It's kinda sad that I don't need Ricochet

in #security7 years ago

I don't usually use IM or texting. Sometimes I will do a facebook message with my son, but he has his own life now.

But I was uninstalling Google Hangouts and found Ricochet to replace it. It seems good, reviewers say it's secure and has end to end encryption, which I know enough about to want, but not enough to verify that it works.

<<<== https://ricochet.im/ ==>>>

But that's OK, I don't need it. I don't commit crimes, I don't plot insurrection, I don't even hate anyone very much (not counting ex-wives).

But to support it, I downloaded and installed it. If anyone else does and wants to test it, feel free to send me a contact.

Oh, I just realized I don't know how to find my user ID. I'll figure that out and post it in a reply if anyone wants to play with it.

Also if someone has other suggestions or recommendations, please post them in a reply. Thanks!


Sort:  

I'm still using Hangouts because of Ingress and people that like Hangouts and won't use anything else. Ditto with Skype (because people won't change not because of Ingress XD). Ricochet looks pretty cool, and I also like the name. I use Telegram and Discord and quite like their feature sets, which I think are probably "good enough" for common people like me :)

I'm just looking around for distributed solutions. The least I can do for the future is help make the internet more free from totalitarianism. If I bump their numbers a little by using and recommending them, then maybe they will put more work into it.

I read you again, thank you for your enlightenment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84