clue, but I agreed anyways.

'Seriously Trilli, get your shit together, otherwise, you're out of here.'

I left the office disheartened.

How did I end up here?

2 years ago, I was killing it with my grades.

And now, my grades were killing me.

Actually, I know exactly how I got here.

This year, I had figured out public speaking and now kept joining leadership positions.

I volunteered to be the vice president of my fraternity.

I was a co founder of a club known as Bengali Student Association.

And I was creating another club Engineering for Multicultural Students.

In terms of leadership, I was on top of the world.

But in terms of engineering, I was falling behind.

I had gotten 3 F's on exams for 3 of my MOST important engineering classes.

And finishing a semester with 3 F's means that you get kicked out of the engineering program.

That semester, I had to make one of the toughest decisions of my life.

Continue with leadership or get my engineering degree?

I thought about this.

All in all, I realized I came to school to be an engineer.

Everything else was a bonus. But the end of the day, engineering, it was.

So I had to find my replacements for my clubs, train them and then go off into the wind to my studies.

The next few months, I would study 12 hours every day.

I studied like my life was on the line.

My entire life, I wanted to be an engineer growing up.

And in this stage, i'm about to have it taken a way from me.

Nah, not without a fight.

Day in an day out, I would study from morning till night.

  • Would test myself in practice problems.
  • Would visualize passing my exams.
  • Would organize study groups etc.

People were surprised by my work ethic.

But deep inside.

I was operating on fear.

Fear that I would be kicked out of the college of engineering and be forced to start all over.

So I worked my ass off for the next few months.

I built a routine and stuck to it.

Having unwavering faith that I would dig myself out of this mess.

And guess what?

Dig myself out, I did.

At the end of the semester, I finished off with a 3.8 GPA.

That is pretty difficult to do with the engineering field.

Especially someone who sucks with tests and began off with a less that 2.0 GPA.

In many cases, it was a miracle.

I didn't used to believe in miracles.

And I still don't.

I view miracles as being consistent for long enough.

That year, the fear FORCED me to be consistent.

And the consistency FORCED a miracle.

Everyone in the engineering program knew about my situation.

So the fact that I was able to pass made them view me as a mythical figure in the engineering community.

'If Trilston was able to come back from this, then we can solve our problems' they thought.

But it was more than that.

Want to know what it was?

It was having UNWAVERING FAITH in yourself.

Despite having the odds stacked against me, I knew I was going to survive.

No clue how it was going to be, but knew I was going to survive.

And that is how confidence is born.

The top tier confidence is born thru uncertainty.

You just need to know you're capable of doing it vs. having done it before.

What does that mean?

I know for a fact that I never had to turn 3 F's around into a passing average.

But that didn't matter.

I'm alive. That means I am capable of doing it.

That's what confidence is about.

A lot of people are like 'I never done the task, so how am I supposed to be confident?'

Don't matter homie.

The question is: 'are you CAPABLE?'

Every time there is a speech, I ALWAYS volunteer to go first.

Why?

There is a lot of pressure. You are the one who is responsible for setting the tone.

Why do it?

Why not less someone else volunteer?

Because, I know that I am CAPABLE.

Therefore, I view it as my duty to volunteer to go first.

You need to start doing the same.

Where are you right now in this stage of life?

No one is watching, so be truthful.

Then ask yourself are you capable of doing more.

If so, then do it.

Confidence is born from being unsure.

You don't know if you will do a good job.

But asking yourself if you're capable allows you to answer the question with objectivity.

You doing a good job or bad job is not what I asked. Are you CAPABLE is what I asked.

When I knew I was capable of turning my GPA around, I did.

And to this day, whatever I do, if i'm capable of doing it, I will.

Aim to do the same.

usq764kv1p.jpg
Image source

Confidence is something that is exercised into our existence.

Not something that we are born with.

So ask yourself where you stand.

And then apply for races before you are ready.

That's how you level up and have a fun time doing it.

Till Tomorrow.

Trilston💲

Added Resources

2019 Best LEGIT & VERIFIED Online Crypto-Assets Earning Sites For Steemit Newbies

Earn $10-$20 free crypto on a daily basis using my referral links:

Step 1:

First you need to register at coinpot.co
Registration is completed after verifying your email address. ☑️☑️☑️

Step 2:

Register the same email you used on coinpot.co on the faucets below & make sure to verify for each and every registration (key factor) 🗝️🗝️🗝️
⬇️⬇️⬇️

Bitcoin (BTC)

🚀 http://bit.ly/bitfunn

🚀 http://bit.ly/bonusbitcoin212 (with an additional advantage of 5% bonus of the amount of bitcoins you claim on a daily basis)

🚀 http://bit.ly/freebitcoin101

DogeCoin (Doge)

🚀 http://bit.ly/dogecion101

Bitcoin Cash (BCH)

🚀 http://bit.ly/bitcoincashmoney

Dash Coin (DASH)

🚀 http://bit.ly/dashcash101

Litecoin (LTC)

🚀 http://bit.ly/freelitecoin212

Cardano (ADA CDN)

🚀 http://bit.ly/100freecardanocoins

2019 Best & Highest Paying P.T.C sites

🚀 http://bit.ly/bitcraze

🚀 http://bit.ly/cointply **(with an additional advantage of 5% compounded daily interests on your account balance)

🚀 http://bit.ly/africanclix

LEGIT & BEST FAUCET OF ALL TIME

(running since 2013)

Win A Lamborghini and $200 worth if Bitcoin on a daily basis plus an additional advantage of 4.08% compounded daily interests on your account balance by signing up HERE

Rated: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Buy & Sell Bitcoins

HERE

With an additional advantage 🔺🔺🔺
of 40% AFFILIATE COMMISSION of any amount of Bitcoins purchased on every new sign up account you refer.

The best and fastest crypto-assets exchanger:

  1. http://bit.ly/blocktrader

Public Service Reminder!!

Persistence + Consistence = Your American Dream

Daily Mini Contests:

  1. Click on this Referral Link make sure you register an account using my referral link then comment on this blog post with a screenshot of showing that you have created an account using the link and i will send you 0.5 steem.
  2. I will be really delighted 😊😊😊 by anyone who uses my links and I will add them to my Steemit network. ♨️🚀🌑 For any link you sign up using my link please post a screenshot of your account on my comments section and I will sponsor you with 1 SBI share💯💯💯

Also if you have more ways on earning cryptocurrencies, feel free please to share your referral links on my comments section and let's build better together.
No scammer links please.

I need your help 💌💌💌

images.png
Image source

Kindly any crypto-assets amount is acceptable on this wallet address:

1. Bitcoin:
13Wd76owbRKRbbhUNMxJGKN5XwfoPGamgE

2. Bitcoin Cash: bitcoincash:qzn0yc2txn48pv8y2ccvqugnkuauwlzexgukgsadev

3. Doge:
9yQ7gAMP22hAXfh6MWSJzMgEFQphHeF4UT

4. Litecoin:
39FYu2Kw75TE4YjBQxwvj36Syu7xxsTMSa

5. Dash:
XhzSgYNTe5D6oiS5hKLwuhx87ANezhfYqG

6. Steem, SBD & Steem-Engine Tokens:
@tonytrillions

7. Steem Power Delegation:

https://v2.steemconnect.com/sign/delegateVestingShares?delegator=username&delegatee=tonytrillions&vesting_shares=vestsamount%20VESTS

♨️🚀🌑

Sort:  

You have received 5x upvotes from the members of @steemexplorers from your free link submission in our discord server. Steemexplorers is an initiative bringing information on various Steemit services and communities in a central discord to save you time and help you grow. It's free, it's easy, and it's here to help you in so many ways. Come by our discord to learn more! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq. Our team also offers an additional upvoting service called @givememonsters where you can presently trade in 1 to 10 DEC from the Steem Monsters game for up to $0.03 upvotes on ANY steemit posts. The vote purchasing value here is some of the best returns on your investments that you can find anywhere so come by and visit this service today!

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to tonytrillions! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster, @curationkiwi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04